Scuba Gear Reviews by Nick L.

Sealife Sea Dragon Mini 600 Dive Light
Rating: Sealife-Sea-Dragon-Mini-600-Dive-Light Sealife Sea Dragon Mini 600 Dive Light Review - $129.95 - Scuba Gear Customer Reviews 06/27/2014

Recently took this light on trip to Florida Keys. I try to use a small light like this as a focusing light as well as a primary dive light on night dives. This light was all I expected it to be. Very broad beam with lots of power for its size. If you like it bright, use the high setting, I prefer a little more stealth and used it at the 40% setting and had plenty of light. Ridiculously tiny, it will fit anywhere. If using the rechargeable batteries get two since they do take a l-o-n-g time to recharge, as in overnight.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

McNett Sea Gold Anti-Fog / Defog
Rating: McNett-Sea-Gold-Anti-Fog---Defog Change is not ALWAYS good 05/25/2014

I give this product 4 stars due to a recent change in their packaging which reduces its VALUE. Although I still consider Sea Gold to be the best anti-fog product out there I have to take issue with their recent packaging change. They added a little tether to the bottle which is really unnecessary and changed the shape of the bottle from an oval 37 ml to a round 30 ml a reduction of 19%.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Spare/Replacement Battery
Rating: Sealife-Spare-Replacement-Battery Needed for repetitive dives 05/19/2013

Great to have when diving more than twice a day. OEM battery, identical to the one which came with my DC1400, it will last for two one hour dives. With an additional battery you can always have one ready to go. Can charge in camera which is a plus. I previously purchased an "extended life" battery of another make and not only did it not seem to hold a charge any longer, but after less than a year the battery would not charge on the required seperate charger. The Sealife battery charges in the camera and is more reliable.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
30 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Spare/Replacement Battery
Rating: Sealife-Spare-Replacement-Battery Well designed layout 11/13/2012

Have used this computer now for about 20 dives. I really like the layout. Fits well in palm of hand and easy to see all data when using compass to navigate. Only issue is the ascent alarm which is triggered if you even exceed the recommended rate for a moment such as when going over a small obstacle, but this seems to be the case with many computers.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
53 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

Scuba After Dive / Surf Hooded Jacket with Polar Fleece Lining
Rating: Scuba-After-Dive---Surf-Hooded-Jacket-with-Polar-Fleece-Lining Good all around jacket. 01/25/2012

Bought this for diving but might wear it out before I ever get a chance to use it after a dive. This jacket is great for all around wear. Neutral colors go with anything. Have also used it while shoveling snow and hiking. The wind /water resistance makes it quite warm for such a light jacket and the detachable hood, which is lined, adds to its versatility. It should prove very useful once the spring dive season starts.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
110 out of 222 people found this review helpful.

Big Blue CF-250 L.E.D. Light
Rating: Big-Blue-CF-250-L.E.D.-Dive-Light Good for day dives, back up only for night dives 01/25/2012

Tight focused pattern, even at wide angle, makes this an excellent light for peering into crannies on day dives. That said, there is barely no halo and the beam diameter even at the wide setting is much too narrow for use as a primary light on night dives, although it can serve as a back up. I like to use a small light as my primary, especially on tropical dives but the area illuminated by this light, while bright, is not wide enough for this purpose.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
112 out of 221 people found this review helpful.

Big Blue CF-250 L.E.D. Light
Rating: Big-Blue-CF-250-L.E.D.-Dive-Light Great watch at a good price 12/21/2009

This is my second Storm watch. Purchased it to replace one which I had for four years and recently lost. This watch is very easy to read, even on night dives since the entire hour and minute hands glow. Just shine a dive light on it for a few seconds and you are good to go. The strap is also long enough to fit over most wetsuits when wearing gloves.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
233 out of 498 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Carabiner with Ring
Rating: Scuba-Dive-Carabiner-with-Ring Get a few. 12/15/2009

Very easy to use and attach to BC etc. Small and light enough to not affect bouyancy. Attached ring offers additional options. Inexpensive enough to get a few.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
267 out of 521 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax Reel
Rating: Scubamax-Reel Good reel/Good size 12/15/2009

Purchased this reel to replace the line holder which came with my diver below float. It worked like a charm. Very easy to unwind and rewind. Easy to maintain hold on handle with gloves. Can also be used to deploy surface marker when making safety stop

Was this review helpful? Yes No
274 out of 590 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Spare/Replacement Battery
Rating: Sealife-Spare-Replacement-Battery Follow start up directions 12/08/2009

I purchased these replacements for my old batteries which I charged incorrectly in the past which affected their ability to hold a charge. I followed the instructions to the letter and the new batteries are effectively holding a charge now, lasting over an hour. Make sure that you let the batteries run low before charging and ALWAYS give them a full charge. Taking them off the charger before they are fully charged WILL adversely affect their ability to hold a charge

Was this review helpful? Yes No
287 out of 596 people found this review helpful.

Sealife Spare/Replacement Battery
Rating: Sealife-Spare-Replacement-Battery Follow start up directions 12/08/2009

I purchased these replacements for my old batteries which I charged incorrectly in the past which affected their ability to hold a charge. I followed the instructions to the letter and the new batteries are effectively holding a charge now, lasting over an hour. Make sure that you let the batteries run low before charging and ALWAYS give them a full charge. Taking them off the charger before they are fully charged WILL adversely affect their ability to hold a charge

Was this review helpful? Yes No
309 out of 596 people found this review helpful.

Hollis 5lb Non-Ditchable Weight Pockets -Pair
Rating: Hollis-5lb-Non-Ditchable-Weight-Pockets--Pair Trim is in 10/22/2009

As a diver with heavy muscular legs, I often need more trim than ditchable weights. These pockets enable me to effectively position up to 10 additional pounds of trim weights. These are especially useful when diving in thick wetsuits or dry suits both of which require more ballast.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
246 out of 463 people found this review helpful.

Hollis 5lb Non-Ditchable Weight Pockets -Pair
Rating: Hollis-5lb-Non-Ditchable-Weight-Pockets--Pair Better than original straps 10/18/2009

Having used spring straps before, I tried using my "universal" straps on my Mares fins but they didnt fit so I ordered the Mares spring straps which for some reason cost almost twice as much as the univeral model despite being identical except for the shape of the mounting attachment. The cost is the only reason that I do not give these straps a five star rating. They DID fit quickly and are much easier to use than the original straps both when donning and removing my fins. I think spring straps should be offered as an option on all fins since the unused OEM straps add considerable cost to the original fin purchase.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
309 out of 597 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614