Scuba Gear Reviews by Roger Barlow


Rating: as described 04/02/2015

havent used yet, but looks like it will hold up as a towable marker. As reviews mention, the flag pole just slips into the ball and could possibly slip out if caught on something. I dont think it would come out from heavy wave action. Water ballast compartment seems a little inadequate to prevent tipping. Probably will add lead shot or something more dense than water.

Was this review helpful? Yes No


Rating: true to size 04/02/2015

Boots fit as expected and are pretty easy to put on, despite no zipper - had no indication of slipping off. However, described as 7mm, but probably no more than 5mm thick.

Was this review helpful? Yes No


Rating: Looks like a great bargain 02/16/2015

reviewing for my wif who has not used it yetbut stretchy material seems to fit close without air pockets. it also appears to be thicker than some other suits claiming to be 3mm. cant wait for her to try it. fells higher quality than others twice the price. wish i had one like it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Oceanic VT-Pro Computer Guard
Rating: Oceanic-VT-Pro-Dive-Computer-Guard item as described 10/06/2012

Rated this low because it was to be shipped free with other items that were out of stock. Paid almost as much in shipping as the selling price of the guard.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
57 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Knife Good knife - it is what it is, a not too small BC knife. 11/08/2011

Handle is rather thin. The blunt blade does have a pretty sharp point - not the typical prying point blunts normally have. I bought 2 blunts and in retrospect, I should have bought a sharp and a blunt just to compare better. Wanted something handy that I could grab easily with either hand for dealing with speared fish and cutting trot-lines and monofilament. The long serrated edge and somewhat sharp point of the blunt will do everything. Dilevery was very prompt with the economy shipping.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
121 out of 232 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Knife a needed accessory for the belt 04/09/2010

Having a second or more pack to use for the next dive or to warm up after the first pack runs out is absolutely necessary, unless you can boil water between dives. I guess thats why they make camp stoves. A solar oven would be a nice way to boil a spare while diving.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
181 out of 399 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Knife works as claimed, but... 04/09/2010

Have only tried this product as a heating pad at home. Retains heat for at least an hour in air. I doubt the time will be that long in water at 10 deg or more below room temp. Will use for diving in a couple of months and for hunting next winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
195 out of 439 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Knife Best wet suit Ive ever had 08/09/2009

Ive owned about 6 wet suits of various weights and manufacturers and have been "OK" with most of them. I used this suit this weekend in water temps down to about 65F. Noticeably warmer than my old 3mm. Much easier to get on and off. Im 5-11 and 195 pounds. I bought the XL and found it fits comfortably. Sleeves and legs are about an inch or more longer than necessary, but that leaves more room for flex - worked well and covered boot tops and went well under gloves. The only problems I noticed were the thick spine pad takes getting used to - especially hard while riding in boat - not too noticable in the water. The other problem is the velcro that holds the leash to the thumb loop below the zipper is lame - wont stay hooked, because leash is a little short and velcro is not "sticky" enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
181 out of 358 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Knife INNOVATIVE SCUBA.COM SLAP STRAP 09/19/2006

I started to throw it away after the buckles flipped open a couple of times - dring a dive. I replaced buckle system with velcro - easier to adjust and doesnt come loose.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
176 out of 328 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Knife MARES CLIPPER FULL FOOT SNORKEL FINS 09/19/2006

Perfect for the kids, especially at the discounted price. Lets them join the activities and teaches responsibility for their own equipment. Would be nice if bouyancy was slightly positive.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
277 out of 550 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614