Scuba Gear Reviews by Scott Michael

Sherwood Avid CQR3 BCD
Rating: Sherwood-Avid-CQR3-BCD One great upgrade...2 small steps back 06/22/2013

i bought a sherwood avid cqr 2 in july 2009 and have used it almost exclusively since. i did replace those silly cam tank straps with "scubapro" style fully opening tank straps and jury rigged a crotch strap but thats just personal preference. it is still in great shape, but i recently lost 70 lbs and my xxxl bc no longer fits. i did not even give it a second thought when i ordered an xl avid bc with the new cqr 3 upgrade. the only really serious design problem with the cqr 2 was the difficulty in reing the weight pockets back into the bc. the cqr 3 has a redesign that puts the locking clips up front in a separate pocket where they are much easier to reattach. the new bc itself is just as comfortable and works just as well as the older cqr 2 model. the bc work well underwater and it is nice having a choice of 3 exhaust valves. the real joy is how well you ride at the surface. i know that people will rant on about how wonderful a back inflation is, but i have a wing and plate for tech diving and it is murder on the surface in chop. this bc is the one i take for rec diving. i hate waiting on the surface just prior to the dive, on a long surface swim or waiting for my turn at the ladder getting slapped in the mouth with seawater. now as to my complaints. first they tucked the rear trim weight pockets underneath the fabric belt of the bc instead leaving them on the outside as in the older model. i have no idea why they did this? i makes the bc look more streamlined but it also makes it harder to load and unload trim weights. the really incomprehensible change is the deletion of the velcro "smb" pocket on the right side of the bc. it was a great place to keep defog, a small light, etc. it was almost as it they were trying to streamline this into a technical bc for cave or wreck diving. i cannot for the life of me figure out why they made these two changes. still it is and excellent bc. the 6 stainless steel d-rings are very handy and there are 2 places for built in re tractors. on on the right shoulder and the other inside the left cargo pocket. i purchased two innovative "max force" retractors with male connectors form scuba.com and cut off the connectors. these retractors are about the strongest for the size and will easily support a heavy back-up light at your shoulder or computer/gauge from your cargo pocket. dont waste your time with the akona kit the light is junk, the shoulder retractor is too weak and the knife will fall out of its sheath unnoticed after the first couple of dives. buy a good quality dive knife with a positive locking mechanism an secure it to the corrugated inflator hose with nylon ties. all in all i still love the bc and recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
47 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Wide Angle Lens
Rating: Sealife-Wide-Angle-Lens I use it for almost every shot 06/06/2010

One of the things that I disliked about my DC800 was that I couldnt use the W/A lens without vignetting the pictures. I tried it out on my new DC1200 yesterday and it works great! My biggest problem has always been getting everything in the shot. With the W/A lens, you can get close so that theres less loss of color and sharpness, better light form the flash and still have a good field of view.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
252 out of 526 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Lens Dock
Rating: Sealife-Lens-Dock It works great 06/06/2010

Its a necessity if you use the wide angle lens. The lens has to be put on when you are underwater to prevent air from being trapped between the camera and the W/A lens. The lens dock is the simplest and safest place for the W/A lens to be until you need it. Since I use the W/A lens almost 100% of the time, the lens dock is a no-brainer. If you use the optional SeaLife camera weight and the ext. flash, youll have to turn the weight 90 to allow the lens dock to fit. Dont forget to hook the leash on the W/A lens to the camera. I wouldnt trust the friction fit of either the lens dock of the front of the camera to hold up to an unlucky bump!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
253 out of 491 people found this review helpful.

Hollis F1 ´´Bat Fin´´ Adjustable Spring Strap Fins
Rating: Hollis-F1-Bat-Fin-Adjustable-Spring-Strap-Fins Better than my Jet Fins and w/ spring straps 05/20/2010

The fins are well made and are in my opinion work a bit better than my old ScubaPro jet fins. What really sold me was - how comfortable they are - that they come with ADJUSTABLE spring straps - the loop on the spring strap sticks up at a 45 degree angle making it easy to grab These (like Jet Fins) are heavy fins. I need a heavy fin so that is a plus for me. If your weight distribution is such that you need a lighter fin than these may not be for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
255 out of 526 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Mask Bag with Defog
Rating: Scuba-Mask-Bag-with-Defog What can I say??? 05/03/2010

Its a bag for a mask. I usually buy XScubas and getthe Sea Gold gel but as long as a get a mask bag and some defog Im happy. 3 stars does not in anyway indicate that this is an inferior product. Its well built and does what its supposed too. I just cant get that excited about a mask bag.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
250 out of 471 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Max Force Retractor with Male Connector
Rating: Innovative-Max-Force-Dive-Retractor-with-Male-Connector Max Force is Right 05/03/2010

I had an Akona retractor in the right shoulder of my Sherwood AVID that I had a lightweight LED light clipped to for use on daylight dives. I recently switched to an OxyCheq Raider I. The Raider was so much heavier that I couldnt leave the light on my BCD until I was ready to dive as the retractor would pay out 5 cm just from the weight of the light. No problems now. I had to use a bit of elbow grease to get the MaxForce into the shoulder pocket as it is a bit thicker, but it did fit.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
195 out of 439 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Fogcutter X(Large) Recon Knife
Rating: XS-Scuba-Fogcutter-XLarge-Recon-Knife Great knife/shears combo 12/01/2009

I have the smaller Fogcutter X and I love it, the problem was that the smaller knife doesnt fit into the XS Scuba neoprene knove wrap really well as its sheath is a bit too short. I bought the larger version for myself and gave the original Fogcutter to my daughter who uses the original straps. I do wish the Recon Fogcutter can in a blunt tip version. Great knife nonetheless.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
282 out of 532 people found this review helpful.

Henderson 17oz Superior Polyolefin Dive Skin Jumpsuit
Rating: Henderson-17oz-Superior-Polyolefin-Dive-Skin-Jumpsuit Great Suit for tropical summer diving or snorkling 11/29/2009

I usually dive the Caribbean twice a year. Once in the winter on a cruise with some friends in Jan wearing a skin and a 3mm jumpsuit and with our dive club in summer with a skin and a 3mm shorty. I wear my Henderson lycra skin for sunburn and scratch protection. With this skin, I can forgo the shorty wetsuit during the summer diving and still have a degree of warmth as well as protection from the sun and scratches. I would buy it again without hesitation. If I had known about it, I would probably bought it instead of the regular lycra skin and used it year-round.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
242 out of 504 people found this review helpful.

Henderson 17oz Superior Polyolefin Dive Skin Jumpsuit
Rating: Henderson-17oz-Superior-Polyolefin-Dive-Skin-Jumpsuit How can you turn down $10 11/27/2009

Its hard to see anything but good in a $10 credit voucher

Was this review helpful? Yes No
232 out of 425 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Wetsuit Hanger
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Wetsuit-Hanger Its a wetsuit hanger 11/27/2009

I bought another skin and I needed a hanger. Theyre all the same. They all work well.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
289 out of 523 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Light O-Ring
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Dive-Light-O-Ring Well, what do you want me to say...? 11/12/2009

Its an extra o-ring for my light. Thats all doc.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
257 out of 525 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Light O-Ring
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Dive-Light-O-Ring I happen to like this type of log book 11/12/2009

i filled up my blue padi log book and bought some loose pages. i had to be careful or they would tear out of my 3 ring logbook. i bought a couple of these and transcribed the dives to the red dive log. the format is pretty good. if i find a better ill buy it but for now, this is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
265 out of 474 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Light O-Ring
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Dive-Light-O-Ring Its cheap and a tag 09/05/2009

Hey, I needed a tag and these are tough and cheap

Was this review helpful? Yes No
257 out of 475 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Light O-Ring
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Dive-Light-O-Ring Not a backup, but an extra light. 09/05/2009

I bought this light for a black water dive on the Cooper River in SC looking for fossils. I was amazed how much this light helped examine the river bottom. When I laid my primary light down on the river bottom to adjust some equipment, I could still easily see what I was doing. I dont think of this as a backup light, but rather as an extra light Another even more useful point about this light is how easy it makes checking checking my computer. On my previous dives in the Cooper river (viz 2-4 feet max) I had to use the edge of my primary lights beam to check it. With the K2, I just had to glance at my wrist as I normally would. Since every ascent was an ascent without visual reference, I could let my big light remain hooked to my BCD and have my left hand on the inflator and my right hand free. If you buy generic batteries in bulk you can get them for about $1.70 apiece. A set of batteries will last a least 2 hours and probably 2.5 hours. Two caveats - 1) Dont try to use rechargeable CR123A lithium batteries. They only last 30 min in a flashlight 2) If you are wearing the light on your head, be sure and hold onto the light when you enter the water. If you dont it may come off when you giant stride in. I make sure the strap is nice and tight and pull it over on top of my mask strap.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
248 out of 501 people found this review helpful.

Ideations Dive Alert
Rating: Ideations-Dive-Alert Dont get caught w/o it 05/19/2009

I never dive in open ocean without a dive alert. I needed another one so I bought it. Just make sure not to test it without covering the horn with your hand unless you want to hack off everyone in the dive boat. The output is LOUD and can damage your hearing. If you have to use it in the water I would suggest covering the ear nearest to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
356 out of 691 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics BCD / Regulator Hanger
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-BCD---Regulator-Hanger It works 05/19/2009

Its a BCD hanger, It works. What else can i say.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
240 out of 464 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics BCD / Regulator Hanger
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-BCD---Regulator-Hanger Great little gauge. Well built and easy to read 05/19/2009

I needed a simple backup gauge for my Tech class to supplement my wireless computer. Also good to use as a SPG in the pool to keep my computer from getting banged up.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
212 out of 488 people found this review helpful.

Omni Swivel Regulator Omniswivel
Rating: Omni-Swivel-Regulator-Omniswivel Great for streamlining and reducing jaw fatigue 05/11/2009

I got this idea from a friend of mine whom had a Sherwood Maximus Regulator. It has a 120 angle that allowed him to loop the LP hose from his 2nd stage to his 1st stage under his right arm. I hooked up the Omniswivel in a similar fashion to my S600 The Omniswivel is even better than a fixed bend like my friends Maximus, as the hose is free too move in any direction, thus decreasing strain on my jaw. Since the hose runs under my right arm, it is harder for my hose to snag. Since I have an alternate Inflator/Regulator instead of a separate Octo, the swivel lets me spin my primary regulator around so that the recipient can use it w/o kinking or putting a bend in the regulator hose. One important caveat, you need to use a 40" hose as your standard regulator hose will be too short.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
289 out of 578 people found this review helpful.

Omni Swivel Regulator Omniswivel
Rating: Omni-Swivel-Regulator-Omniswivel It works 04/06/2009

Bought it to store my tank pressure checker in

Was this review helpful? Yes No
273 out of 562 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Deluxe Yoke / Din Tank Pressure Checker
Rating: XS-Scuba-Deluxe-Yoke---Din-Tank-Pressure-Checker Great little tool 04/06/2009

At least with my gauge, it agrees with both of my dive computers as to tank pressure. The other advantage is that its a DIN pressure checker with a DIN to Yoke adapter thrown in. Handy if you ever need to convert a DIN reg to a yoke. Ive taken several tanks back to ask for a full 3000 psi. On the dive boat, you can make sure youre not the one with the 2400 psi tank prior to hooking everything up. I bought an padded AERIS instrument sleeve to keep it in My only complaint is that you have to be careful to shut the valve of prior to turning the tank valve on. I used the paint pen that I mark my SCUBA equipment with to mark highly visible "O" and "C" so I remember which way to twist the ring to close it off. I always leave the ring in a neutral position between uses.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
373 out of 705 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Nitrox Tank Sticker
Rating: XS-Scuba-Nitrox-Tank-Sticker Its a sticker for a 8 04/06/2009

If you have a large diameter tank and you want a sticker that will go around it with a bit of overlap, this is your sticker. If your have a standard 80 cf tank you can use this sticker as well, so why not buy this sticker as well. A quick tip to get your tank sticker centered. Spray "Windex" on the adhesive and over the area of the tank that you want to put the sticker on. The sticker will slip and slide. After you squeeze out all of the air bubbles and get it where you want...LEAVE IT ALONE TO DRY COMPLETELY. The result will be a perfectly positioned sticker with no hassle.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
294 out of 610 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Nitrox Tank Sticker
Rating: XS-Scuba-Nitrox-Tank-Sticker works and adaptable for foreign current 03/30/2009

The charger is easy to pack, easy to use, will charge both AA and AAA batteries and best of all comes with its own 120/240v converter with a multitude of adapter plugs. The prongs on the back fold flush for easy storage and you can leave your batteries in the charger until the last moment in a "trickle" charge mode. The only downside to the Sealife charger are the 4 batteries that come with it. The first two sets had at least one DOA battery. Sealife made good but needless to say, I went to my local "big-box" discount store and bought 4 extra NiMH batteries for my 2nd set.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
253 out of 495 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics C8 eLED Light
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-C8-eLED-Light Great light with great battery life 03/27/2009

My only complaint is that I wish it had the option of changing the pistol grip to a top grip handle as the divers needs change. Other than that its a great light that is actually brighter underwater when it has water cooling.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
284 out of 608 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Mounting Screw/Flash Base Attachment Knob
Rating: Sealife-Mounting-Screw-Flash-Base-Attachment-Knob Required Evil,..Should be incuded with the 13oz weight 02/23/2009

The 13oz weight is perfect IMHO if your DC800 has one or two external flashes. It offsets the extra buoyancy very nicely. The problem is that the knob that comes with your camera isnt long enough to hold the weight on. In the same greedy fashion that most dive computers make you shell out an extra $60 for a proprietary data cable, SeaLife makes you buy this Extra Long Attachment Knob instead of including it with the purchase of the 13oz weight.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
279 out of 599 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Mounting Screw/Flash Base Attachment Knob
Rating: Sealife-Mounting-Screw-Flash-Base-Attachment-Knob Very helpful if you have a flash attached 02/23/2009

I love my DC800, but with an external flash attached, the extra airspace in the flash-head makes it wants to float to the surface. Besides being annoying when you are trying to stay neutral to take a picture, its one more irritation at the end of a dive when your tank is empty and youre trying to hold at 15" for your safety stop. One caveat, you must buy the optional Extra Long Attachment Knob, as the regular knob isnt long enough to attach the weight to the camera.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
344 out of 669 people found this review helpful.

Faber 108 Cubic Foot Low Pressure Steel Tank
Rating: Faber-108-Cubic-Foot-Low-Pressure-Steel-Tank Great tank 02/17/2009

I stepped up from an 80 cf aluminum tank. Not only do I have a lot more air, but I find that Im not having the excess buoyancy problems at the end of the dive. You will have to reposition where the tank hangs on your BCD and shed a considerable amount of lead.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
343 out of 632 people found this review helpful.

Faber 108 Cubic Foot Low Pressure Steel Tank
Rating: Faber-108-Cubic-Foot-Low-Pressure-Steel-Tank Really comfortable way to carry your tank 02/17/2009

This is so much easier than hauling it by the tank valve. I just wish it had Velcro fasteners rater than the double rings. The handle is very well designed.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
300 out of 603 people found this review helpful.

Pinnacle 3mm Titanium Diving Beanie
Rating: Pinnacle-3mm-Titanium-Diving-Beanie Its OK ...but it didnt fit as well as I liked. 02/16/2009

I usually love Pinnacle exposure equipment but this item was the exception. The Velcro closure was not as comfortable as the Henderson that I ended up buying.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
333 out of 688 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba FogCutter X Knife
Rating: XS-Scuba-Fog-Cutter-X-Knife Great all-around knife 02/16/2009

I have an Akona attached to my BCD and this strapped to my calf. Several others in my club are planning to by them. The straight edge on mine came fairly dull so I took it to my local knifesmith who put a working edge on it (not razor-sharp) so that it now cuts much easier. The scissors function is extremely useful and the locking sheath is very secure.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
318 out of 654 people found this review helpful.

Trident Silicone Pump Spray
Rating: Trident-Silicone-Pump-Spray Always use it 02/16/2009

Only wish it came in a bigger bottle for use at home. This one stays in my save a dive kit. Great for straps, hoses, lubricating fin pockets for easier doffing and donning, mask skirts, etc. One use that I try to remember to do at least one every 10 dives or so is to lube the 3 air dump valves on my BCD to keep them from sticking or leaking.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
352 out of 675 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Flash Diffuser
Rating: Sealife-Flash-Diffuser Not useful for anyone with a new Sealife Strobe 02/16/2009

i gave it a neutral rating because the idea is great but sealife didnt bother to the diffuser to fit their sl961 digital flash. this sl968 diffuser is only compatible with sealife flash models sl960 and sl960d, not with the sl961 digital pro flash. seems to me they should have a redesigned diffuser by now. in all fairness to scuba.com they do have a note that it is for the 960 series only but i guess i missed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
294 out of 616 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Flash Diffuser
Rating: Sealife-Flash-Diffuser Great for late spring and early fall 02/16/2009

More comfortable than a hood and just right for diving in water thats a bit too cool for a bare head. I tried and returned my pinnacle beanie as this one feels a lot more comfortable to me. Just the thing for diving in a spring at any time of year as even in summer 68 is a little cool but you can doff and don it easily at the waters edge.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
290 out of 524 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Moisture Muncher
Rating: Sealife-Moisture-Muncher Old Faithful 02/16/2009

I always keep an extra supply of this with me. Despite the "use by" date, if you keep them in a small ziplock freezer bag as well as their original small ziplock bag and only open them in cool dry environments, they seem to last forever. I stick one inside my strobe housing as well as the DC800 underwater camera shell.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
304 out of 642 people found this review helpful.

Akona Mini Retractor
Rating: Akona-Mini-Retractor No problems. 02/16/2009

My son got an Aeris BCD and needed a small retractor. Ive always used Akonas on my Sherwood BCDs. I found that the Aeris brand worked better on his Aeris BCD and returned this one for an Aeris retractor. This is no fault of the retractor and I have always had excellent service with my Akona retractors.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
357 out of 702 people found this review helpful.

Akona Mini Retractor
Rating: Akona-Mini-Retractor Its OK...its a retractor 02/16/2009

I like the clip on the Akona retractor better but I have no real problems with it. I bought it for my sons Aeris BCD as it fits better than the Akona did.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
265 out of 567 people found this review helpful.

Trident Adapter For Air II Hose To Standard Inflator
Rating: Trident-Adapter-For-Air-II-Hose-To-Standard-Inflator Perfect to convert an O2 analyzer BC hose from type I to Type III 01/22/2009

Our group dives a lot of NITROX and half of us have ScubaPro Air2 alternate air regulator on our power inflators. Its much easier, to say nothing of less wasteful of air to connect the analyzer to a BC restrictor hose but the standard hose only fits a type I connector. This adapter allows those of us with Type III connectors to convert our female Type IIIs to Type Is thus allowing use to use the BC restrictor hose.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
319 out of 594 people found this review helpful.

Ideations Dive Alert
Rating: Ideations-Dive-Alert Hope I never need it but... 01/22/2009

I had one of these for my old inflator. When I switched to a ScubaPro Air2, I decided to upgrade to a Dive Alert Plus with a Type III connector. You can read my negative review of that device elsewhere. I returned it and purchased a standard Dive Alert with a type III connector. Just remember to always rinse it out after using it in salt water and when you blow the water out of it after rinsing, PLEASE for the sake of your ears and those around you, keep your palm over the bell of the horn. I accidentally hit it before a dive in St. Lucia last month and my ears are still ringing.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
348 out of 742 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio Pro XT Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Pro-XT-Adjustable-Strap-Fins Best Fins Ive ever used. 12/27/2008

ill preface this by saying that the split fin technology used in these fins is licensed by natures wing to apollo, scubapro, atomic, tusa, oceanic, dacor, sherwood, beuchat and genesis. any of these manufacturers that claims to have a "secret" design that the other dont, is referring only to details such as materials, fins strap design, batten and rib design. the basic principles and operation of these fins is identical for all of them. potentially each of these fins will work about the same for you. the key is to determine which manufacturers products fits your foot and swimming style the best. my reasons for picking apollo fins was simple: - they are 100% rubber and as such weigh about twice as much as most fins. they keep my legs down and help stop my tendency toward bicycling when im tired. i also was able to shed a few pounds from my bc and id rather have the weight on my feet than my waist while standing on a dive boat. - being rubber they are very comfortable and feel like bedroom slippers. - apollo gives you a choice of stiffness (see their website for recommendations on ion). stiffer is not always the best choice. i chose an intermediate stiffness. - price: the price for apollos has tumbled about $45 recently to ~$155 atomics are considerably more expensive. - im not convinced that for the average diver, a small change in rib or batten design means that much...sort of along the line of the average golfer paying $350 or $1200 for a putter. it might might a difference for tiger woods but not for me. - the option for factory installed spring straps. ive always installed these as an after market item on my fins. the factory installed apollo straps are literally bonded into the fin. if you go for a regular adjustable fin strap the atomic strap is about the best ive ever seen, but once youve tried spring straps youll never go back. next, you must change your kick style to use any split fin effectively. you need a high frequency, low amplitude kick that stays within the slipstream of your body and tank. at first the decreased effort will make you feel as if your not going to be going very fast but youll soon realize that increased effort with your old slab fins doesnt always mean more speed. the first time i used them i was able for the first to keep up with my old instructor and his scubapro splits w/o any problem for the first time. for short all-out sprints, you feel as if youre flying over the reef. i also found that my air consumption and fatigue decreased, while my speed and comfort increased with split fins. remember, dont get pre-sold on any one brand before trying them on. i love my apollos and wouldnt give you 2 cents for my dive buddys atomics, but she feels the same way about her atomics and my apollos. finally, by their very nature split fins are a bit less maneuverable than slab sided fins. however the different kick style means that you disturb the bottom a lot less so i personally fell that its an excellent trade off.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
339 out of 690 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio Pro XT Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Pro-XT-Adjustable-Strap-Fins Almost Perfect 12/25/2008

The strobe itself is bright and the twist on switch with its double O-rings is great. The battery life is superb. I keep mine in the pocket of my BCD for emergencies but it would also work perfectly for a line or shore marker for a night dive. It misses 5 stars for 2 reasons. - 10 years ago I had a a teklite strobe for jogging and it had a spring loaded clip on the Velcro band that would expand as much as a cm as you moved. I wish they had retained that. - All of the 90 plastic edges are sharp. I used a dremel tool to smooth them over. Sandpaper or a small file would also work, but a better solution would be to change the mold and eliminate them.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
292 out of 570 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio Pro XT Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Pro-XT-Adjustable-Strap-Fins Easy to carry, Hope I never need it 12/14/2008

My old dye packet from my military days finally dry rotted and this is a decent replacement. Its in a handy plastic tube that fits in my BC pocket.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
303 out of 574 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio Pro XT Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Pro-XT-Adjustable-Strap-Fins It works 12/06/2008

I like all of the McNett products. I tried this spray and I think that Spit spay works a little better but the difference is pretty insignificant. My personal opinion is that no anti-fog really works for more than one dive and if it works well for that one dive its OK in my book.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
300 out of 595 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio Pro XT Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Pro-XT-Adjustable-Strap-Fins Warm, Feels as if you have nothing on at all...not work gloves 12/06/2008

You can tie knots and push buttons with these or their 5mm brothers. There is almost no water transfer and the grip is great. The only warning is that these are light to medium duty gloves and if you use them for heavy work you WILL have to replace them frequently. As long as you are the average recreational diver these gloves are really nice

Was this review helpful? Yes No
260 out of 575 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Moisture Muncher
Rating: Sealife-Moisture-Muncher If you have a Sealife DC800 you need these little gems 12/06/2008

When you put your camera inside the housing stick a moisture muncher inside as well. As long as it is blue to start with and you load the camera and the moisture muncher into the underwater shell in a cool dry place, your camera will remain fog free. Just be sure to store the extra ones in a ziplock bag that you have sucked the air out of and then store that bag in a cool dry place or the other ones will go bad (pink) on you.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
320 out of 660 people found this review helpful.

Akona Weight Carry Bag.
Rating: Akona-Scuba-Diving-Weight-Carry-Bag. Best weight bag Ive ever seen or used 12/06/2008

Its strong with straps that support the bottom of the bag and not just the sides. There are large brass grommets to drain water from the bag. Its large enough to carry weight for a number of people. When our dive club goes out for Open Water training, two bags are enough for 6 divers in fresh water. Tyhe handles are comfortable even when the bag is heavy. A couple of our instructors have used their bags for years and except for a little fading due to sun exposure, the bags are no worse for wear.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
367 out of 737 people found this review helpful.

Akona Weight Carry Bag.
Rating: Akona-Scuba-Diving-Weight-Carry-Bag. I guess Im the party pooper 12/01/2008

I switched to an alternate air inflator regulator and had to get a new "noisemaker" as my old one, an AquaTech "quacker", would not fit on the new high flow coupling. I decided after reading the glowing reviews on this site, to get the Dive Alert Plus so as to have both surface and underwater capability. The surface horn is great. I cannot immagine any boat crew not hearing that blast. The underwater signal is another story. The underwater horn in my opinion produces a only a stream of bubbles. The volume of the sound is pathetic compared to my old "quacker". My quacker was much more sturdily built and emits no visible bubble stream. In addition, the size of the Dive Alert Plus makes it difficult to use my alternate air inflator regulator. The constuction also seems a bit flimsey and I worry that it would eventually snap off with causual use. I plan to get a tank pinger and an original Dive Alert. I feel that emergency surface signaling is probably more important than underwater signaling. While I respect the opinions of the positive rerviewers, I certainly cannot agree with them. I can only suspect that they have never used an underwater signal device like AquaTechs "quacker."

Was this review helpful? Yes No
372 out of 706 people found this review helpful.

Akona Roller Backpack Bag
Rating: Akona-Roller-Backpack-Bag Great bag, Lots of room for all my gear 12/01/2008

Fin pockets, Large outside pockets, easy to move. Not exactly sure why they put a water bottle on the outside of the bag as I think Id rather have a bigger zippered pocket, but that just nit-picking. Room for my gear and my wifes wetsuit and snorkeling equipment. The fact that you can completely tuck the backpack straps away to prevent the baggage handlers from ripping them off is great. The bag is BIG and it is easy to go over the airlines weight limit if youre not a careful packer especially with cold weather gear. That not a fault of the the bag but of the the airlines. Still you need to be aware of the fact that you you may be hit with extra fees these days, especially with a big bag like this.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
399 out of 855 people found this review helpful.

Seacure Hi-Flow Custom Regulator Mouthpiece
Rating: Seacure-Hi-Flow-Custom-Regulator-Mouthpiece Best Mouth Piece Ive ever used 11/21/2008

I love Seacures. When I got my new ScubaPro, I was upset that I couldnt get my old Seacure to fit. Well the stiffness of the material necessitates the 3 different sizes. My Sherwood took a II and my ScubaPro needs a I. Oh well, If I switch back and forth, I wont need to change the mouth piece. Just be sure and READ the directions when you custom fit it. Biting too hard is about the only incurable sin.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
273 out of 588 people found this review helpful.

Akona Deluxe Regulator Bag
Rating: Akona-Deluxe-Regulator-Bag Nice bag 11/21/2008

I bought this for my spare regulator. I have the square style soft Akona bag as well and i actually lie it better as its document pouch is interior but that may be just because I got used to the square one . Nothing wrong with it, Its a good bag and the zippers are of high quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
377 out of 711 people found this review helpful.

Akona Deluxe Regulator Bag
Rating: Akona-Deluxe-Regulator-Bag Warm, Comfy, Vented 11/14/2008

This is a nice hood. It is almost a warm as a 7mm due to the Merino lining. It fits well and keeps water exchange at the neck seal to a minimum. Like any premium hood its vented

Was this review helpful? Yes No
292 out of 605 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba 2 Gauge Console with Max Depth Indicator
Rating: XS-Scuba-2-Gauge-Console-with-Max-Depth-Indicator Good inexpensive console 11/12/2008

If you need a basic depth and pressure console for a reasonable price this is it. The max depth indicator is the only frill but in my opinion very handy for a new diver w/o a computer to help him/her to fill in there log.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
435 out of 818 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax Octo Holder..
Rating: Scubamax-Octo-Holder.. You can do better 11/04/2008

I sent this back and bought a ScubaPro Octo-Holder

Was this review helpful? Yes No
373 out of 717 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax Octo Holder..
Rating: Scubamax-Octo-Holder.. Too expensive for want you get. 11/04/2008

I got it as a companion for my XS Scuba roller duffel. For the price the bag is a little to plain for my tastes.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
261 out of 570 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Travel Cover
Rating: XS-Scuba-Travel-Cover It works... 11/04/2008

It keeps the bag clean but it makes it harder to pick out at baggage claim.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
328 out of 634 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Mask Bag with Defog
Rating: XS-Scuba-Mask-Bag-with-Defog My favorite Mask Bag 11/04/2008

This is my 4th bag. (one for each mask It does everything that you want a soft bag to do. - It keeps your mask clean and safe at home in storage and in your travel bag/carry-on - It has room for a bottle of de-fog and your snorkel. - Its sturdy yet inexpensive. - It drains water well. Whats not to like

Was this review helpful? Yes No
355 out of 679 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Mask Bag with Defog
Rating: XS-Scuba-Mask-Bag-with-Defog Great little light for the price 11/03/2008

Nifty little LED light for only a few bucks. I replaced the halogen Akona that came with my Akona BC Accessories kit. It fits on the right shoulder retractor of my Sherwood BC. I did have to lubricate the O-Ring with a bit of silicone lubricant as the bezel was a bit stiff at first. All in all, an excellent light for daytime use or backup for night diving.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
268 out of 557 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Roller Duffel Bag
Rating: XS-Scuba-Roller-Duffel-Bag Its OK but... 11/03/2008

I bought this bag based on the glowing recommendations on this web site and my previous experience with XS Scuba products. While there really isnt anything wrong with the bag, there are a number of things that would have lead me to purchase another bag instead of this one. 1. The zippers are not very flexible and take a lot of effort to manipulate even after using zipper lubricant. 2. The back plate and the extension handle rails are visible thru the open duffel. The back plate is a little flimsy and its exposed to water from damp gear. 3. I had a hard time fitting in a 5mm wetsuit, BCD, mask, fins, etc for a temperate water dive. Outside fin pockets would have been nice. 4. I do like the wheels as they travel well even over slightly rough surfaces. The bag is OK and I dont want to convey any shoddy workmanship, but I did expect better from XS Scuba. Ill probably order a larger Akona bag before I travel by air. While the

Was this review helpful? Yes No
330 out of 691 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Roller Duffel Bag
Rating: XS-Scuba-Roller-Duffel-Bag Small and loud 10/17/2008

Works well and fastens to my BC inflator hose with a nylon tie. No complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes No
279 out of 565 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Safety Sausage (SMB)
Rating: XS-Scuba-Safety-Sausage--SMB Not the best or the worst 10/17/2008

I wish it were a little stiffer and had a pocket to stick a flashlight in to make it glow at night. A light reflecting strip would also be a nice touch. Still pretty good quality for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
301 out of 652 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Safety Sausage (SMB)
Rating: XS-Scuba-Safety-Sausage--SMB decent mouth piece 10/17/2008

Better than most. Not as good as my custom molded SeaCure but more comfortable than your usual generic $3 special.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
301 out of 576 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Lycra Dive Skin Jumpsuit
Rating: Henderson-Lycra-Dive-Skin-Jumpsuit Makes it easy to slip into my wetsuit while keeping off the sun 10/16/2008

This skin replaced an Akona skin. That skin was OK, but the Henderson skin is much slicker and helps me wiggle into the wetsuit. The front zipper is also much more convenient than the Akonas leashed back zipper. On a warm day with the wetsuit top pulled back, the wet Henderson skin allows you to cool off in even a slight breeze while keeping the sun off your skin.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
336 out of 651 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Lycra Dive Skin Jumpsuit
Rating: Henderson-Lycra-Dive-Skin-Jumpsuit Its a tag 10/12/2008

Its a tag. It was cheap and I needed one. It looks to be very rugged

Was this review helpful? Yes No
334 out of 630 people found this review helpful.

Seacure Hi-Flow Custom Regulator Mouthpiece
Rating: Seacure-Hi-Flow-Custom-Regulator-Mouthpiece This is a wonderful mouth piece...just read the directions!!! 10/12/2008

This is a custom mouth piece. Ive never used one that gave me less jaw fatigue. I feels like it was made for you because...it was. I wont go into it any more because what else can I say. The biggest piece of advice is to READ THE DIRECTIONS about customizing the mouth piece several times prior to actually doing it for the first time. I bit down too hard and needless to say I had to buy a 2nd Seacure. Any other mistake and you can reheat it and re-mold it but not that one.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
286 out of 613 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Lycra Dive Skin Jumpsuit
Rating: Henderson-Lycra-Dive-Skin-Jumpsuit Best Skin Ive used yet 10/06/2008

The real reason I use a skin is to help me slip into a wetsuit and to provide sunburn protection between dives. I used an Akona skin which was fine for sunscreen protection but it zips in back which means you need help to don and doff it. The nylon/lycra composition of the Henderson skin is much slicker than the Akona making it easier to wiggle into a wet or dry wetsuit. With the front zipper, you can peel the top of your wetsuit down and unzip the front of the skin. The wet skin retains water and cools you off better than bare skin if there is even a slight breeze. The only difference I can see between this skin and Hendersons more expensive skin is the decoration on the trim, but I may be mistaken. Any way I am sold on this skin which was cheaper than the Akona to boot.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
317 out of 644 people found this review helpful.

McNett Sea Gold Anti-Fog / Defog
Rating: McNett-Sea-Gold-Anti-Fog---Defog Works great,. Easy to keep in a BC pocket 09/30/2008

I got this free when I bought my XS Scuba mask bag. It works as well as any quality mask anti-fogger. Because its a gel and in a squeeze bottle I can keep it in my BC pocket for touch-ups if needed. Ive yet to find a McNett product that I didnt like.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
375 out of 791 people found this review helpful.

McNett Sea Gold Anti-Fog / Defog
Rating: McNett-Sea-Gold-Anti-Fog---Defog Works OK 09/30/2008

I got this free as a package. It works better than toothpaste and as well as any other quality mask scrub Ive ever used. Works well for cleaning slates which is what most people will use it for I suppose. I mean how many times do you need to scrub out your mask??

Was this review helpful? Yes No
305 out of 589 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Folding Wetsuit Hanger
Rating: XS-Scuba-Folding-Wetsuit-Hanger Great for travel 09/30/2008

This thing folds up into a small space yet its stury and has really wide support for your wetsuit

Was this review helpful? Yes No
301 out of 668 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba X5 Accessory Hanger
Rating: XS-Scuba-X5-Accessory-Hanger Great for drying your gear 09/30/2008

Sturdy, and lets you drip dry your fins, mask, snorkel, gloves and boots. I usually hang my hood on the mask hook if I wear one as the mask drys OK by itself. If you remove the mask/snorkel crosspiece you can stick the X5 in your duffel as its pretty tough.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
395 out of 782 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba X5 Accessory Hanger
Rating: XS-Scuba-X5-Accessory-Hanger Keeps my feet warm and toasty.. 09/29/2008

I has a set of Akonas that were OK, but decided to try the Pinnacle 5mm Merino lined boots. They are much warmer than the unlined Akona boots. They fit my wide feet very well and I really like the fin retention lug on the heel. The wool lining also seems to stink a little less when wet then my unlined boots. The uppers are reinforced with only a little exposed neoprene so they seem to hold up better to abuse. They run a bit small. I usually wear a Mens 9 and I had to return the 9s for a 10.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
290 out of 623 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba X5 Accessory Hanger
Rating: XS-Scuba-X5-Accessory-Hanger Works Fine 09/29/2008

This Zipper Lubricant works great. Its hard to get excited about zipper lube, but I use this on my wer suit zippers and it works like a charm. As with all zipper lubricants a little bit goes a long way.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
305 out of 599 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614