Scuba Gear Reviews by Joe Phillips

Trident Easy Dry Body Chamois
Rating: Trident-Easy-Dry-Body-Chamois Good towel, good deal 07/19/2007

This chamois wont warm you up like wrapping a big beach towel around your shoulders, but its much lighter, smaller, and is great for just drying off. Dry, it can be folded small enough to fit in a pocket. Id buy another.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
393 out of 831 people found this review helpful.

Trident Easy Dry Body Chamois
Rating: Trident-Easy-Dry-Body-Chamois Great gloves, great price 07/19/2007

These gloves have been excellent for me- they have excellent dexterity, and the grip coating works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
311 out of 673 people found this review helpful.

Akona Mask, Fin and Snorkel Bag
Rating: Akona-Mask--Fin-and-Snorkel-Bag Great bag, great defog gel 07/19/2007

This bag is an excellent buy- especially with the defog gel they throw in for free. Could use another pocket, but for the price its unbeatable and holds up very well.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
277 out of 553 people found this review helpful.

Akona Mask, Fin and Snorkel Bag
Rating: Akona-Mask--Fin-and-Snorkel-Bag Unbelievable mask deal!!! 07/19/2007

I ordered this Cressi as a backup mask, and quickly ended up giving away my old Dacor in favor of a second Cressi mask. The view is excellent and the price was unbelievable-ordering two still cost me less than comparable masks at the dive shop. My only complaint is a nagging glare on the top corners when Im near the surface- I got the clear skirt, so light from above often comes through and reflects on the inside of the lenses, cutting a wedge off my field of view. Id recommend choosing a dark-colored skirt option to avoid this. Below 2m or so, its no problem even with the clear skirt. All in all fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
257 out of 540 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Polyolefin Hot Dive Socks
Rating: Henderson-Polyolefin-Hot-Dive-Socks Warm feet 01/06/2007

These things are great- they can be tough to put on if youve got bigger feet, but very warm. Wear under your fins, under your boots, anything. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
487 out of 920 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Polyolefin Hot Dive Socks
Rating: Henderson-Polyolefin-Hot-Dive-Socks Cheap, durable, and comfortable 01/06/2007

These are tough even on sharp rocks- great protection. Theyre pretty warm for 5mm- I even wear them in Lake Michigan with Hot Socks underneath in winter- no problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
253 out of 484 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Polyolefin Hot Dive Socks
Rating: Henderson-Polyolefin-Hot-Dive-Socks Warm, but cumbersome 01/06/2007

These have kept me warm even swimming between ice chunks in Lake Michigan. They can be frustrating to put on, and the dexterity isnt great when wearing them. Theyre tough and warm, but can be a real pain. I prefer blue gloves.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
337 out of 666 people found this review helpful.

Henderson Polyolefin Hot Dive Socks
Rating: Henderson-Polyolefin-Hot-Dive-Socks Unbeatable for the price 01/06/2007

i routinely wear this suit surfing in lake michigan all winter, and ive never been cold. with only a rashguard under it, i was in the water for two hours the week before christmas, in michigan- check the local paper )

Was this review helpful? Yes No
262 out of 510 people found this review helpful.

H2O Magna 2mm Webbed Surf Gloves
Rating: H2O-Magna-2mm-Webbed-Surf-Gloves Unbelievable advantage 01/06/2007

These dont feel like theyre doing much at first, but when you take them off youll wonder how you ever swam without them. I estimate they add 30% to the power of certain strokes. They also help strengthen the exact muscles you want toned for stronger strokes. I use them for everything- including surfing. Best 12 bucks ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
686 out of 1408 people found this review helpful.

H2O Magna 2mm Webbed Surf Gloves
Rating: H2O-Magna-2mm-Webbed-Surf-Gloves Great fins 01/06/2007

These fins are unbelievable for the price- theyre comfortable and provide great thrust. A must-have for anyone still resisting the split-fin craze- these seem like the best thrust Ive had in any fin under $100. They dont float, so keep them on.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
349 out of 684 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax Knife Strap
Rating: Innovative-Dive-Knife-Strap Adequate 01/06/2007

They work. Cheap and effective. Not too much stretch, but theyll keep your knife attached to you. I had to punch the rubber out of the holes myself before I could use them.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
400 out of 786 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Dive-Knife Great basic knife 01/06/2007

This is a great knife for someone who doesnt want to waste a fortune on titanium toys. Its cheap, keeps an edge well, and its relatively sharp for a stainless blade. Better yet, youre out less than twenty bucks if you lose it. This is a surprisingly solid, well-made knife- I got mine for kitesurfing, where getting free of lines in a hurry can be a life-and-death thing. Good grip.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
427 out of 842 people found this review helpful.

Scuba BC Knife
Rating: Scuba-BC-Dive-Knife Comfy, cheap, and durable 01/06/2007

Great for people with cold feet- Ive found these great for diving in water thats not too cold. When its too cold, I wear Hot Socks under them for added warmth. Theyre good for surfing, too- theyve kept me comfortable for hours in chilly Great Lakes water, even in spring and fall. The traction pads on the bottoms could be a little bigger for better stick, but a great buy nonetheless.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
293 out of 563 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews