Scuba Gear Reviews by fun ng


Rating: Makes for a good backup 05/28/2007

Price was right. Lost mine during a tow-in. Never liked my old retainer, since it didnt swivel. Snorkel always in the way. Hopefully, the built in swivel would help.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
165 out of 327 people found this review helpful.


Rating: Compact and versatile 05/28/2007

Works well. Only got to use it in my pre-trip eqpt check pool dive (gave it up on the boat when my dive buddy found that her octo retainer was missing after regs were serviced).

Was this review helpful? Yes No
196 out of 396 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Standard Gripper Retractor with Stainless Steel Carabiner
Rating: Innovative-Standard-Gripper-Retractor-with-Stainless-Steel-Carabiner Seems robust 05/28/2007

Appears beefy, a little big in packaging. No ratchet, though, so it wouldnt be useful for camera or light. Looks as if the phillips heads of the casing screws were strip on assembly. Got it after a trip, so wont know the full story until I get to use it diving.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
290 out of 536 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Standard Gripper Retractor with Stainless Steel Carabiner
Rating: Innovative-Standard-Gripper-Retractor-with-Stainless-Steel-Carabiner Utilitarian, a must have. 04/15/2007

3 different hose clip sizes, swivel, simple. . . what more can one say? Yeah, need more of them on your BC. I "loan" mine to a dive buddy who lost her octo holder when it was replaced. Found out too late at our first dive of a liveaboard. So, being a good buddy, gave/loan her mine. Now I need more!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
200 out of 394 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Standard Gripper Retractor with Stainless Steel Carabiner
Rating: Innovative-Standard-Gripper-Retractor-with-Stainless-Steel-Carabiner What is it? 04/15/2007

Its a pouch, its a bag? Nice little satchel to augment the little pockets in your BC. But alas, where are the instructions? Lots of little straps and unusual buckles that leave you scratching your head what its for. . . Still scratching.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
214 out of 435 people found this review helpful.

Trident L.E.D. Light Stick
Rating: Trident-L.E.D.-Light-Stick This little light of mine. . . 04/15/2007

Nice tank light. Pros: Small, though not too bright. The orange color sets it apart from the rest of the red, green, blue and whites out there. Cons: Only one so far, it doesnt float so it wont float above your reg. for better visibility.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
229 out of 456 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax 5-Page Wrist Dive Slate
Rating: Scubamax-5-Page-Wrist-Dive-Slate Nice idea . . . poor execution. 04/15/2007

Excited to show it off to my dive buddies whos forever immortalized with a picture of his dive slate floating in the deep, unbeknownst to him. Cons: 1) For large forearms, not designed to be worn before strapping on the BC, unless you have detachable buckles on your shoulder harness. 2) Hard to write on a curved surface. Itd almost be better if it was flat with concave feet to fit your forearm. 3) Poor retention strap: The elastic velcro strap is way too flimsy to hold fast to your arm. The smooth back allows it to spin around your arm easily. I had to glue a thin foam pad to the back to help it stay in place. Now I still need to beef up the strap. 4) Weak o-rings: The pages keep flipping open when you move your arm in water, or when trying to don your BC with it strapped on. All in all, has promise, but needs a lot of customization.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
425 out of 842 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax 5-Page Wrist Dive Slate
Rating: Scubamax-5-Page-Wrist-Dive-Slate What is it? 04/15/2007

Its a pouch, its a bag? Nice little satchel to augment the little pockets in your BC. But alas, where are the instructions? Lots of little straps and unusual buckles that leave you scratching your head what its for. . . Still scratching.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
217 out of 437 people found this review helpful.

Trident L.E.D. Light Stick
Rating: Trident-L.E.D.-Light-Stick This little light of mine. . . 04/15/2007

Nice tank light. Pros: Small, though not too bright. The orange color sets it apart from the rest of the red, green, blue and whites out there. Cons: Only one so far, it doesnt float so it wont float above your reg. for better visibility.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
245 out of 480 people found this review helpful.

Trident L.E.D. Light Stick
Rating: Trident-L.E.D.-Light-Stick Awesome price for a childs shortie wetsuit! 12/07/2006

Kids specialty outdoor gear is usually pretty expensive, and not many choices in sizes either. Hard to imagine them growing out of them in a year or so. My niece couldnt wait to get into them for her swimming lessons. All summer long shes been shivering while her older brother races around in his suit in the pool. Now shell be able to stay in the water just as long!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
344 out of 732 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614