Call our certified SCUBA Instructors

1.800.34.SCUBA

8AM - 6PM PST

  

Snorkel Reviews

Below is a list of the most popular customer scuba gear reviews for Snorkels. Click the product name to view more reviews and details about that product. For longer reviews, click the View Full Review link next to a review to read the whole review.

You can see the most helpful scuba gear reviews for snorkels below. Scuba.com offers gear reviews from the following manufacturers: Aeris, Akona, Apollo, Aqua Lung, Aqua Lung., Atomic, Deep See, Finis, Genesis, H2O, Innovative, IST, Mares, Ocean Quest, Oceanic, OceanPro, Pure Instinct by Mares, ScubaPro, Sherwood, TUSA, XS Scuba and more...

Oceanic Ultra Dry Snorkel Reviews

Oceanic Ultra Dry Snorkel Reviews    Ultra Dry Snorkel

Reviewer: Eric R. on 6/9/2012

No more saltwater taste - i recently bought oceanic ultra dry snorkels for my wife and myself. just gave them their first test on a trip to the caribbean, and loved them. i must say i was skepticalthe claims seemed almost too unbelievable. we have always used higher quality equipment (the worst harm to the sport of snorkeling is done by giving novice swimmers a simple j-tube, welcoming a mouthful of sea, and hearing them swear off the reefs forever!), so i wasnt expecting a vast improvement. but the unique valve certainly did make a great difference. after submerging and re-surfacing your first action can actually be inhalation! i found myself still blowing to purge the snorkel- out of habit, but didnt even need to!...View Full Review

Genesis Surf Snorkel Reviews

Genesis Surf Snorkel Reviews    Surf Snorkel

Reviewer: Billy Stewart on 7/7/2007

Nice!! - This a very nice snorkel. Just did a beach entry today. Had to wade across rocks. When we got to an area where it was deep enough, we swam on the surface another 100 yards through a moderate surge on snorkel to save air until the water was deep enough to actually dive. With the swell I kept expecting to get a mouth full of water... never happened. The shape of the top of the snorkel I think had a lot to do with that. I did get a little trickle once. A quick blow and it was gone. Purge valve in the bottom. Again... nice snorkel and worked well in less than ideal conditions.

XS Scuba Goby Dry Kids Snorkel Reviews

XS Scuba Goby Dry Kids Snorkel Reviews    Goby Dry Kids Snorkel

Reviewer: Lynne M. on 8/20/2008

8 year old LOVED this SNORKEL - These dry snorkels really are great for kids and adults as well. My daughter tried using a regular snorkel when she was 6 and again at 7 and just had a hard time remembering to save some air to blow the water out of it after surfacing. This dry snorkel really allows children to go under the water and coming up effortlessly to get another breath. We bought one for our daughter last year, but wanted another one to match her mask with purge that we bought this year. All of Scuba.coms products are great and their customer service is exceptional!

Oceanic Pocket Semi-Dry Snorkel Reviews

Oceanic Pocket Semi-Dry Snorkel Reviews    Pocket Semi-Dry Snorkel

Reviewer: Robert L. on 1/27/2007

Bottom Line: "I would buy it again" - My son and I went to Roatan and dove with the standard snorkel hanging off of our heads all of the time. A friend recommended switching to a foldable snorkel and simply keeping it in a pocket on the BC. This model from Oceanic is well engineered and works like a charm. In advance you simply place a very small mating disk (similar to rebust velcro) to the strap of your mask (less than the size of a quarter) and when you want your snorkel on the surface BAM! you whip it out of its BC pocket and attach to your mask strap and you are in business. Super quick and ends the presence of a useless underwater snorkel.

XS Scuba Bypass Elite Semi-Dry Snorkel Reviews

XS Scuba Bypass Elite Semi-Dry Snorkel Reviews    Bypass Elite Semi-Dry Snorkel

Reviewer: Jeffrey M. on 6/5/2007

Great Snorkel - I got this snorkel for my girlfriend, but I gave it a try. I like it as much as my oceanic ultra dry, maybe even better becuase of the lack of pressure felt when underwater. The xs worked well for short dives and the purge was flawless.

Ocean Quest Pacific Totally Dry Snorkel Reviews

Ocean Quest Pacific Totally Dry Snorkel Reviews    Pacific Totally Dry Snorkel

Reviewer: Amber M. on 5/3/2014

Excellent Snorkel - I love this snorkel. I have a hard time clearing the water in a traditional snorkel, and sometimes forget to clear it (or not have enough air left in my lungs to clear it) and get water in my mouth, For snorkeling (starting with the snorkel in my mouth) This snorkel allowed me to dive completely under the water, come up, and start breathing without getting any water in my mouth. For scuba diving, if you go under without the snorkel in your mouth, you have to clear it once to use, and then it will stay dry if you go under with it in your mouth. The water only comes in through the mouthpiece.

Innovative Jacket Style Snorkeling Vest Reviews

Innovative Jacket Style Snorkeling Vest Reviews    Jacket Style Snorkeling Vest

Reviewer: chris r. on 4/26/2010

well made safety snorkeling vest - the vest is well made product...you can fold it down and it weights not much for travel, provides safety for unsure snorkelers....allouds for divinng down if you need to and protects your life if you get tired or get in any kind of problem.....while away from the shore ....easy to use...good sizing in the catalog...overall good safty product...not only for kids...or weak swimmers.I loved just to inflate it and keep my buoyancy on the top of the waves....it was fun...and safe!!!!!!!!!!

H2O Snorkel Keeper Silicone Reviews

H2O Snorkel Keeper Silicone Reviews    Snorkel Keeper Silicone

Reviewer: Brian G. on 8/13/2007

Works... - My girlfriend purchased one of these from our local dive shop after a passer-by stepped on her snorkel, causing the plastic snorkel clip to snap. Of course, there are no worries of rubber snorkel keepers snapping, but the tendency of sticking while sliding the snorkel through the tight openings makes it somewhat difficult for slight adjustments and quick separations. On the other hand, I entirely trust the silicone snorkel keeper to last for years. While I did purchase this one for my save-a-dive kit, my girlfriend purchased hers for under a dollar. There is no visual difference in quality.

XS Scuba Viper Semi-Dry Snorkel Reviews

XS Scuba Viper Semi-Dry Snorkel Reviews    Viper Semi-Dry Snorkel

Reviewer: Shannon Smith on 9/17/2006

Not as good as I had hoped. .. - this snorkel did not do well for me. i am a beginner diver and this particular snorkel kept falling over in the pool i was practicing in for class. my instructor had me swim laps up and down the pool to see if i was perhaps ducking my head the snorkel kept getting water in it. it was a bit top heavy. i only used it four times before the mask clasp broke. i am now looking for a new one per my instructors advice.

XS Scuba Cargo Stowable Snorkel Reviews

XS Scuba Cargo Stowable Snorkel Reviews    Cargo Stowable Snorkel

Reviewer: Dennis L. on 5/8/2010

snorkel option - Best thing since sliced bread! I have never liked the snorkel hanging from my mask strap during the dive, but then again I never wanted to be without a snorkel for emergencies. Now I have the best of both worlds. This snorkel rolls up VERY EASILY and stows away in a BC pocket. When needed its right there. I was afraid it would be too flimsy and not have enough stiffness to work efficiently. That is not the case, it works fine. Just unroll it, snap it on to the strap clip (included) and youre good to go.

XS Scuba Sedona Elite Dry Snorkel Reviews

XS Scuba Sedona Elite Dry Snorkel Reviews    Sedona Elite Dry Snorkel

Reviewer: David Howard on 5/20/2007

Good Trade Off - My instructor in OW stated snorkel needs to be good, but realize you will not use it except only a few minutes each dive, unless you are going to snorkel routinely. He was right. This snorkel meets the basic needs at a value. Breaths fairly dry and is satisfactory. Easy to clear. I didnt like the retainer to the mask, so bought another one with velco so that while off the surface I could put the snorkel in a pocket out of the way. Of course, due to size sticks out of the pocket. If I had it to do again, I would buy a snorkel designed to be stored in a pocket during diving. But if value to performance is what you are looking for, you will be satisfied. I gave 4 stars because the...View Full Review

Sherwood Absolute Dry Snorkel Reviews

Sherwood Absolute Dry Snorkel Reviews    Absolute Dry Snorkel

Reviewer: Renee G. on 9/30/2009

satisfied with product - This is my first time buying a snorkel, so I wanted to get a good one. I am satisfied with this snorkel. The only problem was that the splash guard fell off and was lost in the sea. However, once I contacted scuba.com I was told that this problem was limited to a particular batch of defective snorkels and sent me a new one immediately with no extra charges. The automatic close at the top also works really well when free diving, although sometimes a bit of water can get it, but the purge comes in really handy anyway. all in all, I am satisfied with the product for the price. I am even more satisfied with scuba.com customer service!


View all Scuba Gear Reviews        View all Snorkels