Call our certified SCUBA Instructors

1.800.34.SCUBA

8AM - 6PM PST

  

Scuba Gear Reviews by Paul Holmes

Nu-Way Dive Tables
Rating: Nu-Way-Dive-Tables Old School 04/14/2007

Dive Tables and a divers watches where the only thing used 30 years ago. This easy to read table gives you the maximum dive limits, per the 1984 Navy Dive Tables. Even I could read it. Go Figure. I carry it in my dive bag for reference. Additionally, it give you the minimum surface interval time before diving again at a given depth/bottom time. Of course, if you are doing multi-depth dives, a Dive Computer is invalueable in extended your bottom time.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
261 out of 474 people found this review helpful.

Nu-Way Dive Tables
Rating: Nu-Way-Dive-Tables A Bright Little Lite 04/14/2007

This light is perfect for day time diving. I store it in my BC Pocket and use it to peer under reef ledges. I was surprised that such a small pen light could put out this powerful of a beam. I have been told that the bubb filliments are prone to break if jarred, so I wrap it in a layer of air packing plastic to prevent this when traveling. Paul H.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
200 out of 407 people found this review helpful.

Nu-Way Dive Tables
Rating: Nu-Way-Dive-Tables Compact & Easy Too Read 04/14/2007

I wanted a easy to read pressure gauge with a water temperature indicator on front dial that would easily fit into my regulator bag. If you use a dive computer, their is really no reason to be diving with a bulky gauge console. Some people like to have a depth gauge as a backup feature in case their dive computer goes out. However, I find todays dive computers to be highly reliable. Paul H.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
296 out of 543 people found this review helpful.

Nu-Way Dive Tables
Rating: Nu-Way-Dive-Tables Good to Go 09/19/2006

Getting these cameras to water seal can be a problem. They advertise them to be good to 130 feet. Mine started to leak at only 60 feet. I had to modify it by putting some epoxy glue on the lip of the clamp base, in order to increase the clamping pressure. After this modification, I went down to 100 feet, and had no problem with water seal. Secondly, since this camera has a electric motor to advance the film, it requires more battery power, so you want to put a fresh set of batteries in when you load new film. Lastly, this camera needs like 15 seconds for the flash to recharge, before the next shot. Overall, the camera is great, once you get use to using it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
201 out of 430 people found this review helpful.

Neosport by Henderson 3mm Step-In Wetsuit Jacket
Rating: Neosport-by-Henderson-3mm-Step-In-Wetsuit-Jacket Long Sleeve Shorty 09/19/2006

This STEP-IN wet suit is really easy to get in and out of. The zipper is in the front, and the long sleeve design gives you the warmth protection for longer dives. However, you will have to compromise the easy of getting on a shorty, for the lack of any leg protection from coral scraps and cuts. I had to break myself of the habit of swimming to close to the coral. This step-in-jacket was the only one I could find on the market that was affordable, and has the step-in shorty style WITH LONG SLEEVES.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
326 out of 615 people found this review helpful.

Neosport by Henderson 3mm Step-In Wetsuit Jacket
Rating: Neosport-by-Henderson-3mm-Step-In-Wetsuit-Jacket Expanded Field of Vision 09/19/2006

I found this mask to be a really great design. It offers a comfortable fit as well as a good seal. Some masks have to be adjusted really tight against your face in order to seal, put this one would seals with only moderate tension. Secondly, the field of vision is much better. Since it has one piece lense with open side lenses, you get a better view of all that is before you.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
242 out of 454 people found this review helpful.

Neosport by Henderson 3mm Step-In Wetsuit Jacket
Rating: Neosport-by-Henderson-3mm-Step-In-Wetsuit-Jacket Expanded Field of Vision 09/19/2006

I found this mask to be a really great design. It offers a comfortable fit as well as a good seal. Some masks have to be adjusted really tight against your face in order to seal, put this one would seals with only moderate tension. Secondly, the field of vision is much better. Since it has one piece lense with open side lenses, you get a better view of all that is before you.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
229 out of 480 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews