Scuba Gear Reviews by Don C.

Henderson 7mm Aqua Lock Hyperstretch Dive Boots
Rating: Henderson-7mm-Aqua-Lock-Hyperstretch-Dive-Boots Great Boot 7/18/2013

Bought these boots in 7mm to go with my Aqua-Lock 7mm wetsuit. I love these boots. They work well with the Aqua-Lock system and feel great. My feet remained very warm. Well constructed. Soles are sturdy. Make sure you get the boot a full size LARGER, as they do run small. I recommend these boots!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Profile Air / Nitrox Computer 3-Gauge Navcon Console
Rating: Sherwood-Profile-Air---Nitrox-Computer-3-Gauge-Navcon-Console Good Console 7/16/2013

This console is not bulky or obtrusive. The pressure gauge is quite visible even on a night dive. I think the compass is top notch. The bezel has good size and facilitates smooth manipulation, even with gloves on (5mm). Easy to read. I have to reserve rating the computer, because this is the first one Ive owned. Besides, I used to be a dive tables guy and dive computers are new to me. I will say that that the owners manual (which is on a disk) leaves much to be desired. Quality of the print is inferior and seems to me to be written for folks who are familiar with them. Overall, I think this is a good console and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Profile Air / Nitrox Computer 3-Gauge Navcon Console
Rating: Sherwood-Profile-Air---Nitrox-Computer-3-Gauge-Navcon-Console Good Console 7/16/2013

This console is not bulky or obtrusive. The pressure gauge is quite visible even on a night dive. I think the compass is top notch. The bezel has good size and facilitates smooth manipulation, even with gloves on (5mm). Easy to read. I have to reserve rating the computer, because this is the first one Ive owned. Besides, I used to be a dive tables guy and dive computers are new to me. I will say that that the owners manual (which is on a disk) leaves much to be desired. Quality of the print is inferior and seems to me to be written for folks who are familiar with them. Overall, I think this is a good console and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Xscerrory Mini Retractor Clip
Rating: XS-Scuba-Xscerrory-Mini-Retractor-Clip Nice Device 7/16/2013

I like this retractor for small, relatively light objects (whistle, small dive slate). I think however, that the clip should be slightly larger and the cable should be heavier with stronger retraction to accommodate regulator air hoses.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Waterborne Safety Straps
Rating: Waterborne-Safety-Straps Nice strap 7/15/2013

This strap is a very good one. Durable and has enough length to fasten securely over a wetsuited wrist. Does its job.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Henderson 5mm Aqua Lock Hyperstretch Diving Gloves
Rating: Henderson-5mm-Aqua-Lock-Hyperstretch-Diving-Gloves Warm 7/12/2013

Bought the gloves in 5mil to facilitate dexterity of the fingers. These kept my hands very warm, though my suit, hood and boots were 7mm. Works well with the interlock system. I had no trouble unzipping my BC pockets, turning the bezel of my watch or removing my dive tool from its sheath (for practice). Great gloves!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Henderson 7/5mm Aqua Lock Hyperstretch Diving Hood
Rating: Henderson-7-5mm-Aqua-Lock-Hyperstretch-Diving-Hood Good match 7/12/2013

I bought the full Aqua Lock package (suit, hood, gloves, boots)in 7 mil. This hood works very well with the suit. kept my head warm in the cold water of the northeastern US. Had no problems maneuvering my neck or head. Snug fit with no discomfort. One-way air vent prevented air from being trapped in the head Works as designed. Highly recommend this hood!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Lead Shot Weight
Rating: XS-Scuba-Lead-Shot-Weight Nice Weights 7/12/2013

Bought 2, 4 and 5lb weights> Well made. Hold firm

Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Double Hose Retainer Clip
Rating: Innovative-Double-Hose-Retainer-Clip Great Clip! 7/12/2013

Had opportunity to use this clip to streamline my hoses and it worked just great. Tight enough to hold your hoses in place, but easily disengages on demand. I actually bought two of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

St Moritz M1 Deep 6 Watch
Rating: St-Moritz-M1-Deep-6-Watch Good Watch but... 7/12/2013

I like the watch. Its ruggedly made and easy to read, during the day. however, the illumination of the numeral markers leaves much to be desired. in the dark the hands and bezel marker are quite visible. The numeral markers cannot be seen at all. On a night dive, I had to use my dive light. Dont know why one part of the watch is visible while the others arent.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
21 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Atomic Venom Ultra Clear Mask
Rating: Atomic-Venom-Ultra-Clear-Mask Good Mask 6/11/2013

Mask performed well as it should. I think its too pricey though.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
19 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Henderson 7mm Aqua Lock Hyperstretch Wetsuit
Rating: Henderson-7mm-Aqua-Lock-Hyperstretch-Wetsuit Excellent Suit! 6/11/2013

The Aqua lock system is Fantastic! Did 5 dives here in the Northeastern US, in this suit. Including one night and one deep dive (74ft). Water temp was 58 degrees. The suit kept me very warm. Im convinced colder water would not have affected me. The interlocking of the suit with the gloves and boots, traps just enough water for your body to warm it and keep it there. My entire dive party complained of being cold, but not me. Fleece lining makes it a breeze to put on even when wet and it dries quick.i highly recommend this suit!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
31 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews

 



  • Choose
    Currency:

Product Information Questions? Contact our certified instructors
E-mail our instructors at info@scuba.com

Corporate Office: Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614

Privacy Policy
Scuba diving portal for scuba gear
Scuba requires professional scuba diving training and certification
Prices subject to change.
Copyright 2000-2014