Scuba Gear Reviews by Ken Bettis


Rating: Kept me warm 03/06/2007

It kept me warm on my last dive at 51 degrees. To get this heater to work, you have to boil the heater element to get it to a fluid state. This is the recommended state for storage. Whe you are ready to use it, you press a button on the element and the fuild in the heater starts to crystalize. It is during this phase that the warmth occurs. The only issue I have is that you have to boil the heater element to return it to a fluid state. That is difficult to do on a dive trip if you do not have access to a pot of water and a stove in the hotel or at the dive site. As such, it is good for one shot for your trip. You could have a small camp stove and a pot of water to solve this, but who has room for that with all of our dive gear.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
113 out of 239 people found this review helpful.

Submersible Systems Mini Pressure Gauge For Spare Air
Rating: Submersible-Systems-Mini-Pressure-Gauge-For-Spare-Air Best money spent 03/06/2007

With this mini gauge, you no longer have just a go/no go indication. Spend the money as this is well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
232 out of 475 people found this review helpful.

Submersible Systems Spare Air Travel Pack
Rating: Submersible-Systems-Spare-Air-Travel-Pack Must have this 03/05/2007

This is a must have if you plan on traveling by air anywhere with the spare air. I am not sure about the accessory pack that came with it. Its a bit cheezy for my taste.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
180 out of 363 people found this review helpful.

Submersible Systems Spare Air Pack
Rating: Submersible-Systems-Spare-Air-Pack Glad I purchased it. 03/05/2007

I get alot of kidding from my dive buddies about my spare air. However, I love the small size, ease of filling, and that I can remove the regulator for air transport. They can kid all they want, I feel safer with it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
390 out of 781 people found this review helpful.

Submersible Systems Spare Air Pack
Rating: Submersible-Systems-Spare-Air-Pack Room for improvement 03/05/2007

When I received the line cutter, I was impressed with the design and its light weight. However, I wished that the cutting surface as sharpened from the vendor was sharper. I sharpened mine.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
191 out of 387 people found this review helpful.

Scuba 2.4lbs Divers Duffel Bag
Rating: Scuba-2.4lbs-Divers-Duffel-Bag Holds it all 10/12/2006

It is very large and so far, hold a BC, wetsuit, and most accessories. Go for it and buy it now. You will not be sorry......

Was this review helpful? Yes No
219 out of 436 people found this review helpful.

Scuba 2.4lbs Divers Duffel Bag
Rating: Scuba-2.4lbs-Divers-Duffel-Bag Great Camera for the price 10/12/2006

I love the camera, both on dry land and below the water. It can be used both places with ease.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
150 out of 299 people found this review helpful.

Scuba 2.4lbs Divers Duffel Bag
Rating: Scuba-2.4lbs-Divers-Duffel-Bag Lights up the darkness 10/12/2006

I dove with a friend that had a different light. The difference between her 4 cell light and my 8 cell light was like night a day. I was able to illuminate the bottom 20 feet down. I love the light.... The backup light is small and easy to pack in the BC when not in use.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
215 out of 452 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews