Scuba Gear Reviews by Jason G.


Rating: Great directional back-up compass 04/19/2014

i purchased the aeris x1 wrist compass for convenience and as a secondary (back-up) directional finder. [i own an atomic cobalt computer as my primary] the compass is easy to read although it only has one lubber line. its very lightweight and a good size making navigation more convenient than holding a computer out in front of me when simply travelling a straight line this means (to me) i can enjoy my surroundings a little more as i get from a to b.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Atomic Cobalt Air / Nitrox Integrated Computer with Digital Compass
Rating: Atomic-Cobalt-Air---Nitrox-Integrated-Computer-with-Digital-Compass Amazing computer 04/05/2014

Simple and easy to set up. All in one computer provides info at my fingertips. I love this gadget. The Cobalt allows me to focus on the diving experience and not on the diving equipment...making each diving experience more memorable. Does not come with protective case, so order the case. It simply makes sense to protect the investment properly so that its always good to go. I highly recommend this to any diver from beginner to intermediate.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Atomic Cobalt Air / Nitrox Integrated Computer with Digital Compass
Rating: Atomic-Cobalt-Air---Nitrox-Integrated-Computer-with-Digital-Compass Were substituted for other gloves due to stock 04/05/2014

3mm polytherm by lavacore i was shocked to find out how warm this material is. as great as the tech is for keeping heat in, its still a thin suit that will allow heat to be drawn out in colder waters pretty quickly. i would recommend this as either a warm or shallow (>35ft) cold water dive. theres loads of mobility for wreck dives and i hope to test it as a base layer under a glacier this winter...will this review then.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

LavaCore by Oceanic Trilaminate Polytherm Dive Socks
Rating: LavaCore-by-Oceanic-Trilaminate-Polytherm-Dive-Socks Great tech for dedicated purpose 04/05/2014

3mm polytherm by lavacore i was shocked to find out how warm this material is. as great as the tech is for keeping heat in, its still a thin suit that will allow heat to be drawn out in colder waters pretty quickly. i would recommend this as either a warm or shallow (>35ft) cold water dive. theres loads of mobility for wreck dives and i hope to test it as a base layer under a glacier this winter...will this review then.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

LavaCore by Oceanic Trilaminate Polytherm Hood
Rating: LavaCore-by-Oceanic-Trilaminate-Polytherm-Hood Great tech for dedicated purpose 04/05/2014

3mm polytherm by lavacore i was shocked to find out how warm this material is. as great as the tech is for keeping heat in, its still a thin suit that will allow heat to be drawn out in colder waters pretty quickly. i would recommend this as either a warm or shallow (>35ft) cold water dive. theres loads of mobility for wreck dives and i hope to test it as a base layer under a glacier this winter...will this review then.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

LavaCore by Oceanic Trilaminate Polytherm Front-Zip Dive Wetsuit
Rating: LavaCore-by-Oceanic-Trilaminate-Polytherm-Front-Zip-Dive-Wetsuit Great tech and comfort for dedicated purpose 04/05/2014

3mm polytherm by lavacore i was shocked to find out how warm this material is. as great as the tech is for keeping heat in, its still a thin suit that will allow heat to be drawn out in colder waters pretty quickly. i would recommend this as either a warm or shallow (>35ft) cold water dive. theres loads of mobility for wreck dives and i hope to test it as a base layer under a glacier this winter...will this review then.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Atomic Mesh Fin Bag
Rating: Atomic-Mesh-Fin-Bag Very good outing bag 04/05/2014

I am impressed with the overall quality of this bag. Mesh looks like it may never break down from constant wet/dry conditions and it has a good sized handy pocket. Wheels are sturdy as are handles.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Atomic Comfort Fit Regulator Mouthpiece
Rating: Atomic-Comfort-Fit-Scuba-Regulator-Mouthpiece Comfort fit mouthpieces 04/05/2014

Great addition to the dive bag gear for those "just in case" moments..and at these prices - its nothing to give one to a diving partner if their mouthpiece bites it. Easy fix with all the bits to keep on diving. Great small investment to pay for good planning.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

500psi 2oz Sport Bottle Mask Defog with Carabiner
Rating: 500psi-2oz-Sport-Bottle-Mask-Defog-with-Carabiner To defog or not to defog? 04/05/2014

I still maintain that the best anti-fog agent is bar soap rubbed directly on the glass and then rubbed "off" with a tissue...in particular, perfumed hotel soap is the absolute bomb! That being said, this gel does what it says it will do.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Atomic SS1 Octo
Rating: Atomic-SS1-Octo Titanium "Safe Second" by Atomic review 04/05/2014

I only have good things to say about the SS1. I figured if I was going to spend this much on a second, I may as well bump up for the titanium and am pleased I did. Two things I would say to anyone considering the SS1 are this: 1. Be sure its compatible with your BCD/ BCJ 2. Note that the angle of the SS1 is at about 90*: not ideal for sharing air but still an industry standard. Overall I am pleased with my purchase of the SS1. Although new to diving, I can only imagine if everyone invested in high quality equipment like Atomic, we may never have to share air.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Henderson 7mm Aqua Lock Hyperstretch Diving Gloves
Rating: Henderson-7mm-Aqua-Lock-Hyperstretch-Diving-Gloves Aqualock review 04/05/2014

Simply amazing "locking" system. As much as the choice and fit of a wetsuit is a personal thing, the aqua-lock system delivers. Theres no slippage of gloves, boots or hood giving a snug and not slack feeling of security and comfort. Loads of sizing possibilities meant I was able to choose a wetsuit that fit me personally...oh, and 7mm - VERY warm! I dive at altitude and in glacial waters quite comfortably with Hendersons 7mm suit.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Henderson 7mm Aqua Lock Hyperstretch Dive Boots
Rating: Henderson-7mm-Aqua-Lock-Hyperstretch-Dive-Boots Aqualock review 04/05/2014

Simply amazing "locking" system. As much as the choice and fit of a wetsuit is a personal thing, the aqua-lock system delivers. Theres no slippage of gloves, boots or hood giving a snug and not slack feeling of security and comfort. Loads of sizing possibilities meant I was able to choose a wetsuit that fit me personally...oh, and 7mm - VERY warm! I dive at altitude and in glacial waters quite comfortably with Hendersons 7mm suit.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Henderson 7/5mm Aqua Lock Hyperstretch Diving Hood
Rating: Henderson-7-5mm-Aqua-Lock-Hyperstretch-Diving-Hood Aqua lock review 04/05/2014

Simply amazing "locking" system. As much as the choice and fit of a wetsuit is a personal thing, the aqua-lock system delivers. Theres no slippage of gloves, boots or hood giving a snug and not slack feeling of security and comfort. Loads of sizing possibilities meant I was able to choose a wetsuit that fit me personally...oh, and 7mm - VERY warm! I dive at altitude and in glacial waters quite comfortably with Hendersons 7mm suit.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Henderson 7mm Aqua Lock Hyperstretch Wetsuit
Rating: Henderson-7mm-Aqua-Lock-Hyperstretch-Wetsuit Aqualock review 04/05/2014

Simply amazing "locking" system. As much as the choice and fit of a wetsuit is a personal thing, the aqua-lock system delivers. Theres no slippage of gloves, boots or hood giving a snug and not slack feeling of security and comfort. Loads of sizing possibilities meant I was able to choose a wetsuit that fit me personally...oh, and 7mm - VERY warm! I dive at altitude and in glacial waters quite comfortably with Hendersons 7mm suit.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
19 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Atomic Ti6 Titanium Knife
Rating: Atomic-Ti6-Titanium-Dive-Knife Serrated, sharp and savy 02/19/2014

A great titanium combo of knife and quick release sheath that will get a diver out of Davy Jones locker.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Scuba Deluxe Round Protective Regulator Bag
Rating: Scuba-Deluxe-Round-Protective-Regulator-Bag scuba.coms gift to me for my purchases 02/19/2014

"never look a gift horse in the mouth" but had i known of the high quality and value of the scuba deluxe round protective regulator bag i would have gladly bought it. the round bag is sized to perfectly allow for hoses to roll without kinking. thank you, scuba.com for going the extra fathom.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Atomic Z2 Octo
Rating: Atomic-Z2-Octo Atomic Octo to the rescue 02/19/2014

Comfort, reliability, safety and style..talk about great engineering

Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Atomic Z3 Regulator
Rating: Atomic-Z3-Regulator The Atomic line is out of this world good 02/19/2014

Comfort, reliability, safety and style..talk about great engineering.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews


Choose Currency:

Scuba.com, 1752 Langley Avenue, Irvine CA 92614