Scuba Gear Reviews by Ken Reinstadler

Neosport by Henderson 5mm XSPAN Super Stretch Wetsuit
Rating: Neosport-by-Henderson-5mm-XSPAN-Super-Stretch-Wetsuit TUSA Liberator mask - silicone 08/11/2014

This is our fourth TUSA Liberator, and we love them. This black silicone mask conforms better to my face and seals even around my moustache! Great buy, great mask!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Neosport by Henderson 5mm XSPAN Super Stretch Wetsuit
Rating: Neosport-by-Henderson-5mm-XSPAN-Super-Stretch-Wetsuit NeoSport XPan 5mm suit 08/11/2014

For the money you cannot beat this suit! It is comfortable and stretchy to don. I used it in the waters off San Clemente Island in August, when the water was warmer. It kept me warm in thermocline to 63 degrees.... highly recommend this suit for any warmer waters.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 7/5mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Diving Hood
Rating: Ocean-Quest-7-5mm-Premium-Super-Stretch-Titanium-Diving-Hood Ocean Quest 7mm titanium hood 12/27/2012

I recently decided to go back to the COLD California coast, and as such purchased a wet suit through Scuba.com. Along with the suit, I needed a hood. This hood was very reasonable in price, and I find it kept me very warm in the 52 degree water off San Pedro. The only recommendation is to cut a small diameter hole in the back/top of it to allow air to vent. The hood does not come with one, lime many others. Otherwise, great buy.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
42 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 7/5mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Diving Hood
Rating: Ocean-Quest-7-5mm-Premium-Super-Stretch-Titanium-Diving-Hood Go Pro Hero 2 U/W housing 08/23/2012

I purchased the underwater housing for the Go Pro Hero 2 due to all the reviews indicating the regular housing (although it is waterproof) distorts the picture while taking underwater photos. I used the new housing in Bonaire. It functioned fabulously, and the video was great! I do recommend the purchase of an aftermarket red filter for use with the housing, to enhance the color... which really pops with the filter. This purchase is a must if you dive and want to use your Go Pro for HD filming.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
54 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 6oz Premium Lycra Short Sleeve Rash Guard
Rating: Ocean-Quest-6oz-Premium-Lycra-Short-Sleeve-Rash-Guard Great for warm water diving 09/03/2011

We purchased the Ocean Quest rash guard shirts for use in Bonaire. Our initial thoughts were to wear them to/from the dive sites and UNDER our dive skins for a little extra warmth. However, when we arrived the temp at 80 feet was 85-88 degrees! We ended up just wearing the rash shirts under our BCDs and they worked great! I do suggest you order a size above (maybe two sizes) if you do not like super skin tight fitting shirts. I normally wear a Lg. shirt, and I ended up getting a 2XL which fit snug but nice. Good product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
119 out of 242 people found this review helpful.

TUSA Liberator X-Ten Fins
Rating: TUSA-Liberator-X-Ten-Fins Better than newer model, more expensive fins 09/03/2011

I bought my wife a pair of new, more expensive TUSA fins for our trip to Bonaire. She owned a pair of TUSA Liberators for years, but the buckle assembly broke so I thought she would like this new model, and (improved) fins... not so. She felt they didnt propel her adequately in the pool, and she probably just could adjust to them... SO, I contacted Scuba.Com and they took the new ones back, and we bought a newer version of the old Liberators. She loves them! We just finished the Bonaire trip and she raved how good they were. Sometimes old school is just better!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
95 out of 187 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest 6oz Premium Lycra Short Sleeve Rash Guard
Rating: Ocean-Quest-6oz-Premium-Lycra-Short-Sleeve-Rash-Guard Extra protection in warm water 08/11/2011

This rash guard adds that little extra warmth under your dive skin when in warm water. I have purchased one for both my wife an. It helps holding off the chills, by adding a layer on your core. It is well constructed. We bought it for a summer trip to Bonaire.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
122 out of 246 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Lycra Diving Hood
Rating: Henderson-Lycra-Diving-Hood Great for snorkeling or to and from the dive site 06/15/2011

I have a condition shared by millions of American men... I am bald! I love to snorkel and making shore dives. This hood keeps the sun off my head, and protects me from hydroids in my dive skin. My wife recently asked for one too, and they will be invaluable in Bonaire.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
131 out of 269 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Lycra Diving Hood
Rating: Henderson-Lycra-Diving-Hood Hard sole boots 06/15/2011

I purchased these boots because I have plantar faciaties, which causes heel pain. My wife and I are going to Bonaire in August, and I wanted to support my feet better considering most of the diving is across coral from the shore. They are comfortable,and will help my condition.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
108 out of 218 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews