Scuba Gear Reviews by Marty Russell


Rating: Excellent 10/06/2008

Bag is very strong. Hols my 36lbs no problem at all. Couls even hold more. The wide handle makes it easy to carry comfortably. Water drains out the bottom drain holes, so I just leave the weights in the bag after a dive. Makes shore diving just a little easier.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
350 out of 752 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Titanium BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-Titanium-BC-Knife Nice and compact. 10/06/2008

Fits nice as a back-up on my BC. Just make sure its locked in the sheath well! The Scuba.com logos on the handle keep falling off, but no big deal. The blade is sharp, and titanium is always the way to go. Price is right to. Serves its purpose well as a back up knife. Ive not had to fend off any Great White sharks with it yet, but then again, it is only a tool

Was this review helpful? Yes No
418 out of 889 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax Knife Strap
Rating: Scubamax-Knife-Strap They work. 10/06/2008

I like velcro keepers better. But I had a some extra room in my save a dive kit. Im sure theyll be needed when I least expect it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
312 out of 627 people found this review helpful.

Mares Fin Strap
Rating: Mares-Fin-Strap Goes without saying. 10/06/2008

A necessity for any save a dive kit!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
323 out of 693 people found this review helpful.

Mares Fin Strap
Rating: Mares-Fin-Strap Insurance 10/06/2008

Looks good in my save a dive kit, Im sure Ill need it sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
292 out of 560 people found this review helpful.

Trident Dive Glo-Toob Light
Rating: Trident-Dive-Glo-Toob Serves its purpose 10/06/2008

I bought the red one, it is actually very bright and easy to see at night. Nice and small, easy to attach anywhere without it being in the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
285 out of 563 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Max-Force Retractor with Brass Swivel
Rating: Innovative-Max-Force-Retractor-with-Brass-Swivel Fantastic 10/06/2008

Best retractor Ive bought yet. It is not as big and cumbersome as some have stated. I use it to keep my computer tucked in nice and close on my BC. No more dragging on the rocks. The tension is a perfect balance, holding snug while out of water, yet very easy to draw out while underwater.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
333 out of 690 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Embroidered Nitrox Binder Log Book
Rating: Innovative-Embroidered-Nitrox-Binder-Log-Book Nice to be different 10/06/2008

This log book binder is really no different from most others, other than the Nitrox Diver logo on the front. It is nice to advertise the accomplishments of oneself for a change, and not for a company who chagred a price to display their logo. I love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
310 out of 637 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Shark Dive Flag Bumper Sticker
Rating: Innovative-Shark-Dive-Flag-Bumper-Sticker Sticky! 10/03/2008

Nice looking dive sticker, just the right size. My 9yr old son wanted it more than my car did though!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
382 out of 727 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Shark Dive Flag Bumper Sticker
Rating: Innovative-Shark-Dive-Flag-Bumper-Sticker High tech security for a low tech diver! 09/20/2008

Excellent computer for either advanced or still getting your toes wet divers. Ive only used my new AI on about 6 dives, but have been increasingly impressed from the first time I got it wet. It is very simple to use (after reading the manual)and gives you all the info you need to make a safe & fun dive. The screen is easy to read underwater, the backlight is also good. I really like the swivel ring on it, I attach mine to a retractor on my BC, keeping it close to reach, not dragging around on the rocks. The compass is at the perfect angle to read, without losing sight of the info panel. The quick release is a must have option. One quick spin and off you go to review the dive. The warning beeps are loud enough under water. The only data I wish it would save but doesnt, is the remaining air presssure after the dive. Also, it has a 25 dive log, not 250 as the description shows. Im taking it for Nitrox diving to Chuuk (Truk Lagoon) in three weeks and am glad its coming with me. Definitely worth the dough!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
484 out of 954 people found this review helpful.

Princeton Tec Shockwave L.E.D. Light
Rating: Princeton-Tec-Shockwave-L.E.D.-Light This little light of mine...... 08/01/2008

Very nice light for night diving. The first time I took it under in the dark, I was amazed how bright the LED lights are! Mine was brighter than my buddies way too expensive canister light! Illumination was bright, wide and the beam travelled far enough to see well ahead. Great for dark nooks and crannies. One suggestion would be to definitely use with a coil lanyard. The on/off switch could be better, but no big deal. The switch lock is nice to have. Overall, for the price......HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
371 out of 733 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Safety Sausage (SMB)
Rating: XS-Scuba-Safety-Sausage--SMB Not very tasty! 07/27/2008

This sausage tasted terrible! However it does fit nicely in a BC pocket, wrapped in its little compact bag. You dont even know its there, but its nice to have just in case! Good size and very bright. Worth the few bucks it is.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
495 out of 955 people found this review helpful.

Akona Deluxe Regulator Bag
Rating: Akona-Deluxe-Regulator-Bag Great accessory to have 07/27/2008

Great reg bag and protector. Reg, Octo, Computer all fit nice in this bag. Has elastic straps inside to keep all hoses in place. No worry about that expensive computer banging around in transit. Also this bag fits perfectly into the outside pocket of the Akona Carry-on Roller bag for airline travel. Dries quick after storing wet gear.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
375 out of 722 people found this review helpful.

Akona Deluxe Regulator Bag
Rating: Akona-Deluxe-Regulator-Bag Great back-up light 07/27/2008

Excellent little back up light. Attaches easy to wrist, BC, or sits nice in a BC pocket. Very durable. Great illumination for a small light.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
314 out of 624 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614

US and Canada 800.347.2822
International 001.949.221.9300