Scuba Gear Reviews by Ray Tsuyuki

Hyperflex by Henderson 13 Oz Polyolefin Short Sleeve Rash Guard
Rating: Hyperflex-by-Henderson-13-Oz-Polyolefin-Short-Sleeve-Rash-Guard Warm and Light 01/04/2014

This shirt adds about 2-3 deg F of warmth without adding much more weight or bulk tHan a T-shirt. I have used under my 7 mm and my 3 mm suits.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Akona Lanyard with Male Quick Release
Rating: Akona-by-Sherwood-Lanyard-with-Male-Quick-Release Works Fine 07/15/2013

For what its supposed to do, it works great. You cannot use it for any heavier duty clipping.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
23 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Retractable Compass
Rating: Innovative-Retractable-Compass Bulky, but it works. 07/15/2013

unfortunately, this is the only compass of its type-retractable and clipped to bc. there are no other alternatives other than wrist, slate, of spg mounted. it does the job and functions well. however, it is very bulky and really does not need to be. it is the wrist mounted version screwed onto a retractable clip attached to a platform.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
20 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Pocket Semi-Dry Snorkel
Rating: Oceanic-Pocket-Semi-Dry-Snorkel For Those Who Dont Really Need A Snorkel 10/17/2011

this is the third pocket snorkel i have purchased. the others have fallen out of my bc pockets because theyre so small.....this i consider my faultoperator error. the good: it is small and very portable. you dont have to swim around with your snorkel dragging on one side of your mask. the bad: its really not a solid snorkel. the keeper mechanism will pull off, leaving the snorkel held in only by your biting on the mouthpiece. i am dubious that it might not hold in really rough seas when you would need it the most. my advice would be to buy one and carry it in very calm water situations. in more dicey swells, i would advise using a regular snorkel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
128 out of 257 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Pocket Semi-Dry Snorkel
Rating: Oceanic-Pocket-Semi-Dry-Snorkel NICE SOCKS 07/28/2011

These are the second and third pairs I have purchased. I use them under my wool socks for layering, moisture-wicking, and added warmth for my dry suit. They are somewhat odor resistant. They feel very nice against the skin....preventing that irritating feeling of having raw wool next to your skin.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
121 out of 252 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Pocket Semi-Dry Snorkel
Rating: Oceanic-Pocket-Semi-Dry-Snorkel WARM, NOT BULKY 07/06/2011

This was a great buy. The suit provided warmth without bulk. I only had to add 1-2 lbs on my belt from my summer suit. The suit felt very comfortable against bare skin (since I didnt wear any polypropylene underwear under it this time).

Was this review helpful? Yes No
165 out of 330 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Pocket Semi-Dry Snorkel
Rating: Oceanic-Pocket-Semi-Dry-Snorkel Wrist Slate is a Wrist Slate is a Wrist Slate 03/20/2007

Its okay. It does what its supposed to. It is, however, a little bulky.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
372 out of 749 people found this review helpful.

Trident Zipper Wax
Rating: Trident-Zipper-Wax What can you say about zipper wax? 02/05/2007

Wax is wax is wax. This one works fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
262 out of 533 people found this review helpful.

Trident Zipper Wax
Rating: Trident-Zipper-Wax A winner! 02/05/2007

A sturdy functional Pelican product. Easy to use and durable.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
236 out of 469 people found this review helpful.

Akona Roller Backpack Bag
Rating: Akona-Roller-Backpack-Bag Sturdy Bag 11/29/2006

This is the second time I am buying this bag because I have found it to be a sturdy, reliable performer. The bag is ample for all your gear when traveling and meets all requirements for flying. Everything has been thought out well and the bag is designed well. The only problem (and this is a big one) is that if exposed to salt water regularly, the wheel bearings and the handles screws will rust out. However, if you are using it to transport gear from home to hotel, it is a fantastic bag.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
309 out of 637 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews