Scuba Gear Reviews by Pete Zellner

OctoMask Scuba Mask for GoPro HERO Cameras
Rating: OctoMask-Scuba-Mask-for-GoPro-HERO-Cameras Makes Photography Easy 2/24/2014

Cant make shooting underwater pictures or video easier - Where you look and what you see is what your GoPro will record - If your not into taking pictures underwater but have always what some digital memories this is for you - Easy

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba 5mm Rynohyde Diving Gloves
Rating: XS-Scuba-5mm-Rynohyde-Diving-Gloves Price Point Glove 1/12/2014

Appears to be a pretty well made glove and should be warm when I dive Galapagos and local lakes - As mentioned in other reviews they run small about 1 to 2 sizes small, I usually wear a large but I ended up with XXLarge and my wife a medium where she is normally a small

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Wisdom / React / Insight / Resource Pro Battery Kit
Rating: Sherwood-Wisdom---React---Resource-Pro-Battery-Kit Always ready 3/29/2013

I have a backup battery for my computer when I travel - A small investment to guarantee your computer will be available if your battery fails while your are on a long awaited dive trip

Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

TUSA ZEN Watch Lens Protector
Rating: TUSA-ZEN-Watch-Lens-Protector Protect your Investment 3/29/2013

Your computer is an important part of our dive equipment but if you cant see the display its useless - Its easy to protect with the lens protector and its easy to install

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Gauge Guard For Wisdom Computer
Rating: Sherwood-Gauge-Guard-For-Wisdom-Computer Need to Read 10/8/2012

Your computer takes a lot of abuse and the screen can be damaged. The screen guard keeps the computer screen from being scratched so you can see your dive info.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
27 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

TUSA Zen Air / Nitrox Computer Watch
Rating: TUSA-Zen-Air---Nitrox-Computer-Watch Need a back-up 10/8/2012

I purchased one of these for myself and use it mainly as a back-up, this purchase is for my wife so she now has a back-up. We use the Wisdom 3 as our primary dive computer but we had one fail during a trip Hawaii. I carry an analog depth gauge with pressure gauge just in case. The Zen allowed me to continue diving with Nitrox. The Zen is easy to use and doubles as a time of day watch plus the display has large numbers.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
28 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Deluxe Travel Protective Camera Case
Rating: Sealife-Deluxe-Travel-Protective-Camera-Case Great Case 10/8/2012

This is a great case to protect your camera, strobe(s) video light and large enough to carry some accessories. It can be carried on and could even be checked since you can add a lock. Great case for protecting your camera

Was this review helpful? Yes No
28 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Spare/Replacement O-Ring for the Sealife SL961 Digital Pro Flash Strobe
Rating: Sealife-Spare-Replacement-O-Ring-for-the-Sealife-SL961-Digital-Pro-Flash-Strobe Be prepared 10/8/2012

I have spare O-rings for my camera, my video light and now my strobe and replace them every other year just in case since I have a few dollars into my camera and accessories. I keep the old ones as back-ups in case one is damaged during a dive trip

Was this review helpful? Yes No
29 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Spare/Replacement O-Ring for the Sealife SL961 Digital Pro Flash Strobe
Rating: Sealife-Spare-Replacement-O-Ring-for-the-Sealife-SL961-Digital-Pro-Flash-Strobe Protect you camera 10/8/2012

This case is good for a carry-on when you travel and works to store your camera when not being used. Its large enough to fit a camera with a strobe or two along with a few accessories.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
27 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Moisture Muncher
Rating: Sealife-Moisture-Muncher A must have 10/8/2012

If you own a Sealife camera you need these

Was this review helpful? Yes No
26 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Moisture Muncher
Rating: Sealife-Moisture-Muncher Always needed 12/14/2009

Recommend that you purchase only when you need them, they do not last long once they are opened.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
90 out of 195 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Ultra Dry Snorkel
Rating: Oceanic-Ultra-Dry-Snorkel Great !!!!!!!!!!! 12/14/2009

This snorkel was purchased for my wife and she informed me after a recent dive trip to Hawaii that we can get rid of her other snorkels as this is the one she will use!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
97 out of 200 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Silicone Grease
Rating: Innovative-Silicone-Grease Always needed 12/14/2009

There are so many dive items that require silicone grease its nice to have it available.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
210 out of 396 people found this review helpful.

Submersible Systems Mini Pressure Gauge For Spare Air
Rating: Submersible-Systems-Mini-Pressure-Gauge-For-Spare-Air Makes seeing pressure a little easier 12/14/2009

Its better then the pressure indicator that comes with Spare Air but its a hard to read do its size. Other then the size the gauge makes reading the amount of air in your Spare Air a little more accurate.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
190 out of 345 people found this review helpful.

Submersible Systems Mini Pressure Gauge For Spare Air
Rating: Submersible-Systems-Mini-Pressure-Gauge-For-Spare-Air Great for the traveling Diver 12/14/2009

With the airlines restrictions on the weight of your checked bags every ounce is important. This BCD will help with the weight issue and also with it folding into the include bag you will have additional room. This BCD has large pockets so I can carry all my needed items. The trim weight pockets have helped me with a better profile making me more efficient in the water which has given me better air usage. The integrated weight pockets are outstanding, very secure and still easy to remove when needed. This is my fourth BCD and my second travel BCD, Iím very happy with this purchase along with the service I received from Scuba.com

Was this review helpful? Yes No
265 out of 534 people found this review helpful.

Underwater Kinetics 408 Ultra Dry Box with Padded Liner
Rating: Underwater-Kinetics-408-Ultra-Dry-Box-with-Padded-Liner Protection 10/12/2009

I purchased these boxes for mask cases - It provides a crush proof container to store our masks and when using the mask we use them for keeping things dry while on a dive boat

Was this review helpful? Yes No
137 out of 287 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Digital Pro Flash Diffuser
Rating: Sealife-Digital-Pro-Flash-Diffuser Better Pictures 10/12/2009

After taking the PADI Underwater Photographer course the training helped me identify the problem with some of my past photos - the light from the strobe was to hot it was to direct - the diffuser will soften the needed light

Was this review helpful? Yes No
189 out of 359 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Wisdom / React / Insight / Resource Pro Battery Kit
Rating: Sherwood-Wisdom---React---Resource-Pro-Battery-Kit Exrta batteries can save a dive trip 7/12/2009

I will always carry an extra battery for my computer - I had what I thought was new one fail on a dive trip and was unable to locate a replacement since we were on live aboard - I had to break out my mechanical pressure and depth gauge along with my old back-up wrist computer - Lesson learned never leave home without extra computer battery

Was this review helpful? Yes No
144 out of 289 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Gauge Guard For Wisdom Computer
Rating: Sherwood-Gauge-Guard-For-Wisdom-Computer Low Cost Protection 7/12/2009

After you use use your computer for a while it will have scratches on the face no matter how careful you are and doesnt take that many dives to get it scratched so the data is difficult to read - the guard will protect the face which is not replaceable - its not easy to replace but its WELL worth the time and the small expense - I carry an extra in my save a dive kit just in case

Was this review helpful? Yes No
162 out of 307 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Wisdom Battery Hatch
Rating: Sherwood-Wisdom-Battery-Hatch Repair Kit Item 7/12/2009

Break a cover in Roatan or someplace without a well stocked dive shop and your computer is nothing more then a paper weight until you can replace it - Like the Scouts say be prepared

Was this review helpful? Yes No
171 out of 387 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Wisdom Battery Hatch
Rating: Sherwood-Wisdom-Battery-Hatch Great Mask 7/12/2009

This is about my 5-6 dive mask since I started diving back in 1975 - and believe the one I used before this one I have had for about 10-12 years and thought I would never give it up - so when I broke the frame and was unable to replace it I looked at a number of different manufactures and styles - I decided on the XS Scuba V3 and could not be happier - the adjustable strap is great and the over all view is good - I wish I had replaced my old one sooner what a great mask

Was this review helpful? Yes No
232 out of 437 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Wisdom Battery Hatch
Rating: Sherwood-Wisdom-Battery-Hatch Night Dive identication light 7/12/2009

With this yoke light you will always have a light that helps you be seen by your buddy - I use this light along with an additional ID light to give me and my buddy a different look - with some dive location not allowing the chemical light the battery ID light is necessary for night diving identification

Was this review helpful? Yes No
135 out of 259 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Wisdom Battery Hatch
Rating: Sherwood-Wisdom-Battery-Hatch Great price for the material 7/12/2009

Liking at the cost for the items included in this pack purchased separately this is a great deal and the case and hat make an even better deal

Was this review helpful? Yes No
140 out of 267 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Wisdom Battery Hatch
Rating: Sherwood-Wisdom-Battery-Hatch Bright compact light 7/12/2009

Its a nice light that can be used either as a head lamp or attached to your hand - I like the included hand strap and use it that way so Im not blinding my buddy when I look at her - light is small but very bright the batteries cost a little more but will give a bit more burn time

Was this review helpful? Yes No
114 out of 232 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Wisdom Battery Hatch
Rating: Sherwood-Wisdom-Battery-Hatch Navigation made Easier 7/12/2009

It makes underwater navigation a little easier! With a Nav finder it makes much easier to keep track of where Ive been and how to navigate back to my starting point - its also easy to determine your next 90 deg headings whether they are right or left when swimming a square or a rectangle - and I like having a slate on the back for notes and other things I may need to record - I wish it come with a pencil and lanyard

Was this review helpful? Yes No
108 out of 218 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Wisdom Soft Case
Rating: Sherwood-Wisdom-Soft-Case The computer is to valuable 3/9/2009

This case is great to keep one of your most valuable dive tools safe and protected - Never go anywhere without it

Was this review helpful? Yes No
175 out of 386 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood Wisdom Soft Case
Rating: Sherwood-Wisdom-Soft-Case Nice and Comfortable 3/9/2009

Keeps those bed bugs or other things away from you its a good size and pack easily

Was this review helpful? Yes No
158 out of 303 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Dry Bag
Rating: Innovative-Dry-Bag Keeps things dry 3/7/2009

I use this for keeping things dry on the dive boat and it works fine for that also its easy to use

Was this review helpful? Yes No
131 out of 267 people found this review helpful.

Dive Optics Stick-On Optic Lenses for Masks
Rating: Dive-Optics-Stick-On-Optic-Lenses-for-Scuba-Dive-Masks Now I see those small numbers 3/7/2009

If your distant vision is OK but that close up stuff requires longer arms these easy to use reading glasses make seeing thing like a computer/compass/other gauges so much better

Was this review helpful? Yes No
119 out of 248 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Stainless Steel Buckle for Weight Belt.
Rating: Innovative-Stainless-Steel-Buckle-for-Diving-Weight-Belt. Metal vs Plastic 3/7/2009

If you have ever had a buckle break you understand that the metal buckle is a little more reliable - Plus the whale tail is just cool and different

Was this review helpful? Yes No
254 out of 465 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Stainless Steel Buckle for Weight Belt.
Rating: Innovative-Stainless-Steel-Buckle-for-Diving-Weight-Belt. Keep track of your Buddy 3/7/2009

With this light your buddy can keep track of you at night and you will always have with you - You dont have to worry about it getting abused since most dives take extra care to make sure their regulator is treated with tender loving care

Was this review helpful? Yes No
151 out of 307 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Scuba Diving And Snorkeling For Dummies
Rating: Innovative-Scuba-Diving-And-Snorkeling-For-Dummies Knowledge is a good thing 3/7/2009

Its an easy to read book about the sport from beginner to more advanced aspects of the sport - Its written in an easy to follow and understand format - Recommended for all levels of divers

Was this review helpful? Yes No
154 out of 309 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Octopus Holder
Rating: Innovative-Octopus-Holder Not what I had hoped for! 3/7/2009

I have yet to find a reliable Octo holder and this is not it - It doesnt hold your Octo

Was this review helpful? Yes No
167 out of 304 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Max-Force Retractor with Brass Swivel
Rating: Innovative-Max-Force-Retractor-with-Brass-Swivel Keep equipmet close 3/7/2009

Its great for keeping things close so that its not damaging the environment or the equipment - Its a little larger then I thought but still works

Was this review helpful? Yes No
190 out of 400 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Max-Force Retractor with Brass Swivel
Rating: Innovative-Max-Force-Retractor-with-Brass-Swivel Easy to use 3/7/2009

Makes marking much of your equipment easy and adheres to most surfaces but not all paint pens are still handy

Was this review helpful? Yes No
118 out of 234 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Max-Force Retractor with Brass Swivel
Rating: Innovative-Max-Force-Retractor-with-Brass-Swivel Hope to never use 3/7/2009

Its easy to care and nice to have but I hope that I never need to use it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
166 out of 336 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Max-Force Retractor with Brass Swivel
Rating: Innovative-Max-Force-Retractor-with-Brass-Swivel Always can learn more about this sport 2/23/2009

I enjoy expanding my knowledge about this sport and the equipment this book is written for almost any level of diver to understand.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
133 out of 273 people found this review helpful.

Mares ABS Plus Locking Fin / Buckle Assembly
Rating: Mares-ABS-Plus-Locking-Fin---Buckle-Assembly Makes getting fins off easier 2/23/2009

My wife has trouble with getting her fins off using regular or spring straps and these straps have made that task much easier.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
177 out of 398 people found this review helpful.

Mares ABS Plus Locking Fin / Buckle Assembly
Rating: Mares-ABS-Plus-Locking-Fin---Buckle-Assembly Ear care is a must 2/23/2009

i have used these ear for a number of years and have had little to no ear problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
104 out of 202 people found this review helpful.

Mares ABS Plus Locking Fin / Buckle Assembly
Rating: Mares-ABS-Plus-Locking-Fin---Buckle-Assembly Great to have for your dive sites 2/23/2009

I have one of these maps for most all the dive destinations I visit. Has lots of great information about the dive destination.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
222 out of 428 people found this review helpful.

Mares ABS Plus Locking Fin / Buckle Assembly
Rating: Mares-ABS-Plus-Locking-Fin---Buckle-Assembly Nice Towel 2/23/2009

Great towel for travel, drys fast and takes up little room in your luggage.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
219 out of 438 people found this review helpful.

Trident Scuba Care Maintenance
Rating: Trident-Scuba-Care-Maintenance Help maintain your gear 12/15/2008

This books gives the diver an overview of the diver level maintenance and how to perform preventive maintenance on dive equipment. It will save the diver money by showing how a diver should maintain his dive gear. Book points out the importance for professional maintenance and inspections.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
264 out of 519 people found this review helpful.

Trident Scuba Care Maintenance
Rating: Trident-Scuba-Care-Maintenance Great to have a few tools 12/15/2008

The kit comes in a great case and has the right number of tools to make most repairs or adjustments - I will always carry this kit

Was this review helpful? Yes No
183 out of 351 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Save-A-Dive Kit with Quick Release Fin Strap
Rating: Innovative-Save-A-Dive-Kit-with-Quick-Release-Fin-Strap If can break it will on the dive boat 12/15/2008

You never know when an important item on your dive gear will give-up, but its almost a guarantee than when it does happen there is no Dive Shop near or its closed. This kit gives you most everything a diver could and will break/wear-out. A must for all divers.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
183 out of 421 people found this review helpful.

Submersible Systems Mini Pressure Gauge For Spare Air
Rating: Submersible-Systems-Mini-Pressure-Gauge-For-Spare-Air Know your Pressure 12/15/2008

With this pressure gauge you can see how much air is in your Spare-Air bottle. A little hard to see but its better then the pressure indicator that comes with your Spare-Air.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
145 out of 327 people found this review helpful.

Submersible Systems Spare Air Travel Pack
Rating: Submersible-Systems-Spare-Air-Travel-Pack Make Travel easier 12/15/2008

This kit will make traveling with your Spare-Air easier. The clear case allows TSA to see the item and keeps all the parts together, a must if you travel with your Spare-Air!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
165 out of 363 people found this review helpful.

Submersible Systems Spare Air Travel Pack
Rating: Submersible-Systems-Spare-Air-Travel-Pack Severe Weather Dive Jacket 5/17/2008

After dive before dive this is an outstanding bargain. The jacket is well made and is a must for divers whether shore diving, day boat diving or diving from a live aboard.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
255 out of 514 people found this review helpful.

Submersible Systems Spare Air Travel Pack
Rating: Submersible-Systems-Spare-Air-Travel-Pack auro-dry ear s 1/4/2007

we use ear s after every dive along with our ear dryer, since we started this we have had no ear problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
123 out of 258 people found this review helpful.

McNett Sea Gold Anti-Fog / Defog
Rating: McNett-Sea-Gold-Anti-Fog---Defog SEA GOLD ANTI-FOG 1/4/2007

Best anti-fog I have found and I have used may different ones.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
268 out of 527 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Original Snappy Coil Lanyard
Rating: Innovative-Original-Snappy-Coil-Divers-Lanyard INNOVATIVE ORIGINAL SNAPPY COIL LANYARD 1/4/2007

I have one on my camera and found it be very valuable and easy to use so I purchased another for my wifes camera. It keeps your camera close to you during entry and when you exit. Its easy to use and gives you plenty of lanyard when using the camera.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
409 out of 855 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Original Snappy Coil Lanyard
Rating: Innovative-Original-Snappy-Coil-Divers-Lanyard SCUBA OCTO HOLDER 1/4/2007

Keeps your octopus easily accessible along with keeping stuff out of this important piece of equipment.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
138 out of 283 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Original Snappy Coil Lanyard
Rating: Innovative-Original-Snappy-Coil-Divers-Lanyard AERIS INSTRUMENT RETRACTOR 1/4/2007

Works great to keep your gauges close to you and away from the reef.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
302 out of 614 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Spare/Replacement Battery
Rating: Sealife-Spare-Replacement-Battery SEALIFE DC500 SPARE EXTENDED LIFE BATTERY 1/4/2007

I found that a couple of extra batteries are necessary if you are diving more than once a day. You will want to change your battery before every dive. It really sucks when your camera battery has failed because thats when the picture of the trip comes along.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
208 out of 414 people found this review helpful.

Akona Deluxe Mesh Backpack Bag
Rating: Akona-Deluxe-Mesh-Backpack-Bag AKONA DELUXE MESH BACKPACK 1/4/2007

This pack is great for moving your gear to the dock or the dive boat. The size allows to you pack all your gear, its large opening makes packing easy and the side zipper is convenient for gaining access.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
296 out of 581 people found this review helpful.

Akona Deluxe Mesh Backpack Bag
Rating: Akona-Deluxe-Mesh-Backpack-Bag SEALIFE BUOYANCY WEIGHT 11/22/2006

I found that my camera was a bit buoyant, but with the added weight it made it much more user friendly when in the water. I found the using the weight under the camera mount was much better than in the strobe. In the strobe it was to top heavy, so purchase the extra long attachment knob.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
332 out of 705 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Moisture Muncher
Rating: Sealife-Moisture-Muncher SEALIFE MOISTURE MUNCHER 11/22/2006

If you own a Sealife digital camera you will want extra moisture munchers. I used 4 during a week long dive trip to Curacao. A little moisture can destroy your camera, a little expense now can stop a large expense not to mention those lost pisctures.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
234 out of 459 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Moisture Muncher
Rating: Sealife-Moisture-Muncher SEALIFE DC-500 REPLACEMENT HOUSING O-RING 11/22/2006

As the Boy Scouts teach "always be prepared" so having an extra housing O-ring is a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
134 out of 274 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews

 



  • Choose
    Currency:

Product Information Questions? Contact our certified instructors
E-mail our instructors at info@scuba.com

US and Canada call toll free 800.347.2822
International callers please dial 001.949.221.9300


Corporate Office: Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614

Privacy Policy
Scuba diving portal for scuba gear
Scuba requires professional scuba diving training and certification
Prices subject to change.
Copyright © 2000-2014