Scuba Gear Reviews by Steven P.

Ocean Quest 6oz Premium Lycra Long Sleeve Rash Guard
Rating: Ocean-Quest-6oz-Premium-Lycra-Long-Sleeve-Rash-Guard Great rash guard 02/26/2014

I bought this rash shirt for my wife for Christmas and she finally got a chance to put it to the test last week while she was snorkeling in the BVI. Great fit, quality and design. She loved it. FYI - she is 5 2" and weighs 112 pounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Neosport by Henderson 3mm XSPAN Super Stretch Shorty Wetsuit
Rating: Neosport-by-Henderson-3mm-XSPAN-Super-Stretch-Shorty-Wetsuit Excellent fit and quality 02/26/2014

I used this wetsuit for snorkeling in the Galapagos Islands in december and for diving in the BVI last week. Great fit and quality. Love the zipper in back which made getting into and out of the wet suit a snap. FYI - I am a male, 58", weigh 180 pounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Neosport by Henderson 3mm XSPAN Super Stretch Shorty Wetsuit
Rating: Neosport-by-Henderson-3mm-XSPAN-Super-Stretch-Shorty-Wetsuit Finally, an Octo holder that worked 02/26/2014

in anticipation of a weeks worth of diving in the bvi, i bought 2 new octo holders this one and one of a different style. i tried the other style on the first dive, and like my previous experiences with my older holders, the octo regulator came loose. for my second dive, i clipped on this holder, and to my delight, the octo stayed put. needless to say i used this one for the rest of the trip and never had a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Highland Regulator Necklace
Rating: Highland-Regulator-Necklace Something so simple, yet so great 02/26/2014

Just returned from a diving trip to the BVI so finally got a chance to try this regulator necklace for the first time (had never used one before). Now when I am getting ready, my regulator is not loose and flopping around. Also, when in the water, it is not unusual for my buddy and I to snorkel to to our dive spot at the beginning of the dive and back to the boat at the end of the dive. When we did this, I knew exactly where my regulator was. Very comfortable to wear. So simple and a great way to keep your regulator location under control.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

SubGear Mask, Fin & Snorkel Beach Backpack Bag
Rating: SubGear-Mask--Fin---Snorkel-Beach-Backpack-Bag Great bag 02/26/2014

I love this bag. It has tons of storage space. In the main compartment I put a pair of Mares Volo Power fins, boots, my mask in a mask bag and snorkel and still had room for a beach towel! Also, loved the two zippered pockets. The bag is well made a rugged so I am confident it will last a long time. Other people in our group commented on the quality of the bag.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Mares Volo Power Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Mares-Volo-Power-Adjustable-Strap-Fins Wow is all thatI can say 02/26/2014

Wow. I have been using a pair of fins that are as stiff as a 2x4. When I bought them 20+ years ago, that was okay, but now, even though I am in really good shape, I find them just too stiff (58 years old 180 # male). I have been reading the reviews on these fins for years (all great) and had a strong recommendation from one of my friends who has a pair. Finally decided to take the plunge and am I glad I did. Just got back from a diving vacation in the BVI. These fins are incredible. Comfortable as slippers with unbelievable power. My diving partner commented on this. Also, my air consumption went down as I was doing much less effort to move than before. FYI, I used a size 9 Ocean Quest 5mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Medium Sole Dive Boots

Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Mares Volo Power Adjustable Strap Fins
Rating: Mares-Volo-Power-Adjustable-Strap-Fins Wow is all thatI can say 02/26/2014

Wow. I have been using a pair of fins that are as stiff as a 2x4. When I bought them 20+ years ago, that was okay, but now, even though I am in really good shape, I find them just too stiff (58 years old 180 # male). I have been reading the reviews on these fins for years (all great) and had a strong recommendation from one of my friends who has a pair. Finally decided to take the plunge and am I glad I did. Just got back from a diving vacation in the BVI. These fins are incredible. Comfortable as slippers with unbelievable power. My diving partner commented on this. Also, my air consumption went down as I was doing much less effort to move than before. FYI, I used a size 9 Ocean Quest 5mm Premium Super-Stretch Titanium Medium Sole Dive Boots

Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Akona Mask Bag with Defog
Rating: Akona-Mask-Bag-with-Defog Great mask bag 02/26/2014

This is a generously sized mask bag so I am sure even the biggest mask will fit. The velcro closure was very well made and rugged. Never once did it come open unintentionally. Everyone aboard our boat loved the side pocket because everyone knew that is where they could find the defog solution. (No more looking around !)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

XS Scuba Flashlight / Camera Retractor
Rating: XS-Scuba-Flashlight-Camera-Retractor Perfect retractor for a Princeton Tec Miniwave LED Light 02/26/2014

Used this retractor to secure my Princeton Tec Miniwave LED light to my BC. It worked perfectly. Very rugged unit. I love the fact that I could "lock it" Perfect match for this light.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Princeton Tec Miniwave L.E.D. Light
Rating: Princeton-Tec-Miniwave-L.E.D.-Light Great light 02/26/2014

Just got back from a dive vacation in the BVI and finally got a chance to try this light out. What a great light. Big light performance in a compact form. I love it. FYI, I attached this to my BC with the XS Scuba camera/flashlight retractor. Perfect combination.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

H2O Rhino Double Braided Regulator Hose
Rating: H2O-Rhino-Double-Braided-Regulator-Hose Relief at last 02/26/2014

For years, I have been fighting a stiff regulator hose that seemed to want to pull the regulator out of my mouth unless I kept firm pressure on the mouthpiece. Needless to say, this was not an ideal situation. I just returned from a week of diving in the BVI and I could not be happier. The Rhino hose was really flexible and my regulator felt great in my mouth. Bottom line, it worked as advertised!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

See the top 20 most helpful scuba gear reviews