Call our certified SCUBA Instructors

1.800.34.SCUBA

8AM - 6PM PST

  

Scuba Gear Reviews by Mark Speights

Scuba Deluxe Log Book
Rating: Scuba-Deluxe-Log-Book Protect those dive logs 9/7/2013

Nice book for the money and then some. Lots of space for things...well, things I never previously took on dive trips and, more importantly, never needed on dive trips, but it is roomy. You could probably pack for a weekend out of town in this thing. Seriously it is pretty nice though it will still stay inside and not in my dive bag.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

500psi Wetsuit / BC Wash - Shampoo with Conditioner Cleaner
Rating: 500psi-Wetsuit---BC-Wash---Shampoo-with-Conditioner-Cleaner First timer... 4/28/2013

...at actually washing (and not just rinsing) my wetsuits. Not sure why this is better than any other type of detergent, but am trusting that it will help preserve my investments. Seems fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
23 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Pinnacle 5mm Escape 5 Front Zip Shorty Wetsuit
Rating: Pinnacle-5mm-Escape-5-Front-Zip-Shorty-Wetsuit Beautiful 4/28/2013

I love this suit. It is better to start the zipper before you step into it as it is more difficult to start when on the body. Great fit, easy access in and out while others are still peeling theres from their bodies. I only wish they made this in a 3mm version for warmer water. I would buy one of those in a minute.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
24 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Safety Whistle with Lanyard
Rating: Scuba-Safety-Whistle-with-Lanyard Not great 4/28/2013

This sounds really good and loud when its dry, but when you surface and it is full of water it is not very effective. Blowing the water out doesnt help. It actually has to dry completely. I wouldnt want to have to depend on this to signal for help.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
22 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Dive Flag License Plate Frame
Rating: Scuba-Dive-Flag-License-Plate-Frame Cute 4/28/2013

Looks real nice on my brand new SUV and certainly makes a statement better than promoting the car dealership. :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
20 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

500psi 2oz Sport Bottle Mask Defog with Carabiner
Rating: 500psi-2oz-Sport-Bottle-Mask-Defog-with-Carabiner Nice, but a little gimmicky 7/8/2012

I am not one to use anti-fog products. I am usually fine with a little baby shampoo cleanse between dives or some good old fashioned saliva. I carry this with me in my mask bag for others not so enlightened who feel science has improved upon or is more hygienic than what comes out of our bodies. Cant really speak to its effectiveness, but its always nice to have an extra Caribiner lying around and it came free with a really groovy new mask.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
68 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

500psi 2oz Sport Bottle Mask Defog with Carabiner
Rating: 500psi-2oz-Sport-Bottle-Mask-Defog-with-Carabiner Beautiful mask 7/8/2012

This mask is my third mask in as many years. It is replacing my Mares X Vision mask which had the best optical glass Ive ever used though it continuously leaked under my nose. I went with the Cressi Lince since I have a small face, but my peripheral vision was severely compromised. With the above experience as my guide and in reading everything I could find I ordered the mid version. Though I have yet to use it diving I can say that the beautiful optical glass is intact in this series and my field of vision is greatly improved over the Cressi if not entirely that of the X-Vision, but that is to be expected with the smaller mask. The next test will be a trip to Mexico next month to get wet. Thus far I am confident.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
67 out of 128 people found this review helpful.

500psi 2oz Sport Bottle Mask Defog with Carabiner
Rating: 500psi-2oz-Sport-Bottle-Mask-Defog-with-Carabiner Scuba after dive jacket 8/6/2010

This thing appears great for the price. I havent yet used it on a dive boat, but I can tell already it was what I needed for those squalls while diving Cozumel last May. It sure beats bringing along a 5mm to 7mm wetsuit if you can put this on during your surface time between the two morning dives.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
230 out of 474 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Stainless Steel Knife
Rating: Scuba-Stainless-Steel-Knife Dive Knife 7/15/2010

This seems to be a solid purchase. Very sharp blade and the scabbard seems as if it will last. Because of the fact it is stainless and prone to rust I have covered it in Vaseline and will probably not use it on all dives, but it appears as if it will last a long time if you dont mind the cosmetic discoloring from salt water. Mark H. Speights

Was this review helpful? Yes No
226 out of 467 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews

 



  • Choose
    Currency:

Product Information Questions? Contact our certified instructors
E-mail our instructors at info@scuba.com

US and Canada call toll free 800.347.2822
International callers please dial 001.949.221.9300


Corporate Office: Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614

Privacy Policy
Scuba diving portal for scuba gear
Scuba requires professional scuba diving training and certification
Prices subject to change.
Copyright 2000-2014