Scuba Gear Reviews by Thomas David


Rating: XS 5MM Medium Sole Zipper Boot 08/11/2006

I am very happy with these boots. They are very durable and the zipper on them is very long-lasting as well. The sole is great for doing beach diving and keeps my feet protected walking down to the water.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
342 out of 682 people found this review helpful.

Scubamax Stainless Steel Weight Belt Buckle Only
Rating: Scubamax-Stainless-Steel-Weight-Belt-Buckle-Only Max. Steel Weight Belt Buckle 08/11/2006

This buckle has been a better alternative to the plastic buckle that came with my XS Cordura weight belt. I dont have to worry about this one breaking on me.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
456 out of 910 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Regulator Dust Cap
Rating: Innovative-Scuba-Regulator-Dust-Cap Sherwood Regulator Dust Cap 08/11/2006

This dust cap is the best one I have used. I just bought a new regulator and took that dust cap right off and put this one right on. The reason being because this dust cap is not very deep keeping water out of it is real easy when putting it back on your 1st stage. Also another plus is that there is no O-Ring used so if you blow the water off of it you dont have to worry about losing another O-Ring.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
342 out of 680 people found this review helpful.

Scuba 2.4lbs Divers Duffel Bag
Rating: Scuba-2.4lbs-Divers-Duffel-Bag SCUBA Divers Duffel Bag 08/11/2006

The bag is a nice bag for holding all of my gear and it is bigger then it may look. The only downside to me is that it is not waterproof.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
310 out of 621 people found this review helpful.

Trident Marking Pen
Rating: Trident-Marking-Pen Marking Pen Yellow 08/11/2006

This pen is a great way to mark my gear. I have used it on my Fins, BC, and Boots and after many dives it has stayed on without rubbing off.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
340 out of 706 people found this review helpful.

Trident Marking Pen
Rating: Trident-Marking-Pen Henderson Hyperstretch Titanium Gloves 3MM 08/11/2006

These gloves are an great fit and very easy to get on and off. They stay on snug even without a Velcro strap which most other gloves have. The only downside is the neoprene finger tips which will eventually wear out after time. I own the 3MM and the mobility is great with them.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
413 out of 814 people found this review helpful.

Trident Marking Pen
Rating: Trident-Marking-Pen Tuse Imprex Knife 08/11/2006

The knife works very well and its release is much easier then other knives that I have used. Primary using it for spear fishing the blade is nice and long to break up urchins and other things. No downsides to owning it yet.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
331 out of 632 people found this review helpful.

Trident Marking Pen
Rating: Trident-Marking-Pen Sherwood 3.5MM Kevlar Velcro Glove 08/11/2006

This glove made crawling around on the rocks much easier then the neoprene glove that I owned because the finger tips wore out. The only downside which I found was that you had less mobility with your hands when trying to do small tasks, such as getting your BC knife out of its sleeve.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
288 out of 576 people found this review helpful.

Trident Marking Pen
Rating: Trident-Marking-Pen Akona Sherwood 3.5 MM Low Top Soft Sole Boots. 08/11/2006

This simple bootie is great for warm water diving. The sole on it was just right for doing some boat diving and beach diving.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
282 out of 574 people found this review helpful.

TUSA Mini Knife
Rating: TUSA-Mini-Knife Tusa Mini-Knife 08/11/2006

The blade length is great for small tasks and any emergency. The knife is strapped onto my power inflator hose which makes it very accessible and to do this I bought the Hose Mount.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
324 out of 658 people found this review helpful.

Trident L.E.D. Light Stick
Rating: Trident-L.E.D.-Light-Stick Promate L.E.D. Light Stick 08/11/2006

This is an easy item to replace the glow stick with. Doing a night dive without having to purchase glow sticks makes this an easy alternative.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
330 out of 640 people found this review helpful.

Innovative Max Force Retractor with Stainless Steel Carabiner Connector
Rating: Innovative-Max-Force-Retractor-with-Stainless-Steel-Carabiner-Connector Innovative Max Force Retractor 08/11/2006

This retractor is a nice retractor to use for consoles. I use it for my computer and attach it to my D-ring which keeps it in front of my body. It is very durable, more than the mini-retractors, and I wouldn’t do a dive without it because of how easy it makes holding equipment.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
409 out of 810 people found this review helpful.

Mares Used 5mm Thermic Shorty with Attached Hood
Rating: Mares-Used-5mm-Thermic-Shorty-with-Attached-Hood Mares 5mm Thermic Shorty 08/11/2006

This shorty is a great suit to add an extra layer of neoprene under your wetsuit for staying a little warmer. It is a great suit and keeps me very warm wearing it under a 4/3 suit. The hood seems to slip beneath my chin a little but it isnt very bothersome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
254 out of 507 people found this review helpful.

Mares Used 5mm Thermic Shorty with Attached Hood
Rating: Mares-Used-5mm-Thermic-Shorty-with-Attached-Hood UK SL4 L.E.D. Light 08/11/2006

I have never owned an L.E.D. light until I bought this one. The light is great and it is very bright underwater. This is a good light to have to poke around in holes with during the day. Compared to a regular light this seems to give off a much brighter ray of light.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
376 out of 769 people found this review helpful.

Apollo Bio Pro XT Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Apollo-Bio-Pro-XT-Adjustable-Strap-Fins Apollo Bio Pro XT Adj. Strap Fin 08/11/2006

Owning these fins has made my diving much more enjoyable. Previously owning a pair of power fins I can tell a big difference in speed while swimming. The split fin is a great fin to have and very durable!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
345 out of 683 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Wheeled Mesh Duffel Bag
Rating: XS-Scuba-Wheeled-Mesh-Duffel-Bag XS Scuba Wheeled Mesh Duffel 08/11/2006

This bag is a great bag to haul all of your gear especially for a boat dive. I really like how the bag is mesh allowing water to get out of it from wet gear. The bag is lightweight and a great alternative to a big dive gear bag.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
472 out of 998 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Shadow Frameless Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Shadow-Frameless-Mask Oceanic Shadow Mask 08/11/2006

This mask is similar to my H2O Frameless mask but it tends to fit to my face better. The nose pocket is a bit bigger then the H2O mask, and the Slap Strap that comes with it makes it easier to put on the back of my head.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
342 out of 691 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Shadow Frameless Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Shadow-Frameless-Mask Oceanic Omega II/CDX5 Regulator 08/11/2006

I previously owned an IST R20 regulator which fit my needs when I began to dive two years ago. Now that I own this Omega II it has more features which I love. The 360 swivel is very nice for finding a good position to have it and the side breather is a very nice feature which keeps the bubbles out of my face.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
326 out of 587 people found this review helpful.

Oceanic Shadow Frameless Mask
Rating: Oceanic-Shadow-Frameless-Mask Wisdom Mouthpiece 08/11/2006

This mouthpiece is the best! I have used the standard mouthpiece and after a while it fell apart, but with the wisdom mouthpiece I could hold on to the regulator better with my mouth and it took less stress off my jaw.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
297 out of 579 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Xscerrory Mini Retractor Clip
Rating: XS-Scuba-Xscerrory-Mini-Retractor-Clip XS Scuba Mini Retractor 08/11/2006

This clip is nice and small which makes it easy for small lights, which I use for this reason. The only downside to this clip is the small clip makes it a little difficult but manageable to put on your D ring.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
475 out of 958 people found this review helpful.

Ocean Quest Ez Spring Fin Straps
Rating: Ocean-Quest-Ez-Spring-Fin-Straps Trident EZ Spring Fin Strap 08/11/2006

I will never go back to clip straps again. These EZ Spring Straps make beach/boat diving so much easier. One thing that I like about them is the ease of getting them on and unlike the clip straps. I will not go back to clip straps after owning these pair.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
378 out of 746 people found this review helpful.

H2O Onyx Frameless Mask
Rating: H2O-Onyx-Frameless-Mask Mask Review 08/11/2006

Great mask. I love diving with it because it fits to my face snug and its very durable. My old mask had a frame which started leaking, which is why I purchased a frameless mask. The only downside to this mask is the nose pocket is small and irritates my nose a little.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
399 out of 775 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614

US and Canada 800.347.2822
International 001.949.221.9300