Scuba Gear Reviews by Tim Scott


Rating: Very Good Shorty 06/11/2012

Bought this shorty for my son for a trip to the Bahamas and the suit was QUALITY and performed as expected. He absolutely love the suit. Would recommend this suit for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
62 out of 124 people found this review helpful.


Rating: Excellent Wetsuit 05/28/2012

Although I have yet to dive this wetsuit, I have no reservations in believing the suit will perform as advertised as the quality of the suit is as expected with all Pinnacle products/suits. The new Tempo Merino Elastiprene Super-Strecth Jump Suit is second to none in all the 7mm suits I have researched and tried on and the quality of the neoprene in the suit is excellent and the suit fits perfect. Note: this suit tends to run small and while I usually wear a Large in other brands, I had to order an Extra Large to get a true fit. I would definitely recommend this suit and I will be ordering the suit for my son for an upcoming trip to Tiger Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
77 out of 152 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Shark Head Binder Log Book
Rating: Innovative-Shark-Head-Binder-Dive-Log-Book Very Cool Log Book 05/28/2012

Bought this log book for a friend as I have thoroughly enjoyed mine. The book is of exceptional quality and has held up to my heavy dive schedule. Art work is also very good quality. Would definitely recommend to any one who is looking for a good quality log book.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
79 out of 152 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Shark Head Binder Log Book
Rating: Innovative-Shark-Head-Binder-Dive-Log-Book Excellent Carry On Bag 05/16/2012

I originally bought the PInnacle Hybrid Roller Backpack for a Tiger Beach trip and my wife liked it so much that see had me buy here one. I have in the past seen some negative reviews but I can honestly say I dont have anything negative to say about the bag as it has held up through all my travels and the zippers are made really well. I would definitely recommend this bag as well as the Kangaroo pack that you can purchase to compliment the Hybrid.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
66 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Shark Head Binder Log Book
Rating: Innovative-Shark-Head-Binder-Dive-Log-Book Excellent Wetsuit 04/25/2012

Bought this wetsuit for my 12 year old girl for an upcoming dive trip to the Bahamas and I was extraordinarily the quality of a $30 wetsuit. Would highly recommend this suit for a growing kid!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
78 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Shark Head Binder Log Book
Rating: Innovative-Shark-Head-Binder-Dive-Log-Book Just What I was Looking For!! 03/20/2012

While I have not be able to get them wet as of yet, but the Mares Spring Straps fit perfectly on my Raptor Split Fins ( as they should being a Mares product). They are of excellent quality and not only feel far more comfortable but the fins are 100% more stable both vertically and horizontally when I move my feet/legs. Even without have gotten them wet, I have no reservation in recommending them to my friends and in fact I am ordering a pair for my son before we depart for the Bahamas. Thanks Scuba.com for yet another outstanding product!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
95 out of 183 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Trim Weight Tank Pouch
Rating: XS-Scuba-Trim-Diving-Weight-Tank-Pouch Exactly What I was Looking For - Trim Weight Pockets 03/19/2012

I was looking for a set of trim pockets to adjust and evenly distribute my weight and the XS Scuba Trim Weight pockets worked perfectly. I definitely recommend the Quick Attach feature as they are very easy to don and doff. Great Product and fast shipping! Thanks SC.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
108 out of 220 people found this review helpful.

Seacure Hi-Flow Custom Regulator Mouthpiece
Rating: Seacure-Hi-Flow-Custom-Regulator-Mouthpiece Mouth Piece 08/17/2011

purchased the seacure hi-flow mouth piece to put on a new sherwood sr1 and it works great and very comfortable once you get is molded to your mouth. when the direction says not to it in the boiling water, it means it as i ruined the first one i attempted to mold. i used the yellow retention piece that is shipped with it to be used during storage (and the directions also say to use it during the process of dipping the mouth piece in the boiling water). well, i did as the direction stated and when the mouth piece heat up the orfice expanded causing the mouth piece to fall into the water ruining it. fyi - dont follow the directions and use tongs or equivalent for the process.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
94 out of 191 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Finger Spool
Rating: XS-Scuba-Finger-Spool Great Spool 08/17/2011

Purchased this spool before a week long trip to a lake in south Texas as I want to practice with my son (Jr. Open Water) on deploying his surface signal device (surface marker buoy) underwater and the spool worked great and my son really like the high vis line. Bought the 100 line and glad I did for drift dives. Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
151 out of 308 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Retractable Compass
Rating: Sherwood-Retractable-Dive-Compass Compass 08/17/2011

Quality compass on a neat retractable that stores easy and out of the way on my BC. Would highly recommend! Scuab.com always hits it out of the park with their prices, speedy delivery & customer service! Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
139 out of 300 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Atom / Epic Computer Gauge Guard
Rating: Oceanic-Atom---Epic-Computer-Gauge-Guard Back Up for Save a Dive Kit 08/17/2011

This gauge is perfect addition to my Sherwood rig and is as high quality as all other Sherwood equipment I dive. Hope I never have to use it!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
94 out of 204 people found this review helpful.

ONeill 1mm Explore Kevlar Diving Gloves
Rating: ONeill-1mm-Explore-Kevlar-Diving-Gloves Excellent Glove 09/01/2009

Purchased these gloves before going on my dive trip to Roatan and I have used them evryday since getting here ( I am writing this from the resort lobby). They fit great and true to size, would recommend them for any warm water environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
251 out of 555 people found this review helpful.

Mares Fin Strap
Rating: Mares-Fin-Strap Excellent fin strap for an excellent fin 09/01/2009

Bought these straps for an extra set while on my dive trip to Roatan. Although I have not had to use them (thank goodness), they are of excellent quality just as th efins are.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
179 out of 412 people found this review helpful.

Mares Fin Strap
Rating: Mares-Fin-Strap Fantastic Hood 07/11/2008

i purchased the mares trilastic 6.5 mm hood to dive la jolla canyon (san diego, ca)and the hood worked great. i was surprised how easy the hood was to don & doff and how well it dove. we ped down the north rim to 92 feet and the temperature was 52 degrees and i was as warm at depth as i was at the surface. would recommend this hood to anyone, especially a 1st time hood user. thanks scuba.com!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
199 out of 449 people found this review helpful.

Mares Fin Strap
Rating: Mares-Fin-Strap Mares 1/2mm Thermo Guard 06/04/2008

This thermo/rash guard is an excellent compliment to my Mares 5/4/3 Trilastic wetsuit while diving in the 65 degree waters off San Diego. Very comfortable and well woth the investment. A+++++++

Was this review helpful? Yes No
200 out of 441 people found this review helpful.

Mares Fin Strap
Rating: Mares-Fin-Strap Mares 3mm Tropic Wetsuit 05/29/2008

The suit is extremely comfortable and well worth the money. Easy to don and doff.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
153 out of 308 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Cordura Weight Belt
Rating: XS-Scuba-Cordura-Diving-Weight-Belt XS Scuba Weight Belt 05/29/2008

This belt is extremely well made and the pockets are easily accessible. Excellent belt for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
235 out of 486 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614