Call our certified SCUBA Instructors

1.800.34.SCUBA

8AM - 6PM PST

  

Scuba Gear Reviews by Barry S.

XS Scuba Pony Bottle Gauge
Rating: XS-Scuba-Pony-Bottle-Gauge used as a back-up gauge for my hoseless computer 11/04/2013

Recently my hoseless computer went awry during a shallow (under 60 foot) dive and my dive partner and I didnt want to abort the dive at that time. We stayed close to one another and we monitored his pressure gauge for when it was time to surface. I decided that I wanted a "very tiny" pressure gauge to be used as a backup gauge to my hoseless system. We all I can say is that this gauge is tiny and works exactly as I wanted. I tied off this hp hose with the gauge screwed right onto the end to my lp hose used for my airsource 3 combo inflater/octo system. Now - in case my hoseless ever goes awry on me again, I have a backup pressure gauge that is so discrete you wouldnt even know it was part of your gear.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

H2O Rhino Double Braided High Pressure Gauge Hose
Rating: H2O-Rhino-Double-Braided-High-Pressure-Gauge-Hose perfect hose 11/04/2013

This was exactly what I needed at a great price and the choices of different lengths was better than the other major brand.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Aqua Lung. 1.5mm Seavest Hooded Diving Vest
Rating: Aqua-Lung.-1.5mm-Seavest-Hooded-Diving-Vest Works exactly as expected 09/14/2013

Needed a hood for my 3mm wetsuit - but didnt want to have one of those tuck in jobs. This vest is comfortable and easy to don. The extra 1.5 keeps any cold water from chilling down your spine.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
22 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Hangair Wetsuit/Drysuit Dryer
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Hangair-Wetsuit-Drysuit-Dryer Great product - works exactly as advertised 07/02/2013

I decided to try this product after previously waiting 3 days for my heavy 8mm semi-dry wetsuit to completely dry. This unit had it totally dry in under 24 hours...after about 12 hours it was almost fully dry. Also - the hanger is extremely broad and sturdy - I use this to hang my wetsuit outside to dry under a large patio umbrella even without plugging it in.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
24 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Compact Console Retractor
Rating: XS-Scuba-Compact-Console-Retractor Very compact 07/01/2013

works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
27 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Trim Weight Tank Pouch
Rating: XS-Scuba-Trim-Diving-Weight-Tank-Pouch These work exactly as described 07/01/2013

You can use the on the tank strap...or anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
31 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Henderson 7mm Aqua Lock Hyperstretch Dive Boots
Rating: Henderson-7mm-Aqua-Lock-Hyperstretch-Dive-Boots Love these boots 06/18/2013

I was having trouble finding boots that fit comfortably because I am an 11W shoe. I spoke to the guys at scuba.com and they recommended that I take a size 12. Its a very comfortable perfect fit. They are very warm and easy to put on or take off.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
31 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Wheeled Mesh Duffel Bag
Rating: XS-Scuba-Wheeled-Mesh-Duffel-Bag Awesome mesh bag 06/12/2013

My Buddy recommended that I get a mesh bag to use for transport but more importantly to use after the dive when I submerge everything in a large bucket of fresh water to soak out the salt overnight. So I submerge the entire bag which allows me to keep everything organized plus it keeps my wet suit submerged too. Well built with strong zippers - I think this bag will last a very long time...

Was this review helpful? Yes No
28 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Henderson 8/7mm Thermoprene Front Zip Semi Dry Wetsuit with Attached Hood
Rating: Henderson-8-7mm-Thermoprene-Front-Zip-Semi-Dry-Wetsuit-with-Attached-Hood Very comfortable and warm 06/10/2013

Hello - Im new to scuba here in the Northeast. Needed a minimum of 7mm suit plus wanted to have easy entry/exit so I would not need anyones help with the zipper. This suit looks and feels great - very comfortable, true to size chart, extremely warm and easy to get on or off by yourself. Yes - of course water gets into a semi dry wetsuit - but because of the neck, wrist and ankle seals - you really dont get much flushing of new water so you feel very warm and comfortable. While taking my open water cert dives in 53 degree water a few weeks ago - the instructors were freezing in their 7mm wet suits but I was nice and comfy. The 10 year warranty is great for peace of mind on getting the full life from this suit.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
44 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews