Call our certified SCUBA Instructors

1.800.34.SCUBA

8AM - 6PM PST

  

Scuba Gear Reviews by Larry Eggert


Rating: Great wetsuit! 03/13/2012

Perfect fit. Love the newer stretchy neoprene, especially in this 7/6 mm version. Easy to get on and off. If you chill easily and need more neoprene to stay warm, consider this suit!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
82 out of 148 people found this review helpful.


Rating: Nice, comfortable mini-fins 09/12/2011

These are nice, comfortable exercise fins. No rub spots. Relatively easy to put on. Be aware they are a touch larger than stated size (US sizes). If youre on the upper end of the size range, you should be OK. On the lower end, consider the next size down.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
107 out of 208 people found this review helpful.


Rating: A potential life-saver, and bullet-proof 01/12/2010

Ive used quite a few "safety sausages" over the years. The Carter PF-35 is neither the largest nor the most expensive. Its just the best. Bright fluorescent yellow and easy to see in those overcast and stormy seas. Radar reflector. A ring on the top to hang a strobe on when it gets dark. Easy to inflate by regulator or mouth. Holds inflation pressure nicely. Can be inflated underwater and sent to the surface as a marker near the end of a drift dive. And relatively compact. I just got a second one for my wife after she kept coveting mine. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
201 out of 382 people found this review helpful.


Rating: Good light gloves - great for photographers 05/27/2007

Comfortable light gloves with a good sturdy palm, but still good fingertip feel. The only complaint is the "back" of the glove has such thin material, theyre a little hard to get on when wet. Also the palm tends to stain if you touch "things" underwater. Still theyre the best Ive found for photographers or someone who wants a glove that has great feel for handling your equipment.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
434 out of 900 people found this review helpful.


Rating: Love these socks 05/27/2007

evey had "hot spots" develop on your toes 3 or 4 days into a dive vacation. you know, those rubbed areas that you notice as soon as you put your booty and fin on. wear a pair of these under your booty and voila prevent the "hot spots". they also have a gripper covering on the sole that makes walking around boat decks more secure. highly recommended i just bought a spare pair.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
334 out of 635 people found this review helpful.


Rating: Great mouthpiece! 05/27/2007

ive use a lot of different style mouthpieces over the years and this is far and away the most comfortable and most stable ive ever used. it extends back to the molars, rather than just fitting in the front of the mouth. i hardly notice it is in my mouth. on a recent trip to fiji in ripping currents, i never even had to "bite down" to secure my reg. when i got back, i bought another for my spare reg. one note to scubapro users. if you use your re-usable clamp over this mouthpiece, it will leak. youll need to use a cable-tie. than it is water-tight. highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
235 out of 515 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Safety Sausage (SMB)
Rating: XS-Scuba-Safety-Sausage--SMB good idea good value could be wider 11/18/2006

every open-water diver needs a safety sausage or flag. the 6-foot length is tall enough, but it is a little "skinny". i like the grommet at the top to hang a strobe. no solas radar reflector. cant be inflated by a hose or reg have to use your mouth. i carry it for protected areas like the caribbean, but use my halcyon super big alert marker for pacific and more demanding areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
410 out of 848 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Shadow Frameless Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Shadow-Frameless-Mask Great low-volume mask 11/18/2006

testers choice by scuba diving mag. my wife and i own 4 between us 2 black and 2 ice. comfortable, no-leak fit. durable. great for photography. love the "frameless" construction. works great with a marsoops strap. highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
371 out of 729 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Pocket Semi-Dry Snorkel
Rating: Oceanic-Pocket-Semi-Dry-Snorkel Great, flexible snorkel 09/10/2006

I now own 3 or these. I keep one in my BCD, use 1 for snorkeling at the gym pool and keep one in my travel pack. They are compact, durable, clear easily and are "semi-dry". They also breathe easily. That means you get a little water in, but most drains and it is very easy to clear. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
528 out of 1100 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews