Scuba Gear Reviews by Geoffrey Rand

Underwater Kinetics Wetsuit Hanger
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Wetsuit-Hanger Underwater Kinetics Wetsuit Hanger 3/8/2009

A very sturdy hanger.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
203 out of 438 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Beefy Polyolefin Hot Dive Socks
Rating: XS-Scuba-Beefy-Polyolefin-Hot-Dive-Socks XS Scuba Lycra Socks 3/8/2009

For some reason my boots rub my heels and ankles raw after about 4 days of diving. With these socks, I no longer have any irritation and as an added bonus, the wetsuit and boots are easier to slide on with the socks. Just be careful walking around with them, they are very slippery and offer no traction of their own.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
216 out of 491 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Beefy Polyolefin Hot Dive Socks
Rating: XS-Scuba-Beefy-Polyolefin-Hot-Dive-Socks Bare 5/4mm Velocity Progressive Superstretch Jumpsuit 3/8/2009

Another great Bare product. Nice amount of stretch and the ankle zippers really are a great feature and help with donning/doffing the suit.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
222 out of 454 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Beefy Polyolefin Hot Dive Socks
Rating: XS-Scuba-Beefy-Polyolefin-Hot-Dive-Socks Freestyle Cortez Watch 4/10/2008

My second Freestyle purchase. Nice sturdy watch with easy to read display and simple to control buttons. Plus, its no big loss if it comes off during a dive due to the cheap price.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
250 out of 516 people found this review helpful.

IST Slate with Clip
Rating: IST-Slate-with-Clip IST Slate With Clip 4/10/2008

Simple, no frills slate. Its a little wide for my tastes. Ill probably trim it down some. It works.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
389 out of 742 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio-Tank Lock 2
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Tank-Lock Apollo Bio Tank Lock 4/10/2008

I had a tank start slipping during a previous dive. It will never happen again with this tank strap. It is an extremely secure fitting strap that gives you reassurance your tank is fasten properly. It took a little bit of time setting it up at first, but now that its on, its a snap. Just a few twists, and Im all set. Very cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
357 out of 728 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio-Tank Lock 2
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Tank-Lock Pelican 1500 Case 4/10/2008

Nice sturdy case, like all Pelican cases are. Easily fits my Sealife DC600 camera, strobe, and battery chargers and batteries for the camera and the strobe plus more.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
262 out of 497 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio-Tank Lock 2
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Tank-Lock Sealife DC600 7/4/2007

Great camera. Exactly what I was looking for. Simple to use and takes great pictures.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
316 out of 609 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Beach Towel
Rating: Scuba-Beach-Towel SCUBA BEACH TOWEL 5/21/2007

Nice-sized beach towel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
397 out of 814 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Beach Towel
Rating: Scuba-Beach-Towel Ocean Quest LOW PRESSURE STANDARD POWER INFLATOR HOSE 5/21/2007

Nothing special here, but no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
322 out of 637 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Beach Towel
Rating: Scuba-Beach-Towel INNOVATIVE GATE SWIVEL HOSE HOLDER 5/21/2007

Quality piece of equipment. Works great.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
325 out of 621 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Beach Towel
Rating: Scuba-Beach-Towel INTERNATIONAL OZONE LANDS END OIL 5/21/2007

This stuff is the only thing I could find that works for sea lice itching. I was miserable on our trip until I found this stuff. Buy several as youll only get a few days application, especially if using over a large area like your back, like I needed to.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
462 out of 978 people found this review helpful.

Trident Zipper Wax
Rating: Trident-Zipper-Wax TRIDENT ZIPPER WAX 5/21/2007

Pretty standard as far as zipper wax goes. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
326 out of 715 people found this review helpful.

Trident Zipper Wax
Rating: Trident-Zipper-Wax DEEP OUTDOORS LDS-SINGLE ACCESSORY CUFF 5/21/2007

What a great price for an awesome piece of gear. I was able to attach it to the side of my BC using some cable ties. It holds my DAN SMB perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
356 out of 687 people found this review helpful.

Trident Zipper Wax
Rating: Trident-Zipper-Wax SCUBA TITANIUM 3 BC KNIFE 5/21/2007

Nice compact knife. It might be too small for those with large hands.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
333 out of 642 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Stainless Steel Safety Shears
Rating: Scuba-Stainless-Steel-Safety-Shears SCUBA STAINLESS STEEL UNDERWATER SAFETY SHEARS 5/21/2007

These are great. The sheath is nice too. I mounted mine upside down on the right side of my BC with some straps I made. The logos come off easy with a knife if youre not all about advertising.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
455 out of 871 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Silicone Grease
Rating: Innovative-Silicone-Grease INNOVATIVE SILICONE GREASE 5/21/2007

Secure container and just enough grease for my frequency of use.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
329 out of 682 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Silicone Regulator Mouthpiece
Rating: Innovative-Silicone-Regulator-Mouthpiece INNOVATIVE SILICONE MOUTHPIECE 5/21/2007

Standard replacement mouthpiece. Works as advertised.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
320 out of 672 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Silicone Regulator Mouthpiece
Rating: Innovative-Silicone-Regulator-Mouthpiece IST DIVERS TOOL KIT 5/21/2007

Nice tool kit. Has just about everything you would need for common, basic repairs and maintenance.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
341 out of 660 people found this review helpful.

Divegear Mens Polyolefin Short
Rating: Divegear-Mens-Polyolefin-Short DIVEGEAR MENS POLYOLEFIN DIVE SHORT 5/21/2007

I was looking for something that would fit well for wear under a wetsuit. These look like they will work for that purpose. One improvement I would suggest is the addition of a bit more of a waistband. Its pretty much just the drawstring at the top with no elastic. I think it would be more comfortable with some elastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
561 out of 1147 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Viton O-Ring Kit
Rating: Innovative-Viton-O-Ring-Kits INNOVATIVE VITON O-RING KITS 5/21/2007

Was exactly what was advertised.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
383 out of 765 people found this review helpful.

H2O 150 Foot Finger Spool
Rating: H2O-150-Foot-Finger-Spool H2O 150 FOOT FINGER SPOOL 5/21/2007

Nice spool. It is sturdy and compact, especially for holding 150 ft of string.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
418 out of 830 people found this review helpful.

Deep See 2mm Barnacle Diving Gloves
Rating: Deep-See-2mm-Barnacle-Diving-Gloves DEEP SEE 2MM BARNACLE GLOVES 5/21/2007

Nice gloves. They appear to offer decent protection while still allowing sensitivity to manipulate small buttons, etc. Just a note, I ordered two sets, one in small and one in extra small, both in the same color, black. The extra small ones had some blue on them, the small ones were black with grey and white. Im not sure if that is how they are or a mistake.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
519 out of 1081 people found this review helpful.

Akona Deluxe Mesh Backpack Bag
Rating: Akona-Deluxe-Mesh-Backpack-Bag AKONA DELUXE MESH BACKPACK 3/11/2007

Extremely well built backpack. Cinch cord, grommets, zippers, handles, straps, and mesh all seem overbuilt and look like theyll last as long as the gear that you haul in it. The outside pocket is large enough to hold a reg, however, I use mine to hold my spare parts kit along with sun block, hat, sunglasses, etc. Theres a lot of room in there. The water resistant inside pocket runs the length of the bag and will hold a towel or similar sized items. The bag will easily hold two sets of personal gear (mask, snorkel, fins) with room to spare, or can fit one complete set of diving gear. Much better quality and much cheaper price than a similar mesh backpack sold at my local dive shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
389 out of 733 people found this review helpful.

Akona Deluxe Mesh Backpack Bag
Rating: Akona-Deluxe-Mesh-Backpack-Bag Scuba.com REGULATOR BAG 3/11/2007

Great bag shape and size and decent padding. The zipper is also sturdy. It also has on outside pocket that you could use for manuals or other thin items. Overall, great reg bag at a great price.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
295 out of 619 people found this review helpful.

Trident Marking Pen
Rating: Trident-Marking-Pen TRIDENT MARKING PEN Silver 3/11/2007

I purchased the silver colored pen. It works well on neoprene and nylon, however the markings I put on my fins rubbed off after 3 pool sessions. I have heard keeping plastic items marked requires periodic reapplication, so I am unsure if it is the fault of this product or just a fact that plastic is difficult to keep labeled.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
408 out of 821 people found this review helpful.

Trident Marking Pen
Rating: Trident-Marking-Pen TUSA IMPREX TRI-EX FINS 3/11/2007

Very comfortable, flexible foot pocket. The curved form of the fins generate a great amount of power. The quick disconnect strap is wide and durable. Very nice fin.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
439 out of 853 people found this review helpful.

Trident Marking Pen
Rating: Trident-Marking-Pen TUSA HYPERDRY EVOLUTION III SEMI-DRY SNORKEL 3/11/2007

Excellent snorkel. Extremely easy to clear and quick disconnect allows freedom to swivel, yet is easy to detach and re-attach. The flexible hose is the perfect length and is comfortable to bend to reach your mouth but stays out of the way when youre not using it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
374 out of 707 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews

 



  • Choose
    Currency:

Product Information Questions? Contact our certified instructors
E-mail our instructors at info@scuba.com

Corporate Office: Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614

Privacy Policy
Scuba diving portal for scuba gear
Scuba requires professional scuba diving training and certification
Prices subject to change.
Copyright 2000-2014