Call our certified SCUBA Instructors

1.800.34.SCUBA

8AM - 6PM PST

  

Scuba Gear Reviews by Willis Chung

Trident Buddy Call Underwater Signaling Device
Rating: Trident-Buddy-Call-Underwater-Signaling-Device Lighter and more compact than shaker sticks. Easily heard underwater. 03/31/2014

We took a pair of these to Bonaire for a week of diving, and my son and I were able to hear these at a range of 50 feet or so while wearing hoods. There were times when we didnt hear each other, but it seemed to happen less often compared to using our shaker sticks. Went down to 105 with these without a problem. The advantages over shaker sticks: much lighter, easier to find the unit to signal (screwed in to one of the shoulder strap D-ring pulls), easier to signal for a long time, can signal and do other things at same time (take pictures, look for slate to write something, etc) Disadvantages compared to a shaker stick: accidental activation in and out of the water (I tape a Snapple or other similar bottle top over the activation button for transport in the plane), batteries could be dead when you need it (true of anything electronic). I have been looking for ways to reduce the weight of our gear since we have been slowly but steadily adding things to our BCDs. These are much lighter than the shaker sticks with retractable leashes we usually carry and are much more compact as well. Kudos to Scuba.coms customer support. One unit of the pair arrived defective and Scuba.com shipped out a replacement overnight via FedEx in time for our trip to Bonaire. The defective unit was immediately obvious: it would only make a weak, choking chicken sound after pushing the button 10 times or so, and there was something rattling around inside when I shook the unit. Thanks Scuba.com!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Trident L.E.D. Light Stick
Rating: Trident-L.E.D.-Light-Stick Works great for night dives 08/27/2012

The flashing orange indicator was very visible at night. The plastic clip that comes with the blinker feels pretty flimsy, but worked well to hook the blinker to the rubber dust cap of our regulator set, at the connection with the air cylinder. This placed the blinker up high enough to be clearly visible. Battery life was excellent: we did 6 night/evening dives in the past two weeks and did not see any significant decrease in the blink rate to lead us to replace the batteries.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
55 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Retractable Compass
Rating: Sherwood-Retractable-Dive-Compass Dont leave home without it! 04/04/2009

The compass works well, has a glowing dial for low light situations, and is always on my BC with the retractor. Much more convenient than having a wrist mounted compass, but YMMV. Do not clip anything else to the retractor wire: it is too small in caliber to be sure that another clip will stay on. I lost a small reference book that appeared to be clipped to the wire!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
311 out of 660 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Titanium Knife
Rating: Scuba-Titanium-Knife Sharp knife that stays clean 04/04/2009

The knife stayed corrosion free after a week of daily diving in Key Largo. No rust spots, and its nice and sharp. The sheath retains the knife positively, yet still allows easy removal. Great value!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
282 out of 594 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Titanium Knife
Rating: Scuba-Titanium-Knife Economical and easy to use. 04/04/2009

My son and I used these for a week of intensive diving in Key Largo, and these worked without a hitch. Breathing effort is comparable to other regulators in the price range.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
358 out of 711 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Veo 100 NX Air/Nitrox 2 Gauge Computer Console
Rating: Oceanic-Veo-100-NX-Air-Nitrox-2-Gauge-Computer-Console Great intro computer 04/04/2009

It has all the features you need to dive safely and extend your bottom time safely. Works great, cost is reasonable. What else is there to say?

Was this review helpful? Yes No
257 out of 525 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Veo 100 NX Air/Nitrox 2 Gauge Computer Console
Rating: Oceanic-Veo-100-NX-Air-Nitrox-2-Gauge-Computer-Console Great intro computer 04/04/2009

It has all the features you need to dive safely and extend your bottom time safely. Works great, cost is reasonable. What else is there to say?

Was this review helpful? Yes No
279 out of 532 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Veo 100 NX Air/Nitrox 2 Gauge Computer Console
Rating: Oceanic-Veo-100-NX-Air-Nitrox-2-Gauge-Computer-Console Great BC for the money! 04/04/2009

Both my son (13) and I own this BC and we find it comfortable and easy to use. The floatation is more than adequate, and it is comfortable to put on and remove. A few niggling points. The integrated weight pockets can fall out of their sleeves if you have too much weight in them (6 pounds is OK, 8 pounds is not), so if you have more than 12 pounds, put the extra weight into the velcro pockets on the side. The strap to hold the tank on needs to get "broken in" to the right length to hold tanks, so be careful the first couple of times you go out. The tank will have the tendency to slip out until the strap gets streched out and develops a bend in the place where it wraps over the buckle.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
355 out of 750 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews