Call our certified SCUBA Instructors

1.800.34.SCUBA

8AM - 6PM PST

  

Scuba Gear Reviews by Gary Sanders

Hollis F1 创Bat Fin创 Adjustable Spring Strap Fins
Rating: Hollis-F1-Bat-Fin-Adjustable-Spring-Strap-Fins Outstanding power and control, great spring strap 9/10/2012

Though I dive with multiple tanks and in a dry suit in California waters, I have been using Scubapro Twin Jet split fins for years as they are comfortable and gave fine control. But swimming upstream in a current seemed to need more power. I tried recent Atomic fins but found them to be too stiff and the spring strap buckles opened twice in kelp forests when kelp wrapped around the fasteners. This happened on two different pairs. When I saw these F1 bat fins, I tried them as they are more like traditional broader paddle fins. Result: While stiffer, they are easy to get used to and do indeed provide more power and quite good control for finning in reverse or rotating or station keeping or frog kicking. And the spring straps with the large loops as a handle make very easy donning and doffing. These look like excellent heavy duty fins. Yellow fin tips make it easier to be tracked by dive buddies in poor viz.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
46 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

Hollis F1 创Bat Fin创 Adjustable Spring Strap Fins
Rating: Hollis-F1-Bat-Fin-Adjustable-Spring-Strap-Fins Excellent mask, with purge and corrective lens capability 11/22/2011

Great mask. Sturdy. Corrective lenses are easily added by ordering them in .5 diopter increments and having them installed before delivery. For most of us underwater, these suffice rather than having custom lenses made.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
87 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

Hollis F1 创Bat Fin创 Adjustable Spring Strap Fins
Rating: Hollis-F1-Bat-Fin-Adjustable-Spring-Strap-Fins This is my favorite light 6/7/2009

Small, compact, fits on my gloved hand with the supplied strap serving like a small Goodman handle, and bright. Brighter than any of the secondary lights I have and competes with the big lights so well that I leave those topside unless I know I need the light all the time. This new model is brighter than the original OMS model so I now have that one as backup.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
195 out of 390 people found this review helpful.

H2O Alpha 2 Mask
Rating: H2O-Alpha-2-Mask Great mask, great corrective lenses, great service 2/16/2009

I am extremely nearsighted. I need correction close to the maximum -8 diopters that H2O offers. I have used one of these masks for several years and find it excellent. When my eyesight changed recently, O rdered a second mask with new correction. Shipped very quickly. My placed order had not requested the correct lens on one side (no fault to scuba.com). A replacement lens was installed on the same day I presented the mask, no questions asked. These lenses are extremely easy to swap out and scuba.coms service is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
354 out of 674 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba International Valve
Rating: XS-Scuba-International-Valve every tank should have a valve like this 6/30/2008

For those of us who use both yoke and DIN regulators, this kind of valve is the right idea. These should be installed on all tanks used by serious divers.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
333 out of 714 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Razor Line Cutter
Rating: Innovative-Razor-Line-Cutter nice concept, compact, cheap, sheath is poor 6/30/2008

Nice compact cutter for dealing with kelp and lines and grasses underwater. Inexpensive. Compact. Color makes it easy to locate. But I bought two of these and in one, the cutter falls out of the sheath. A bit better tolerancing and this would have worked. Too bad. It really should have a hole for a clip or biner. So a good product but easy to loose.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
254 out of 554 people found this review helpful.

Trident Reef Hook
Rating: Trident-Reef-Hook Inexpensive and does the job 12/28/2006

A simple, inexpensive hook that keeps you in place. Tucks away neatly in a BC pocket. Useful for other things as well. The challenge is hooking the reef without damaging the reef.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
420 out of 782 people found this review helpful.

Trident Reef Hook
Rating: Trident-Reef-Hook no more being dragged up and down by those anchor lines 9/20/2006

Just right for hanging on the anchor line from pitching boats while doing your stops. Just pull it out of a pocket, clipped to D-ring at one end, clipped to the line on the other end and settle back and hover while this Jon line goes up and down and takes out the pitching. Good clip for grabbing the anchor line. Or a line set out for your hang.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
208 out of 406 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews

 



  • Choose
    Currency:

Product Information Questions? Contact our certified instructors
E-mail our instructors at info@scuba.com

US and Canada call toll free 800.347.2822
International callers please dial 001.949.221.9300


Corporate Office: Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614

Privacy Policy
Scuba diving portal for scuba gear
Scuba requires professional scuba diving training and certification
Prices subject to change.
Copyright 2000-2014