Scuba Gear Reviews by James Moore


Rating: best boots 11/19/2011

The Instadry material is truly just that. The surface does not hold water and therefore reduces evaporative cooling to a minimum. This also applies to the 3 mm Instadry suit that I wear and have no problem freezing in the wind upon exiting the water, in contrast to another diver wearing a 5 mm suit with cloth surface who was very cold. The 7 mm version is not only warm but provides lots of cushioning of the edge of the fin foot pocket.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
93 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

LavaCore by Oceanic Trilaminate Polytherm Dive Socks
Rating: LavaCore-by-Oceanic-Trilaminate-Polytherm-Dive-Socks very nice fin socks 09/14/2011

very comfortable and protects the instep from the edge of the fin pocket. shims out the foot size about 1/2 size. size stated backwards, should be mens 6-9 womens 7-10.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
112 out of 224 people found this review helpful.

LavaCore by Oceanic Trilaminate Polytherm Dive Socks
Rating: LavaCore-by-Oceanic-Trilaminate-Polytherm-Dive-Socks good deal but a little old 09/14/2011

The standards and procedures document is just fine except that it is not fully up to date. I dont think there have been many changes recently but this should be stated in the product description

Was this review helpful? Yes No
110 out of 215 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps good but too big 06/13/2010

The Innovative spring straps are very good and I own several sets already. These were purchased as an adjunct to the Omega flip fins XL but the combination is for about size 18 feet. Im keeping them for some future user or another set of fins or else just steal the heel piece/pull ring which is a good replacement for the Apollo ones that fail immediately

Was this review helpful? Yes No
270 out of 513 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps seems to work! 06/13/2010

I had to try these after a fin induced groin pull. They do allow normal walking when flipped up and the sole plate is remarkably non-slip compared to some other fins (I think some additional siping cuts in the tread with a Dremel tool might be better. The fin clicks into the locked position on about the first kick and behaves like a paddle fin after that. It is fairly easy to release the latch with the other foot against the bottom (of the pool). I think some practice might allow this move on the boarding ladder too which would complete the theoretical usage plan. These fins have the additional feature of a huge foot pocket, XL big enough for my drysuit boots (as well as Stealth wetsuit boots with their big soles) I look forward to the introduction of a split flip fin, solid rubber, I hope, like an Apollo Biofin or Oceanic V12.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
178 out of 385 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps nice light weight 05/07/2010

The Bladefish 5000 is wonderfully light weight and maneuverable compared to my Seadoo Explorer DPV at about three times the weight and only slightly better thrust. I have not yet investigated battery life

Was this review helpful? Yes No
282 out of 598 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps good product 02/14/2010

The quick connect hose is very nice for being able to remove the Neptune Space FFM from the first stage regulator for ease of transport ( not to say donning ) of the mask. I also recommend the swivel as a further way to streamline the rig. Note the availability of the longer version of this hose if you want.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
241 out of 490 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Reef Sl 35 TX DIN 1st Stage
Rating: Ocean-Reef-Sl-35-TX-DIN-1st-Stage good product 02/14/2010

I bought this first stage to go with a Neptune Space FFM. It works beautifully and I recommend the quick connect hose and swivel to go between the two.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
263 out of 493 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Reef Neptune Space Raptor Full Face Mask
Rating: Ocean-Reef-Neptune-Space-Raptor-Full-Face-Mask good product 02/14/2010

The small/medium size is great for smaller faces which is why I got it to show off the advantages of an FFM to my small faced diving friends

Was this review helpful? Yes No
255 out of 528 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Reef Neptune Space Raptor Full Face Mask
Rating: Ocean-Reef-Neptune-Space-Raptor-Full-Face-Mask that mud orange 12/25/2009

perfectly good non-zipper hood with "orange" reversible interior. A nice blaze orange or at least a bright color would be better

Was this review helpful? Yes No
217 out of 393 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Reef Neptune Space Raptor Full Face Mask
Rating: Ocean-Reef-Neptune-Space-Raptor-Full-Face-Mask really 1.5 mm 12/05/2009

fits very nicely and 3 times as thick as shown, even better

Was this review helpful? Yes No
212 out of 407 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Reef Neptune Space Raptor Full Face Mask
Rating: Ocean-Reef-Neptune-Space-Raptor-Full-Face-Mask good product 07/31/2009

nice suit, note sizing difference from Henderson Instadry where I am a mens large. The Neoskin medium is loose on me in spots and fits a friend with bigger shoulders than mine.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
194 out of 436 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Reef Neptune Space Raptor Full Face Mask
Rating: Ocean-Reef-Neptune-Space-Raptor-Full-Face-Mask really a size bigger 07/27/2009

I have bought several of this product and they fit women who claim to have size 7 feet

Was this review helpful? Yes No
197 out of 442 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Reef Neptune Space Raptor Full Face Mask
Rating: Ocean-Reef-Neptune-Space-Raptor-Full-Face-Mask good value 07/27/2009

these hoods are comparable to the Akona ones and have similar sizing. They seem a little stretchier although this is not so important with the zipper feature

Was this review helpful? Yes No
201 out of 440 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Reef Neptune Space Raptor Full Face Mask
Rating: Ocean-Reef-Neptune-Space-Raptor-Full-Face-Mask nice skin 07/27/2009

At 0.5 mm its like a slightly warmer diveskin but is really stretchy and fits very well

Was this review helpful? Yes No
228 out of 427 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Reef Neptune Space Raptor Full Face Mask
Rating: Ocean-Reef-Neptune-Space-Raptor-Full-Face-Mask instadry rules 07/27/2009

these suits fit great (after the required accomodation period) and are warmer than other suits of the same weight. One particular advantage is that the zippers do not leak hardly at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
240 out of 428 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Reef Neptune Space Raptor Full Face Mask
Rating: Ocean-Reef-Neptune-Space-Raptor-Full-Face-Mask rave reviews 05/29/2009

I had bought this item to go with the matching Mares wetsuit. The combination works great and really doesnt leak at all. All in all Mares products are excellent and I order them with confidence.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
243 out of 465 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Reef Neptune Space Raptor Full Face Mask
Rating: Ocean-Reef-Neptune-Space-Raptor-Full-Face-Mask tight top 05/16/2009

the other reviews are correct that mention the tight top which might get over the heel of a mens size 10 foot. Otherwise they work great for sliding through seals and into boots (do not get the sock in the seal of a semidry suit or you will be surprisingly wet rather quickly)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
283 out of 612 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Fusion Scuba Jr
Rating: XS-Scuba-Fusion-Scuba-Jr excellent kids or small face mask 05/16/2009

very good mask, kids love them

Was this review helpful? Yes No
379 out of 724 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Fusion Scuba Jr
Rating: XS-Scuba-Fusion-Scuba-Jr great value 05/16/2009

I have already bought several pairs of these for friends who all like them very much. Im getting some more for guests who happen to be that size which in this case fits two different women who claim to be size 7 even though the Pinnacle designation is mens 5 womens 6.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
206 out of 432 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Fusion Scuba Jr
Rating: XS-Scuba-Fusion-Scuba-Jr happy kid 05/16/2009

The little girl loves her new outfit and looks forward to being old enough to breathe underwater

Was this review helpful? Yes No
254 out of 483 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Fusion Scuba Jr
Rating: XS-Scuba-Fusion-Scuba-Jr really warm 04/19/2009

the Isotherm Semi-dry suits are just about dry if you make up the seals carefully. If you have skinny ankles you must roll the seal in far enough to get up to where you can get a little tension on the material to form the skin to skin seal. The waterproof zipper works perfectly as long as you fully close it. The McNett zipper lube from scuba.com helps a lot. It is remarkably non-greasy but slides pretty well. I tried this suit myself in 40 F and was warm as could be until my lips got too cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
285 out of 528 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Fusion Scuba Jr
Rating: XS-Scuba-Fusion-Scuba-Jr almost no leakage 04/19/2009

although this suit is not listed as a semi dry it almost is. several minutes in the water (just snorkeling, not at depth) left most of the lining dry. There are secondary seals a little up from the wrists that look effective and probably account for no leaks there.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
285 out of 541 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Fusion Scuba Jr
Rating: XS-Scuba-Fusion-Scuba-Jr good colors 03/06/2009

the scuba goops are nice bright colors, hopefully they stick, I imagine precleaning with something like the Cotol solvent would be a good idea

Was this review helpful? Yes No
212 out of 486 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Fusion Scuba Jr
Rating: XS-Scuba-Fusion-Scuba-Jr great round edge 03/06/2009

This mask brags about its rounded sealing edge. It works and fits very well

Was this review helpful? Yes No
296 out of 543 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ion 3 Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Ion-3-Mask nice soft silicone 03/06/2009

nice soft edge seals well, pseudo three window design gives wide view without the frame corner

Was this review helpful? Yes No
271 out of 575 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ion 3 Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Ion-3-Mask good split fins 03/06/2009

I have a number of sets of split fins and the most efficient seem to be the solid rubber ones. They best form the foil sections that the Natures Wing design implements. The Scubapro versions are quite good just behind Apollo and Oceanic. In a plastic composition the TUSA X-pert Zoom are very good. Stiffer blades do not properly form the foil shape and behave more like a straight bladed fin with a leak in the middle

Was this review helpful? Yes No
237 out of 446 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ion 3 Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Ion-3-Mask slow 03/06/2009

Charges four cells at a time but takes a day to do it for the 2450 mah AA cells

Was this review helpful? Yes No
207 out of 451 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ion 3 Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Ion-3-Mask are you energized? 03/06/2009

These batteries were unavailable from scuba.com at the time but I got some elsewhere since they are the brand the charger calls for. The ones i got are the 2450 mah size and seem to work well. The downside of this system is that the charger only holds four batteries and takes a long time to charge them. This is probably better for the batteries than a faster charge, but two days is a long time to recharge the 8 cell set for the Big Blue dive light

Was this review helpful? Yes No
196 out of 434 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ion 3 Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Ion-3-Mask a lot of light 03/06/2009

500 lumens is plenty of light in a fairly wide and uniform beam. I loaded 8 2650 mah (milliamp-hours) nickel metal hydride AA batteries and get over two hours of bright light on the high setting. I think it would go rather longer but I dont want to over-discharge the cells. This light with three five-watt LEDs is disproportionately brighter than the three three-watt LEDs in my somewhat older Princeton Tec Miniwave LED. LED technology is advancing rapidly and it seems the Big Blue is using newer ones. I believe the current efficiency winner is from Cree at over 100 lumens per watt.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
303 out of 572 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ion 3 Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Ion-3-Mask suitcase friendly fins 03/06/2009

These are clever disassemblable fins. They do break down and go back together quite easily after a few uses and the latching mechanism seems secure. Enthusiasts for long blade fins can now fit them in shorter suitcases.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
249 out of 450 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ion 3 Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Ion-3-Mask size? 02/23/2009

having started at a medium in a Henderson Instadry, I have moved through large, x-large and now 2x-large in the Akona line with very little increase in size. It would be nice if there were size standards across manufacturers

Was this review helpful? Yes No
231 out of 502 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ion 3 Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Ion-3-Mask size? 02/23/2009

This is a nice product, the fabric is remarkable and has some warmth. Size is peculiar, the large being very little different from the medium (a tiny bit longer) the size chart is completely outlandish

Was this review helpful? Yes No
204 out of 452 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ion 3 Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Ion-3-Mask what size is that? 12/29/2008

The Akona zippered hoods are a good product particularly due to the zipper. Sizing runs tight (prior to any stretching out) and the XL seems no bigger than the L except maybe in the neck. Hood sizing has little to do with the charts showing height and weight, perhaps actual head and neck dimensions would be more informative.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
277 out of 510 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ion 3 Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Ion-3-Mask fresh air! 12/08/2008

I have been waiting for a low dead volume snorkel design to appear since 1972 when I started diving. The Kadence snorkel has separate inhale and exhale passages as well as an exhale pressure controller that encourages increased lung volume (it really does work). Testing reveals the low dead volume feature to be stunningly effective at providing fresh air. Continuous hard finning does not produce the air starvation feeling that all conventional snorkels do. Once you try it you will never go back to your old one

Was this review helpful? Yes No
320 out of 648 people found this review helpful.

Trident Lithium Long Lasting 9 Volt Battery
Rating: Trident-Lithium-Long-Lasting-9-Volt Lithium Rules! 11/27/2008

The manufacturer is Ultralife Batteries Inc. The part with the "10 year" life was delivered as "best used before 2015" but new in original sealed bag. Voltage upon opening the bag was 9.925v as measured by a Fluke 189 multimeter. Life testing has not begun yet but the $9 price is competitive with other lithium batteries Ive seen. The package shows discharge curves comparing the Ultralife to an alkaline battery at 30 ma drain to 7.5 volts, 31 hrs vs. 7 for the alkaline. There is furious development going on in lithium cells, including rechargeable technologies (THIS BATTERY IS NOT RECHARGEABLE). Energy density is far superior to NiCd and NiMH and there is said to be no "training effect" as with NiCd. They are also starting to appear in high end electric cars as the preferred battery technology. Lithium cells contain no mercury, lead or cadmium and are therefore safer for the environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
267 out of 578 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews