Please contact our Scuba Diving Instructors by live chat or phone 1-800-34-SCUBA. We are standing by to answer any of your Scuba Diving questions.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#5049 - 10/19/00 05:10 PM That dizzy feeling??
Lee Offline
avid diver

I have been diving for over 15 years. I am rescue certified. Lately I have been feeling a bit dizzy on my dives. Shallow 30-40ft. Usually I just relax breath slowly and it goes away. The last time this happened I was diving Catalina island and got extremely dizzy. I tried to relax but it just got worse real fast. It was like the earth was spinning so fast I was completely lost. I came up right away with my buddy (wife) making sure I was OK. After I got back on the boat it was like I was sea-sick for the rest of the day. (I never get sea-sick) Any ideas why all of a sudden I'm getting these dizzy spells?? Someone suggested I might be hypoglycemic. Would that explain it?

#5050 - 10/29/00 11:23 AM Re: That dizzy feeling??
William Offline
veteran

Loc: Rancho Santa Margarita, CA, US...
Hi Lee - A couple of things. First, check with your doctor. Make sure your doctor understands SCUBA and the maladies associated with diving. Contact DAN to get a list of doctors in your area who understand SCUBA. Second, it sounds like you might have a contaminated tank or air. Did you use your own tank or the boat's tank? Have you had your tank Viz'd recently?

#5051 - 12/25/00 10:09 AM Re: That dizzy feeling??
GA Diver Offline
new diver

Loc: Savannah, GA, USA
I used to work at a marnia in southern GA. I have seen some people who said that they have never gotten sea sick before in their life, and then all of a sudden on one trip get sea sick. I believe it is because of poss having a cold or coming down with a cold or poss not drinking enough water and being slightly dehydrated before going out on a boat. This has hapened to me before also and it was due to being dehydrated.

[This message has been edited by GA Diver (edited 12-25-2000).]