Scuba Gear Reviews by Ron Cooley


Rating: Great Suit For Cool but not cold water 04/10/2008

This is a very good wetsuit — and a spectacular suit for the money. Its stretchy enough to fit for quite a while as kids grow. My daughter likes it & I recommend it wholeheartedly.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
467 out of 984 people found this review helpful.

H2O Alpha 2 Mask
Rating: H2O-Alpha-2-Mask OK Mask for a Fair Price 07/26/2007

The H2O Alpha 2 Purge Mask is an OK mask for a fair price. It is not a great mask. Its perfect for casual snorkelers. Its not as good as I wanted for scuba diving. The purge works OK, but its not protected as the better purge masks are and Im always needing to purge it. For some reason it doesnt seal as well as my other masks. Its now my back-up mask when I dive. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
456 out of 920 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Mask Strap Wrapper
Rating: Scuba-Mask-Strap-Wrapper Stop fighting with mask straps & stop letting your mask pull your hair! 07/25/2007

The Scuba. Strap Wrapper is a neoprene cover for your mask straps that keeps the straps from pulling your hair (important for my wife & daughter) and it makes my mask easier to spot among other divers gear (important for me). They are well worth the cost. Get one here or get one elsewhere but get one.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
472 out of 932 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio Pro Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Pro-Adjustable-Strap-Fins The ultimate fin for beginner & expert alike! 07/25/2007

Apollo Bio Pro Adjustable Strap Fins are the ultimate fin for beginner divers because they are easier on your legs than any other fin, and they are the ultimate for the seasoned diver because they have the best performance of any fin ever produced. Their efficience will save you air (important for air-hogs like me) and it will move you faster through the water when moving is important — like when you need to overcome a strong current. They will fool you though, because they are easier on your legs it APPEARS they arent doing much — unless you look over at other divers who cant keep up! Ive had several other sets of fins & tried everything on the market. There is nothing else comparable. Find the money & buy a pair!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
426 out of 843 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics Blue Tang Titanium Knife
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-Blue-Tang-Titanium-Knife The Best Knife Available!! 07/25/2007

The Underwater Kinetics Blue Tang Titanium Dive Knife is what they claim — and then some! Its the best dive knife available, comfortable with or without gloves, well balanced, secure in the sheath but easily removed when you want it out, absolutely corrosion proof, tougher than steel, light, and even good looking. Get the blunt tip unless you need a sharp point as its better to pry with. Get the sharp point if youll be spear-fishing. Dont handle one unless you are looking to buy because once you do it will be hard to be satisfied with anything less.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
320 out of 624 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Supertilt 2 Compass Module
Rating: Sherwood-Supertilt-2-Dive-Compass-Module Great Compass! Super easy to read! 07/25/2007

The Aeris XR Compass Clip Mount Boot with the Sherwood SUPERTILT 2 COMPASS MODULE mounted on the XS Scuba XSCERRORY MINI RETRACTOR CLIP gave me the perfect compass set-up. My compass was out of the way clipped on my BC until I needed it, then it was in my hand and ready to use. PLUS, this set-up let me swim with my arms in a natural position — not the arm bent at right angle position necessary when using a wrist compass. I loved it, my friends loved it, and so did the SOB who stole it. Ill replace it with the same set-up, even though my Suunto D9 has a built-in electronic compass.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
554 out of 1138 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Swiv Compass Clip Mount Boot
Rating: Oceanic-Swiv-Compass-Clip-Mount-Boot The ONLY way to carry a compass! 07/25/2007

The Aeris XR Compass Clip Mount Boot with the Sherwood SUPERTILT 2 COMPASS MODULE mounted on the XS Scuba XSCERRORY MINI RETRACTOR CLIP gave me the perfect compass set-up. My compass was out of the way clipped on my BC until I needed it, then it was in my hand and ready to use. PLUS, this set-up let me swim with my arms in a natural position — not the arm bent at right angle position necessary when using a wrist compass. I loved it, my friends loved it, and so did the SOB who stole it. Ill replace it with the same set-up, even though my Suunto D9 has a built-in electronic compass.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
420 out of 777 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Xscerrory Mini Retractor Clip
Rating: XS-Scuba-Xscerrory-Mini-Retractor-Clip Wonderful Retractor for Dive Compass 10/09/2006

The XS SCUBA XSCERRORY MINI RETRACTOR CLIP works like a dream. I have my compass on it and several admiring divers have asked for make & model so they could get exactly what I have.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
397 out of 803 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614