Scuba Gear Reviews by Ryan Egan

Innovative Dive Slate
Rating: Innovative-Dive-Slate Does the job! 11/26/2006

Overall this is a good slate. It is a good size, not too big and awkward, but big enough write several messages or your dive plan. The pencil disintegrated on the first dive, and there is no leash for the pencil. The pencil holder does, however, keep it in place while you are diving. Overall, a good product and a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
312 out of 670 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Dive Slate
Rating: Innovative-Dive-Slate Good Hood! 11/26/2006

This is a great hood for the drysuit diver or the wetsuit diver who does not like the added bulk of a bib-type hood. The Bare hood is easy to put on and take off, and is self venting, so you dont get a bunch of uncomfortable air pockets around your head. The hood is also comfortable to wear, and there are no seams or folds of fabric that poke into your head or face. I used the hood on several dives in 60 degree water, and I was more than warm enough. I am continually impressed by the high quality of construction that you get with the Bare products.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
285 out of 561 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Dive Slate
Rating: Innovative-Dive-Slate Great for dry or wetsuit! 11/26/2006

These are warm, well constructed gloves. While they are thick enough to keep your hands warm in 50 or 60 degree water, they still give you enough dexterity to push buttons on computers, drysuit inflator valves, etc. The gloves are long enough to cover your wrists, and have an elastic and velcro wrist strap to seal them up. I used the gloves in Blue Hole in New Mexico, which was about 60 degrees at the bottom, and my hands were actually a bit too warm! I have been impressed with all of the Bare products, and these gloves are no exception.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
343 out of 716 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Dive Slate
Rating: Innovative-Dive-Slate Excellent Drysuit! 11/26/2006

this is an extremely high quality suit that is an excellent choice for the new drysuit diver or the experienced wreck diver. my first observation of the suit as i pulled it from the box was the very high quality of construction. there are no sloppy seams, hanging threads, globs of glue, etc. the large, front entry zipper makes the suit truly self donning and doffing. there is a zippered flap that protects the dry zipper, which is a much better system than a velcro flap. another feature that i especially enjoy is the thick neoprene flap that that rests between the inlet valve and your chest on the inside of the suit. this prevents a cold blast of air from blowing directly on you when you add air to the suit. the attached, zippered leg gators work very well and keep the air from migrating to your feet, and the extra fabric for donning and doffing folds neatly at your waist and is held in place by sturdy elastic material. the knee pads are bulletproof, and the suit as a whole looks like it could stand up to a pretty tough beating in a wreck or cavern. i do recommend finding some aftermarket or bare suspenders attachment points are built in. excellent drysuit!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
358 out of 716 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Dive Slate
Rating: Innovative-Dive-Slate Good Dry Snorkel 11/26/2006

This is an excellent snorkel. The purge works as it should, there is very little breathing resistance, and the mouthpiece is comfortable to use. I especially like the quick disconnect attachment. The snorkel can be removed from and reattached to your mask strap very easily, which is a nice feature for cleaning, packing, or for those dives when you just do not need a snorkel. The dry feature works pretty well, but you will still get some water in it from time to time. Overall, a good product that does the job.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
161 out of 315 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Dive Slate
Rating: Innovative-Dive-Slate Good Mask 11/26/2006

Overall this is a very good mask. The field of vision is good, but could be slightly better. While the side windows do add to your peripheral vision somewhat, the frame does seem to limit your overall viewing area. Other than that, I have had no issues with leaking or fogging whatsoever. I have used the mask in conditions varying from a 94 degree freshwater spring, to saltwater dives in Mexico, to nearly frozen Colorado lakes and have not had a single issue. The strap and buckles are sturdy and easily adjusted, and the skirt is comfortable and seals well. Just be sure to scrub it two or three times with mask scrub when you get it!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
139 out of 294 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Dive Slate
Rating: Innovative-Dive-Slate Great Air-Only Computer 11/13/2006

This computer is an excellent choice for the beginning diver on up to the expert who needs a good back-up. The Profile is simple to use, and is fairly compact and light, so you dont need a monster retractor to keep it in one spot. The manual is pretty good. The battery is easily changed anywhere by anyone, but I do recommend that you read the aforementioned manual before attempting this. It will save you some time and frustration. Keep in mind that its an air-only computer, so if you are a beginner who plans on learning and diving Nitrox in the near future this is not the computer for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
193 out of 355 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Dive Slate
Rating: Innovative-Dive-Slate Powerful Fins! 11/13/2006

These fins are by far the best Ive used. The Bio Fins give you a lot of go without a lot of effort. In fact, I used the fins recently in Cozumel, and was able to kick against a pretty strong current with minimal effort. This allowed me to stay in one spot long enough to take some great photos without sucking my tank dry. The Bio Fins are also a bit shorter than most other fins, which means less space is required in your luggage. As soon as I wear out my adjustable strap fins, Ill be replacing them with the open-heel Bio Fins.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
230 out of 446 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614

US and Canada 800.347.2822
International 001.949.221.9300