Call our certified SCUBA Instructors

1.800.34.SCUBA

8AM - 6PM PST

  

Scuba Gear Reviews by Donald E.

Scuba Stainless Steel Safety Shears
Rating: Scuba-Stainless-Steel-Safety-Shears Great Shears and Great Price 05/27/2009

I found these easy to use on top and under water. What makes this package complete is the excellent nylon sheath, which comes with it. Easy to mount on BCD and use.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
265 out of 512 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Stainless Steel Safety Shears
Rating: Scuba-Stainless-Steel-Safety-Shears Hold on to your ears 05/27/2009

This whistle is loud and simply made. I bought the red one as I stick with Red/Orange for all of my life safety products. Dunked it in water and started blowing with no hesitation making a loud and shrill noise. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
293 out of 542 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Stainless Steel Safety Shears
Rating: Scuba-Stainless-Steel-Safety-Shears Great Package and Results 05/27/2009

Just came back from Grand Cayman and Nassau, Bahamas, in which I took over 300 pictures during reef and wall dives. I was very pleased with the simplicity of use and the ability to change settings under water. The pictures of lion fish, turtles, tuna, ship wrecks, and the reefs themselves all turned out fantastic. My only caution about this camera is that the battery life shown in the window goes from full to empty very quickly without showing much progression. I have a spare battery and recommend changing between dives regardless of reading.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
247 out of 509 people found this review helpful.

Akona Weight Carry Bag.
Rating: Akona-Scuba-Diving-Weight-Carry-Bag. Akona - what else can you say 02/20/2009

I have many Akona products and like this one, it is heavy duty to carry wait, water proof for low damage with wet weights and yet small enough to carry seperately or if you have room at the bottom of your roller bag. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
378 out of 706 people found this review helpful.

Akona Mini Retractor
Rating: Akona-Mini-Retractor Small but efficient 02/20/2009

This retractor I used with my Spyderco Caspian Dive knife sheath. It keeps it out of the way until I need it. Excellent performance.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
302 out of 612 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba 2mm Titanium Diving Beanie
Rating: XS-Scuba-2mm-Titanium-Diving-Beanie For those who struggle with full hoods. 02/20/2009

This beanie was chosen after much discussion with others who struggle with full hoods. Although not recommended for extreme cold, I have use this in 65 degree water and stayed very warm with it. Highly recommended. Light, thin, warm.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
352 out of 758 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Personal Safety And Signal Device
Rating: Oceanic-Personal-Safety-And-Signal-Device Choose safety wisely 02/17/2009

After many discussions with other divers, I chose this Safety Sausage because of its multiple use. Not only is it very visible and large inflated, but it is very durable. Also, equipped with a zipper and although not classified as a life perserver, zips up nicely to go around your neck or someone elses neck when you are trying to keep a head out of the water. Manually inflated was my choice as I personally do not like disconnecting LP hoses if I dont have to. Although slightly bigger around than others I have seen when rolled up,the added zipper features are worth it. Everything I expected and hope to never have to use.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
241 out of 468 people found this review helpful.

Genesis/Sherwood CQR-2 Weight Pocket (Single)
Rating: Genesis-Sherwood-CQR-2-Weight-Pocket-Single Building my spares kit 02/17/2009

Bought this as a spare for my Sherwood Avid BC. It is an exact of the original and stands by the need occur for replacement. Well made and easy to operate just like originals.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
236 out of 480 people found this review helpful.

Genesis/Sherwood CQR-2 Weight Pocket (Single)
Rating: Genesis-Sherwood-CQR-2-Weight-Pocket-Single Just enough suit for me 02/17/2009

I take this shorty with me when the water is in the 65 degree range. It provides just enough warmth for me without the full suit feel. It is well made and I always get compliments. Even large people like to look good and buy the best equipment. My 5XL keeps me in the water longer. Great suit.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
280 out of 525 people found this review helpful.

Genesis/Sherwood CQR-2 Weight Pocket (Single)
Rating: Genesis-Sherwood-CQR-2-Weight-Pocket-Single Just right for me. 12/29/2008

This suit works perfect for me at 62" and 295 lbs, it fits excellent and is very comfortable. I have used it in 72 degree water very successfully and kept me plenty warm. my wife who is a professional seamstress reviewed the quality of make and materials and deemed this Akona Suit to be excellent in design and manufacture. I liked it so much I have now ordered the 3MM Shorty Version of the same Suit. I have found Akona Products to be excellent in value and quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
249 out of 514 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews