Scuba Gear Reviews by Steven B.


Rating: Nice LEDs, nice price on the pack. 08/10/2009

The Shockwave LED lite seemed like a great buy all by itself. Putting a few things together into a handy, well priced package, great idea. Main light, suitable backup and a personal marker. Right stuff, right price. And the main light? Whoa! Great beam and the dual power setting a plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
298 out of 650 people found this review helpful.

Hollis F1 ´´Bat Fin´´ Adjustable Spring Strap Fins
Rating: Hollis-F1-Bat-Fin-Adjustable-Spring-Strap-Fins Hollis F1 Fins 08/10/2009

These are very nice fins! I needed something better suited to drysuit boots and went with these as they have std. spring straps compared to others supplied as an adder. Compared to some reasonable non-splits these are a whole step up, like swimming in a different world. Oversized finger loop works well with heavy gloves and angled feature is nice to keep it out of the way. Highly recommended, they do not disappoint! I make it a point to let everybody struggling to get a their std. fin into a drysuit boot that these are great. Ease of swimming? Went for a nice surface swim to the Madeira - once with std., once with the F1. Std. fin, exhausted, F1, fantastic. Did a long surface swim to retrieve a blown away buoy with my 17 yr. old, athletic son. He was using the std. type. It wasnt a race but I easily passed him on the way out and again on the way back. These kick!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
274 out of 576 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Locking Strap Mount Retractor
Rating: Innovative-Locking-Strap-Mount-Dive-Retractor Sturdy retractor 06/01/2009

These fit nicely on the tails of my shoulder straps. They have a nice little clamping plate on the back that permits either threading through the plate or simply straddling the strap. The cord is long enough to be very useful, the retractor quite powerful (within reason) and the locking button is large enough to manipulate easily. Very good for a slate, tank banger, or many other uses. Not nearly enough for a camera, but should be fine for a console. Very handy.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
240 out of 514 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Locking Strap Mount Retractor
Rating: Innovative-Locking-Strap-Mount-Dive-Retractor Pleased with it 06/01/2009

Got this to secure my SPG and it works great. Had it out for a couple dozen saltwater dives so far and have had no issues. I usually forget to rinse out the mechanism after and it showed no signs of corrosion or other problems. While only a single SPG it easily keeps it out of the way as intended.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
327 out of 642 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps Spares arent spares anymore 06/01/2009

I ordered these as spares for the dive bag. When I got them I installed them to check the fit and liked them so much I decided to leave them on and put the regular Mares straps in the bag. Easy on, easy off and not so much stress on the fingertips as with the Mares quick release.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
228 out of 520 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps I love these gloves! 04/26/2009

First gloves of my own and I wanted to stay away from velcro closures and even neoprene exterior cuz it sticks to everything velcro. Despite comments about these being hard to get on/off, I didnt think so. They fit well and were very secure, especially when tucked under wetsuit cuffs. First time use was under the ice and I was very pleased. They even kept me warm while I shoveled off snow for skating while waiting my turn. Liked em so much I bought a 3mm pair for warmer weather. Flex is good, but obviously, anything thick is going to reduce tactile ability and they have plenty of squish.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
256 out of 577 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps First knife 04/26/2009

i wanted a starter knife on a budget so i decided to go with a bc model. the fusilier fits the bill very well and seems very well made. its only been wet a couple of times and i havent had to pull it yet, which also means ive forgotten to rinse it. no signs of rust. my only complaint is the lack of a lanyard attachment point. after all, if you it when you need it, what good does it do? plus, being a bc knife, the handle is somewhat compact, so handling with gloves enhance the likelihood of ping. there is plenty of room behind the tang at the rear of the handle to drill a small hole and slip a split ring thru. not a big deal. there are only 2 bc mount screws, so if they dont line up with the grommets youre out of luck. i just used a couple of zip ties to my shoulder webbing. id definitely consider the hydralloy blue tang model from uk as a full size compliment.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
209 out of 395 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps Gold Cores are great! 04/26/2009

I took a chance on these after having trouble with my DeepSea zippers opening up (the rented wetsuit was a bit short to cover the ankles - also corrected) plus I wanted to have a more secure heel, beefier sole, and 7mm. I was not disappointed. Some reviews state the ankle height is too short but I find it works well if the suit is long enough to get to the anklebone, which it should be anyway. I like these a lot!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
191 out of 411 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps Dive rite reasonable 04/26/2009

I was having trouble getting what I wanted ordered locally so I gave up and found it here. The product description and photos give a good representation and make shopping quite easy. The compass itself, the lubber line is a wee bit off, but frankly, there is probably a lot more error in swimming than you could blame on the line being a hair off. Its not a fancy rig but the dial is out where you can use it easily with gloves, the bezel is open enough that it should be easily rinsable and not get all gritted up. Its the simple, easily manipulated, basic type I was looking for without spending a fortune

Was this review helpful? Yes No
204 out of 386 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps Nice hood, great group 04/26/2009

This was my first hood and we hit some nasty thermoclines around here. This was soooo much nicer than the rental gear weve been using. Nice snug fit, though Hendersons chart seems to run a bit small and I had to exchange for a larger size. The face cutout is very nicely sized leaving very little exposed with mask in place. First time out was under the ice and I had literally no skin shock as so little was exposed. Very comfortable and scuba.com policies make it quite convenient if a return is necessary. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
221 out of 410 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps UK lite worth the price 04/26/2009

I was looking for a cheap lite to get started with and this seems to fit the bill. Very intense lite in a very small package. I havent been in the water yet and its first use will probably to help illuminate area for photos. Its reasonable size, reasonable price, intensity seem to make it good choice as a starter or backup. Other comments about the strap being located in the middle are bang on, but itll do.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
179 out of 395 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Used 0.5mm Microprene Hood
Rating: Henderson-Used-0.5mm-Microprene-Hood Henderson Hoods 04/26/2009

I purchased a Henderson Gold Core 7mm and liked it so much I decided to try this for warmer waters/sting protection. While not nearly the same as the Gold Core the face coverage seems nice with good fit. I also like the finished stitching around the face edges rather than simple neoprene cutouts on some Ive worn. Ive noticed before that sizing tends to run a bit small so I ordered large this time and the fit was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
224 out of 480 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Used 0.5mm Microprene Hood
Rating: Henderson-Used-0.5mm-Microprene-Hood Love the insta-dry! 04/26/2009

I ordered some of these in 5mm for the cold climates a while back. Nice! I was so impressed with how they worked under the ice I went for a lighter pair for warmer weather. No velcro to come loose, not sticky to velcro articles, close fitting and despite some other reviews, not at all hard to get on and off. A very good fit and easily tucked under the wetsuit cuff. Nice and flexible, too!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
263 out of 575 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Mask Strap Wrapper
Rating: Scuba-Mask-Strap-Wrapper Cant argue with free! 04/26/2009

Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
241 out of 444 people found this review helpful.

H2O Alpha 4 Mask
Rating: H2O-Alpha-4-Mask Pleased with it 04/26/2009

i ordered this to put some bifocals in and was having trouble with the standard styles hitting my brow. this one has a bit more skirt depth over the eyes and clears the browline better. it is quite heavy but i especially appreciate the std. strap connections as i ped and broke one but replaced it with some parts i had laying around.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
303 out of 563 people found this review helpful.

H2O Alpha 4 Mask
Rating: H2O-Alpha-4-Mask Very reasonable for the price 04/26/2009

All I wanted was some cheap, lightweight protection to take to the Carribean since I could buy cheaper than renting. I wasnt expecting anything fancy and figured if it only gets used this time were still money ahead. Very comfortable and Ill probably use it under my 7mm in colder water. Nice fit, good help from Scuba.com with size advice, and so far Im impressed with the Henderson products.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
176 out of 402 people found this review helpful.

H2O Alpha 4 Mask
Rating: H2O-Alpha-4-Mask Hard to go wrong with a deal like this! 04/26/2009

The title speaks for itself. The price makes it worth it if only as a backup.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
195 out of 398 people found this review helpful.

H2O Alpha 4 Mask
Rating: H2O-Alpha-4-Mask Worth the price! 04/26/2009

I picked this out primarily for my wife to snorkel with (which will probably be infrequently) when it was on sale as I figured even if it wasnt great that if nothing else itd be worth the $$ as a backup or whatever. I havent been in the water yet with it but based on fit and flex it is one of the best deals going for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
328 out of 626 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews