Scuba Gear Reviews by Rodney Wallace

Mares 5mm Classic Medium Sole Zipper Dive Boots
Rating: Mares-5mm-Classic-Medium-Sole-Zipper-Dive-Boots Mares 5mm Classic Medium Sole Zipper Dive Boots Review - $34.95 - Scuba Gear Customer Reviews 10/06/2014

Good fit. Great value. Keep my feet warm in the sea with temps in the low 50s. A zipper is essential when pulling on wet or damp boots. Boots with no zipper, no matter how "super stretch" dont work.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps Fin Straps 10/17/2012

These straps are easy to put on and remove while in the sea. They hold the fins securely to my feet.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
51 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

Aqua Lung Slingshot Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Aqua-Lung-Slingshot-Adjustable-Strap-Fins Sling Shot Fins 10/17/2012

Thanks to Scuba.com’s recommendation I purchased the Aqua Lung Sling Shot Fins to replace my aging Force fins. I went to the Force fins many years ago to avoid foot and leg cramps. The Force fins work on somewhat the same principal as the Sling Shot fins. The Force fin blade expands and increases resistance on the power stroke and gives the energy back on the return stroke. When I first used the Sling Shot fins with a setting on 1 I was very disappointed. I had no power and the fins were squirrely on my feet. But on the 2 setting the fins came alive. They felt like the Force fins only with a lot more power. On setting 3 they are even more powerful but with more strain on my legs. It’ll take more time in the sea to determine which is the best for me. Again thanks to Scuba.com.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
62 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

Mares Clipper Full Foot Snorkel Fins
Rating: Mares-Clipper-Full-Foot-Snorkel-Fins Boots 06/09/2012

Fit and quality are good. A liitle wide for my old Force Fins. New fins will be orderd.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
73 out of 141 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 3mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Diving Gloves ..
Rating: Ocean-Quest-3mm-Premium-Super-Stretch-Titanium-Diving-Gloves-.. Gloves 06/09/2012

Fit, quality and flexibilty are good.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
74 out of 151 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 3mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Diving Gloves ..
Rating: Ocean-Quest-3mm-Premium-Super-Stretch-Titanium-Diving-Gloves-.. Gloves 06/09/2012

Fit, quality and flexibilty are good.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
82 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 3mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Diving Gloves ..
Rating: Ocean-Quest-3mm-Premium-Super-Stretch-Titanium-Diving-Gloves-.. The Force Be With You 03/13/2009

The force fins are different and it takes time to adjust. One of the biggest adjustment is in very shallow water. Most of the foward thrust comes from the down kick. In shallow water you cant kick down and you get liitle thrust on the up kick. I discovered that a frog kick works there. Im 75 and snorkel about 10-15 hrs a week. I thought age and arthritis was causing knee problems. Since using the Force fins my knees have healed. It a great feeing to get up in the morning with no stiffness. Anyone that swims a lot needs these.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
121 out of 248 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 3mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Diving Gloves ..
Rating: Ocean-Quest-3mm-Premium-Super-Stretch-Titanium-Diving-Gloves-.. Comfortable 03/13/2009

the s are excellent. would not want to use the force fins without them or boots.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
79 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614

US and Canada 800.347.2822
International 001.949.221.9300