Call our certified SCUBA Instructors

1.800.34.SCUBA

8AM - 6PM PST

  

Scuba Gear Reviews by Robin Powell


Rating: Ankle weights stretched & fit just right 01/08/2009

I wasnt sure which size to order for my husband and myself to use with drysuits. I wanted them to be snug but not binding while being easy to put on and adjust upward so as not to interfere with the drysuit boot and my fins. These worked perfect! We ordered a regular size and a long size knowing that wed each have a choice and they both worked great for us. They werent constructed quite like the sets Id borrowed from my instructor because his had adjustable straps instead of being stretchy, plus I was initially concerned about the durability of the fabric. After having used them, I think these will work for us for many years to come and will fit a variety of ankle sizes and equipment configurations. If I was an instructor loaning out my equpiment frequently, I would probably opt for the sets with the heavier material though. They came in a handy storage bag which helps keep them together plus allows them to dry even in the bag. We ordered a yellow pair and a green pair and you cant tell much difference in the colors when wet.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
393 out of 798 people found this review helpful.


Rating: Mask was a good buy 12/30/2008

I was looking for an affordable mask to keep around for grandkids to learn to snorkle plus for the 15 year old to use to dive. Id purchased another mask on clearance and found it to be a little smaller than I expected based on description so when this mask came up with a clearance price and the description said that it fits almost all faces from 60-240 lbs, I couldnt resist buying it. It did fit her and didnt leak - was easy to adjust and worked well for us. Even though it says that it fits almost any face, I wont be surprised if she outgrows it in a few years - its not as large as either my husbands or my mask but it did the job and she liked the color. For the price we paid, its a great addition to our gear box.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
325 out of 623 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Dive-Knife Great little BC knife 12/30/2008

The holder and handle look just like the more expensive knife we bought. When this knife went on sale, we decided we couldnt resist buying it too. We havent used it in the water yet and hope to never have to - but we have already used it on land and it had cut whatever weve needed. Its compact and will easily zip-tie wherever I decide to put it on my BC. Great little knife with a great little price.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
319 out of 651 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Dive-Knife Tank carriers made the job easier! 12/30/2008

These inexpensive tank carriers made the task so much easier! At first we thought it needed to be tight on the tank but then figured out it didnt matter. Even the 11 year old and 15 year old thought they made it easier to carry those heavy tanks! They quickly learned that it was easiest if the carrier straps were put on so that the tank was evenly balanced. Might be easier to put them on if they were velcro but given the price, they were a perfect addition to our gear.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
384 out of 780 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Dive-Knife Mak was a great buy 12/30/2008

We recently got 2 grandkids certified (ages 11 & 15) and needed a spare kid-sized mask. This was a little smaller than I expected but did fit fit 11 year old and seems to be a nicely made mask and easy to adjust. Since it did fit, I couldnt beat it for the sale price I found on it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
230 out of 499 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Dive-Knife Regulator Bag holds 2 complete sets plus computers 12/30/2008

We really like this bag. It easily holds both of ur complete regulator sets plus it came with a divided padded sleeve for our dive computers. There are velcro holders in the corners to help secure each set plus has an outside pocket on the bag for small stuff. The shoulder strap is convenient too.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
260 out of 513 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba X5 Accessory Hanger
Rating: XS-Scuba-X5-Hanger Accessory gear hanger is handy 12/30/2008

This hanger is very handy for boots, gloves, hood, mask, fins & snorkel along with whatever other small pieces of gear I want to hang with the others. The only down-side is that its ackward to store with our other gear and Im not sure how well Ill like packing it in a suitcase - wish it folded like the other pieces in the set! I hope I dont lose the small piece that slides in to a slot for the snorkel or mask to hang on - not convenient to store it with that slid in to place. But I do love the functionality of it and did buy a 2nd set of hangers for my husbands gear.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
361 out of 773 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba BC Hanger
Rating: XS-Scuba-BC-Hanger Folding BC Hanger is great 12/30/2008

We liked this folding hanger so well that we ordered a 2nd set. With the upwards "tabs" at the ends, it keeps the BC on the hanger. It folds relatively compact for travel, which is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
260 out of 517 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Folding Wetsuit Hanger
Rating: XS-Scuba-Folding-Wetsuit-Hanger Folding Hanger is great 12/30/2008

This folding hanger is great. Its sturdy and folds relatively compact for travel. Liked it so well that I bought a second set of hangers for my husbands gear.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
241 out of 523 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Stainless Steel Safety Shears
Rating: Scuba-Stainless-Steel-Safety-Shears Shears are great safety item that Im comfortable carrying 11/18/2008

I havent had to use these shears in the water yet but theyve already been handy out of the water and they cut great! My husband carries a dive knife and I carry the shears. I feel very comfortable and confident having these as a safey item in case I ever need them in the water. At least I wont accidentally cut myself in a clumsy moment.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
361 out of 780 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Stainless Steel Safety Shears
Rating: Scuba-Stainless-Steel-Safety-Shears Great little attentinon-getter 11/18/2008

My husband could never hear tank-tappin for attention - he said all he hears are bubbles! I got this rattle stick hoping hed be able to hear it and he DOES! Plus its not hard for me to use it where as the tank banging was ackward for me whether with a bungee ball or other instrument. I love my little rattle stick!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
268 out of 598 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews