Scuba Gear Reviews by Rodney Wallace

Oceanic Pocket Snorkel Keeper
Rating: Oceanic-Pocket-Snorkel-Keeper Acceptable 10/06/2014

I broke the keeper on my old Oceanic Ultra Dry and have installed this. Two problems. The Ultra Dry has a channel on one side of the snorkel for the original keeper. While the pocket keeper can be snapped over this its not stable. I fixed it by drilling two small holes under the round Velcro section, threaded a small wire tie thru and around the keeper and snorkel and pulled it tight. The second problem relates to the position of the snorkel on my head. I want the snorkel directed toward the back of my head so when Im face down the snorkel is vertical. In your hand there is no indication of where to fix the snorkel to the mask to get the correct position. By trial and error I placed marks on the two mating Velcro sections so the snorkel is in the correct position. This is not a problem with the original keeper on the Ultra Dry because it can be rotated with the mask on and in the sea.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ultra Dry Snorkel Black Silicone
Rating: Oceanic-Ultra-Dry-Snorkel-Black-Silicone The best 10/06/2014

The best snorkel bar none. This is a replacement for the Oceanic Ultra Dry Snorkel Ive used for the last 4 years. (over 1200 hours). I broke the keeper and decided it was time for a replacement. The only maintenance ever required was to carefully clean the silicone valve seals at the top and bottom with a cue tip and Dove dish washing hand soap. I think that perhaps over time, despite fresh water flushing after every use, mucus and algae growth builds up and the seals leak. The old snorkel is now retired as a back up.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ion 3 Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Ion-3-Mask Great Mask 10/06/2014

Great mask. Side windows definitely improve your peripheral vision to pick up slight movement in the corner of you eye. Getting a mast that does not leak is very difficult at least for me. Even the method of holding the mask to your face and sucking it tight through you nose, holding your breath, and if the mask stays tight its a good fit is not fool proof. One of my previous masks passed this test but still would leak and fill with water. Not only is water annoying but it distorts your vision, So far this mask is a good fit. I snorkel and free dive about 300 hours a year. Ill see if it holds up.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mares 5mm Classic Medium Sole Zipper Dive Boots
Rating: Mares-5mm-Classic-Medium-Sole-Zipper-Dive-Boots Mares 5mm Classic Medium Sole Zipper Dive Boots Review - $34.95 - Scuba Gear Customer Reviews 10/06/2014

Good fit. Great value. Keep my feet warm in the sea with temps in the low 50s. A zipper is essential when pulling on wet or damp boots. Boots with no zipper, no matter how "super stretch" dont work.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps Fin Straps 10/17/2012

These straps are easy to put on and remove while in the sea. They hold the fins securely to my feet.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
53 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

Aqua Lung Slingshot Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Aqua-Lung-Slingshot-Adjustable-Strap-Fins Sling Shot Fins 10/17/2012

Thanks to Scuba.com’s recommendation I purchased the Aqua Lung Sling Shot Fins to replace my aging Force fins. I went to the Force fins many years ago to avoid foot and leg cramps. The Force fins work on somewhat the same principal as the Sling Shot fins. The Force fin blade expands and increases resistance on the power stroke and gives the energy back on the return stroke. When I first used the Sling Shot fins with a setting on 1 I was very disappointed. I had no power and the fins were squirrely on my feet. But on the 2 setting the fins came alive. They felt like the Force fins only with a lot more power. On setting 3 they are even more powerful but with more strain on my legs. It’ll take more time in the sea to determine which is the best for me. Again thanks to Scuba.com.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
68 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

Mares Clipper Full Foot Snorkel Fins
Rating: Mares-Clipper-Full-Foot-Snorkel-Fins Boots 06/09/2012

Fit and quality are good. A liitle wide for my old Force Fins. New fins will be orderd.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
78 out of 151 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 3mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Diving Gloves ..
Rating: Ocean-Quest-3mm-Premium-Super-Stretch-Titanium-Diving-Gloves-.. Gloves 06/09/2012

Fit, quality and flexibilty are good.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
76 out of 156 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 3mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Diving Gloves ..
Rating: Ocean-Quest-3mm-Premium-Super-Stretch-Titanium-Diving-Gloves-.. Gloves 06/09/2012

Fit, quality and flexibilty are good.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
87 out of 165 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 3mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Diving Gloves ..
Rating: Ocean-Quest-3mm-Premium-Super-Stretch-Titanium-Diving-Gloves-.. The Force Be With You 03/13/2009

The force fins are different and it takes time to adjust. One of the biggest adjustment is in very shallow water. Most of the foward thrust comes from the down kick. In shallow water you cant kick down and you get liitle thrust on the up kick. I discovered that a frog kick works there. Im 75 and snorkel about 10-15 hrs a week. I thought age and arthritis was causing knee problems. Since using the Force fins my knees have healed. It a great feeing to get up in the morning with no stiffness. Anyone that swims a lot needs these.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
125 out of 255 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 3mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Diving Gloves ..
Rating: Ocean-Quest-3mm-Premium-Super-Stretch-Titanium-Diving-Gloves-.. Comfortable 03/13/2009

the s are excellent. would not want to use the force fins without them or boots.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
81 out of 164 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614

US and Canada 800.347.2822
International 001.949.221.9300