Scuba Gear Reviews by David Guccione


Rating: Great for pony! 04/10/2008

We both carry pony bottles on all dives and the cuff is a good way to mount the bottle onto the BCD.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
230 out of 454 people found this review helpful.


Rating: Good product! 04/10/2008

Good spring tension.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
175 out of 353 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Carabiner with Ring
Rating: Scuba-Dive-Carabiner-with-Ring Good job! 04/10/2008

Does just what it is intended for. We like that the spring has more tension than most carabiners.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
316 out of 648 people found this review helpful.

Sherwood 6 Cubic Foot Aluminum Tank
Rating: Sherwood-6-Cubic-Foot-Aluminum-Tank Redundancy = Extra Safety 06/18/2007

I and my dive buddy wife both have Sherwood Alum 6cf pony bottles which have become permanent parts of our dive configuration, used on every dive. After 15 years of diving and instructing all over the world, we have come to value the redundancy which a pony bottle gives. She attaches hers alongside her 80cf. I carry mine under my right arm pit on caribinners. We both hang the second stage reg around the neck with surgical tubing. We highly recommend the 6cf pony for the extra safety it brings.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
559 out of 1064 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax 5-Page Wrist Dive Slate
Rating: Scubamax-5-Page-Wrist-Dive-Slate Wrist Dive Slate 09/19/2006

Slips around if on a bare wrist but great if on a wetsuit.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
416 out of 831 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax 5-Page Wrist Dive Slate
Rating: Scubamax-5-Page-Wrist-Dive-Slate Adventure Light Pack 09/19/2006

This set of three lights is a great buy and has everything you need for night diving. Very glad we had the little strobes for tieing onto the tank since we discovered that several places in the Caribbean are forbidding the use of cylome sticks. We especially like the way the large and medium lights attach to the BCD. Best lights we have ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
280 out of 557 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax 5-Page Wrist Dive Slate
Rating: Scubamax-5-Page-Wrist-Dive-Slate Roller Backpack 09/19/2006

Our previous travel bags got torn from baggage handlers grabbing the side or front pockets to lift and throw the bags. I watched them do this from the plane windows so I knew how it happened. This roller back pack has good stitching around those pockets but best are the handles both top and bottom of the bag. I went so far as to write in indelible ink, "Lift here" and put arrows pointing to the top and bottom handles. I put duct tape on all the pockets and wrote, "No Lift". The packs came thru well on our just completed trip to the Caribbean. The bags have all the necessary accessories we want on a scuba bag: backpack carrying straps, good heavy wheels and heavy duty pull handles (very important on a heavily loaded bag). I wish it did not weigh 15 pounds unloaded since airlines are getting picky about weight limits, especially island airlines in the Carib. But I guess weight is the unavoidable tradeoff for a heavy duty bag.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
313 out of 617 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax 5-Page Wrist Dive Slate
Rating: Scubamax-5-Page-Wrist-Dive-Slate Tank Carrier 09/19/2006

The carrier is good if you have to carry a couple tanks a long way over ground or a lengthy dock from you car. The straps are a bit cumbersome but ok with practice.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
371 out of 759 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614