Within the last 8 months, there have been a number of diver rescues near and around La Jolla Shores and Scripps. Early this year, I rescued 2 divers while I was swimming outside the 1/2 mile bouys between Scripps Pier and The Cove. The divers should not have been anywhere near where I was. At approximately where I was, the shelf drops from 60' to over 2000'. I have been out swimming and seen numerous rescues by the lifeguards since then. I have had 4 friends(all surfers) this year, including one yesterday, rescue divers in the area. In my opinion, none of these people should be out there. In the case where I rescued the two, I found them at least 1/3rd mile from where their instructor and the rest of the group were at. I blame that one on the instructor, and the lifeguards let him know when he came in as I reported the incident. The other cases with my friends rescues were also basically people doing dumb stuff. Poor instruction.
I have been diving since 1962, continued in the navy and hold every certification and at 60++, continue to swim to stay in shape and dive regularly.
The physical conditioning for certification should be like it was when everyone was trained by current or retired UDT prior to SEALS.
I understand your job is to train as many people as possible and sell equipment for a profit, thats being a good business person, part of America.