Call our certified SCUBA Instructors

1.800.34.SCUBA

8AM - 6PM PST

  

Scuba Gear Reviews by Richard T.

Oceanic Veo 100 NX Air/Nitrox Computer
Rating: Oceanic-Veo-100-NX-Air-Nitrox-Computer A good unit! 07/01/2008

Easy to read. Easy to figure out. The manual is excellent. It is a cinch to set up. Could use a backlight and audible alarms. It would not add much to the cost and would take the computer to the next level. I am using it as a backup unit in case my Sherwood Wisdom air integrated Primary computer goes down.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
225 out of 471 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Remora Titanium Knife
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Remora-Titanium-Knife Excellent Quality. 07/01/2008

You will love this knife. The edge is sharp and it is very lightweight. I also have the Remora knife in Stainless Steel, and I bet that the titanium one weighs half as much. Looks good too. Sheath is very secure and it has numerous mounting options.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
210 out of 428 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Remora Hydralloy Knife
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Remora-Hydralloy-Knife Better Than I Expected 07/01/2008

This is a great little knife. It fits well in the hand and it is very sharp. I like the sheath and especially the hose mount. I have it attached to my high pressure hose, where it is easily acccessible.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
182 out of 369 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio-Tank Lock 2
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Tank-Lock Superb Product 07/01/2008

This is the second Bio Lock I have purchased. I have one for each of my B.C.s It is so easy to set up and tighten. Never worry about strap slippage as the spring keeps the tension on at all times. I love the softness of the strap as well. It allows for a much flatter package in you suitcase. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
260 out of 511 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio-Tank Lock 2
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Tank-Lock An Incredible Value 05/23/2008

This B.C. amazes me with its quality. The fabric is very sturdy and it has large, stainless D-Rings. The pockets are large and easily accessible. It has 2 pull dumps and the inflator works very well. Sure it lacks weight integration capabilities, but it makes up for it in that it is compact, lightweight and packs small. Hard to imagine a petter product for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
158 out of 323 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio-Tank Lock 2
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Tank-Lock Wow! It is loud! 04/10/2008

Works great both in the surface and under water. It is super loud and impossible to miss. The unit is large and bulky however and it does make the low pressure inflator quite a handfull. Also the button is recessed and difficult to operate with thick mitts or gloves. If your B.C. is an airtrim model, you will have to disconnect it from the B.C. at the surface in order to hold it up out of the water for surface signalling. The other option would be to run it off a dedicated hose. This would add a hose but reduce the clutter at the low pressure inflator.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
337 out of 681 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio-Tank Lock 2
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Tank-Lock A nice reg. 04/10/2008

I love the proton metal second stage. It is small, very lightweight and it breathes comfortably and easily. I bought this as a spare reg. set, but I should have spent the extra money and bought a Mares reg. with the v32 or mr42 first stage. I dont like regs in which the hoses mount radially, pointing in all directions. I much prefer the configuration that directs the hoses in a specific direction. 3 on each side. That design allows a much more streamlined hose configuration. If that is not important to you, then you cant beat this reg. for the buck!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
161 out of 328 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio-Tank Lock 2
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Tank-Lock A great reg., but the hose.... 04/10/2008

Truly a great reg. It breates as smoothly and easily as my proton primary first stage. It comes with a very nice octo holder as well. The hose on the other hand seems overly stiff and the coil is "set" into the hose. This imparts a twist to the hose which is annoying as the routing is affected. The hose wants to twist the regulator away from the B.C. and flop it behind the tank. This may make it difficult to retreive if the octo pops out of the holder. It needs a more flexible hose that lies flat.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
203 out of 428 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Tank Mesh Protector
Rating: Sherwood-Scuba-Tank-Mesh-Protector Sherwood tank protector. 06/17/2007

Plastic is hard and very slippery. It does not grip onto the tank at all. I was hoping that you could keep it on the tank and buckle it onto the B.C. No way! The tank would just slip right out. Its only use would be to stop your tank from transportation damage.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
322 out of 716 people found this review helpful.

Mares X-Vision Mask
Rating: Mares-X-Vision-Mask Mares X-Vision Mask. 06/17/2007

I bought this mask recently as a spare mask. I am fairly impressed. Nice low profile and a super wide field of vision. I like the adjustable buckles. Very easy to adjust and loosen. However the buckles are too narow to accept a standard mask strap or neoprene strap. If the strap were to break you would need a Mares strap or you would be out of luck. The silicone is not as soft as my Akona mask and it does not conform as well to facial creases etc. Overall a quality product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
251 out of 489 people found this review helpful.

Mares X-Vision Mask
Rating: Mares-X-Vision-Mask Mares Avanti Quatro Fins 06/17/2007

This is my second pair of Quatro fins. I love them! The buckles are very convenient and you never have to readjust them once set. Just latch them and you are done. The quality is second to none. Its hard to imagine a better product.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
336 out of 715 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews