Scuba Gear Reviews by Gayle Waldenmaier

Trident Heavy Mesh Duffel Bag
Rating: Trident-Heavy-Mesh-Duffel-Bag Does the job 12/11/2008

Nothing special to this bag, great for rinsing gear post-dive. Appears well constructed.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
256 out of 516 people found this review helpful.

Akona Deluxe Regulator Bag
Rating: Akona-Deluxe-Regulator-Bag Does the job 12/11/2008

This is a good reg bag for the price. Has straps inside to hold things in place. Works well inside a suitcase, but I wouldnt use it alone for travel as there is little padding. Great for storage between dives though. Was able to put my gloves, computer, swimsuit, booties in it while traveling, which helped conserve space.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
317 out of 587 people found this review helpful.

Akona Deluxe Regulator Bag
Rating: Akona-Deluxe-Regulator-Bag Nice material but poor vent 12/11/2008

I love the material, very comfortable... only downfall is the hood doesnt vent well, had to poke additional hole in the top of it. Runs true to size.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
152 out of 309 people found this review helpful.

Akona Deluxe Regulator Bag
Rating: Akona-Deluxe-Regulator-Bag Better than standard neoprene 12/04/2008

Bought this specifically for a liveaboard in the Galapagos. Wore it a few times before the trip but as the other reviews mention, it does take about 6 dives to break in. At first struggled to get it on... but found that it slides on almost instantly if you use a little water on your legs and arms. After the first day I had to wait for the others to wiggle and jump around getting into their standard neoprene suits, while mine slipped right on. Kept me warm and with little water getting in. Also got a lot of compliments on it. Only negatives... would love zippers for the wrists (I agree the wrist openings are on the small side, so likely not a good choice for a female with larger hands but otherwise sizing seems accurate) and the little light grey dots that help keep your gear from sliding seem to rub off easily. Would not pay full price, but got it on sale and was well worth it. Think it will hold up better over the long haul than standard neoprene.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
189 out of 390 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba 5/3mm Pyrostretch Diving Hood
Rating: XS-Scuba-5-3mm-Pyrostretch-Diving-Hood Probably a nice hood 11/11/2008

I needed to return this unfortunately. It was easy to don, and I liked the material. But the bib fit really weird and there was no way it was going to fit well under my wet suit. I exchanged it for a different brand that had a more flexible bib.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
264 out of 494 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba 5/3mm Pyrostretch Diving Hood
Rating: XS-Scuba-5-3mm-Pyrostretch-Diving-Hood Very feminine 11/11/2008

Love the color, looks good on. I use it as a base layer for additional warmth under my wetsuits when needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
154 out of 306 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba 5/3mm Pyrostretch Diving Hood
Rating: XS-Scuba-5-3mm-Pyrostretch-Diving-Hood Great gloves 11/11/2008

love these gloves! the length is nice so you dont really let any water in the sleeves of your wetsuit they are flexible and makes it easy to move your hands and fingers and provide a good grip. one of my best scuba purchases in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
180 out of 371 people found this review helpful.

H2O Alpha 2 Mask
Rating: H2O-Alpha-2-Mask Great mask! 10/28/2006

I bought this mask because I have a smaller face and have a hard time finding a good, comfortable fit. Used it for the first time last weekend - very comfortable, great fit, and virtually an unobstructed view. Easy to clear without using the purge valve, so unless you are addicted to your purge you probably dont need to spend the extra money for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
427 out of 856 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ultra Dry Snorkel
Rating: Oceanic-Ultra-Dry-Snorkel Definitely Dry! 10/28/2006

Also has a very comfortable mouthpiece. Used it for the first time last weekend and liked that I could resurface in the waves and not have to worry about water getting down the snorkel (my buddy was jealous - I think hes planning to buy one now!).

Was this review helpful? Yes No
355 out of 702 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614