Scuba Gear Reviews by Joel Scarr

XS Scuba Multi Tool
Rating: XS-Scuba-Scuba-Multi-Tool Handy little tool 07/26/2010

Handy to have in your save-a-dive kit.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
164 out of 352 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Zephyr Utility Weight Pocket
Rating: XS-Scuba-Zephyr-Utility-Pocket Perfect for 60mm Camera lens 07/26/2010

Bought as a replacement. Perfect fit for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
191 out of 394 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Polyolefin Hot Dive Socks
Rating: Henderson-Polyolefin-Hot-Dive-Socks A good accessory 07/26/2010

Bought for extra warmth under boots and they certainly do that without making boots that fit too tight. Although the sox are just tubes, they stretch to fit perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
179 out of 346 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Polyolefin Hot Dive Socks
Rating: Henderson-Polyolefin-Hot-Dive-Socks Great boots 07/26/2010

Boots have come a long way over the years and these are no exception. Handy features include a guide to keep the strap on open heel fins in place and a strap on the back to help pull them on.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
223 out of 424 people found this review helpful.

Mares Volo Power Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Mares-Volo-Power-Adjustable-Strap-Fins Excellent 07/26/2010

I have the same fins in full foot and needed open heal so looked no further.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
225 out of 464 people found this review helpful.

Mares Volo Power Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Mares-Volo-Power-Adjustable-Strap-Fins Good under-layer or by itself 07/26/2010

I bought this to wear under the Pinnacle semi-dry for extra warmth (am yet to test it under that suit). I have used it by itself as a test in the Caribbean and it is comfortable, and very warm. I bought it based on the sizing chart and it fits width ways but is a little too long.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
158 out of 314 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Hangair Wetsuit/Drysuit Dryer
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Hangair-Wetsuit-Drysuit-Dryer Surprisingly handy 07/26/2010

This came free with a wetsuit as I would definitely not pay $50 for a coat hanger (or so I thought)! But, despite my scepticism, it is made by a good brand, seems solid and the fan and cord set-up seems surprisingly robust. The air pressure through the wetsuit can be felt on the arm and leg holes.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
235 out of 479 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Hangair Wetsuit/Drysuit Dryer
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Hangair-Wetsuit-Drysuit-Dryer Looks fantastic 07/26/2010

I wanted the best semi-dry with attached hood I could buy for diving in 55 degree water and this was what I settled on. Yet to test in the water, but my opinion so far is very good. The lining is comfortable and not scratchy. Seems appear well done with a circular patch glued where 3 seems meet (note though that the seems and stitching are not glued-over for extra water-proofing - perhaps not required). Torso is made from large pieces, rather than smaller pieces cut to be more form fitting as is done on my Oneill suit. I also opted for the merino torso heater to be sure Ill be warm.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
204 out of 398 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Hangair Wetsuit/Drysuit Dryer
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Hangair-Wetsuit-Drysuit-Dryer Bought for camera 05/11/2009

So far so good.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
277 out of 495 people found this review helpful.

Trident L.E.D. Light Stick
Rating: Trident-L.E.D.-Light-Stick Great 05/11/2009

great, batteries a bit of a fiddle to .

Was this review helpful? Yes No
267 out of 492 people found this review helpful.

Trident Adapter For Air II Hose To Standard Inflator
Rating: Trident-Adapter-For-Air-II-Hose-To-Standard-Inflator Bought one as a tester and will now buy another 05/11/2009

Bought one as a tester and will now buy another

Was this review helpful? Yes No
234 out of 531 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Zephyr Utility Weight Pocket
Rating: XS-Scuba-Zephyr-Utility-Pocket Great size 05/11/2009

Bought for carrying wide angle camera lens and diffuser, and a perfect size for that. Lots of velcro on the flap which is secure but makes it a little difficult to open.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
314 out of 669 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Zephyr Utility Weight Pocket
Rating: XS-Scuba-Zephyr-Utility-Pocket Good size 05/11/2009

The best accessory pockets allude me, but this is a good addition to my collection to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
271 out of 503 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Zephyr Utility Weight Pocket
Rating: XS-Scuba-Zephyr-Utility-Pocket Once inflated, seems very good. 05/11/2009

Once inflated, seems very good. A bit of a fiddle to inflate however - either by mouth, removing BC inflator hose and manually pressing onto the SMB, or by regulator purge from the base (which also pushes water into the SMB which is difficult to remove). Storage of light stick and mirror is a space saving idea. I removed the whistle to save more space as I carry one on my BC. Based on my research seemed to be the best colour and size combination.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
340 out of 651 people found this review helpful.

TUSA TUL-300 L.E.D. Light
Rating: TUSA-TUL-300-L.E.D.-Light Excellent 05/11/2009

excellent. batteries a bit of a fiddle to .

Was this review helpful? Yes No
298 out of 628 people found this review helpful.

TUSA TUL-300 L.E.D. Light
Rating: TUSA-TUL-300-L.E.D.-Light Excellent 05/11/2009

Excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes No
244 out of 482 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Tire Inflator
Rating: Innovative-Tire-Inflator OK for price but not ideal 05/11/2009

There is no pressure quage nor on/off release. Will need to press onto valve, then take off and check pressure with another quage, then repeat until the correct pressure is achieved.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
234 out of 527 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Tire Inflator
Rating: Innovative-Tire-Inflator Check what type of cards you want a case for 05/11/2009

Check what type of cards you want a case for - there are (so I have since discovered) lots of types of little camera cards and the 0900 range of pelican cases are specific to the card type. We bought 0920 but this case is not for SD cards which we have. Otherwise, as with all pelican cases, great quality and Scuba.com has a very competitive price.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
213 out of 473 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Air Gun
Rating: Innovative-Air-Gun Fine 05/11/2009

Fine, no issues so far.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
269 out of 515 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Air Gun
Rating: Innovative-Air-Gun Excellent 05/11/2009

Bought for my dive buddy for Caribbean diving. Excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
232 out of 496 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Air Gun
Rating: Innovative-Air-Gun Good collection for the price 05/11/2009

Good collection for the price. I wanted something of better quality (eg stainless steel tools), but this was the best I could find.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
249 out of 496 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614